We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing new cafe!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Living Room Bournemouth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Living Room Bournemouth
Ranked #18 of 144 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing new cafe!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

I am a Bournemouth local who lives down the road from the Living Room and am delighted at their new cafe. A great refurbishment gives it a contempory and homely atmosphere that was very relaxing. The menu is delightfully refreshing; french toast, sweetcorn fritters and ham hock hash are just too irresistable! And the food is of excellent quality, which makes it good value for money. All topped off with friendly and welcoming service. Simple, sophisticated and fun; well worth a visit!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Superjelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    70
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
74
162
38
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

I booked this bed and breakfast for a 3 night stay whilst 3 of us we were at a Conference at the BIC, Very welcoming hosts and delightful children. Very nice bedrooms with kettle and tea/coffee plus a little plate of mint sweeties and luxurious, new shower rooms. I booked a single for myself which wasn't en-suite but I had my own shower room across the corridor. A fluffy bathrobe was provided for me which was a nice touch. Lots of large comfy sofas in the lounge/dining room to snuggle up with a newspaper or magazine. Breakfast was varied and delicious and if you are around in the afternoon, have one of their chocolate brownies - yummy. This bed and breakfast is perfect for familes, and older guests (like us). The owners have just started doing coffee/breakfast for non-residents and changed the name from Thanet House to The Living Room and I'm not sure if this will work during the summer months when residents may want a quiet read and non-residents have taken up all the comfy seats, but I'm sure Anna and co will have already given thought to this. Highly recommended and we will definitely stay again if our Conference returns to Bournemouth.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dollybrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

We booked the family room at Thanet House for one night. We received a warm welcome from owners Anna and Andy, who told us everything we needed to know to make the most of our stay in Bournemouth. Our room was beautifully furnished, with a light, airy and luxiourious feel. It was immaculately clean, as was the ensuite bathroom. Having resigned ourselves to the idea of going to bed at the same time as our 3 year old, we were really pleased when Andy revealed a little bedroom off the main room containing a single bed and a cot bed. Hooray! Separate sleeping quarters for Amy! There was even a night light provided for her, which is typical of the attention to detail that marked our stay at Thanet House. Breakfast was delicious and the guesthouse is a short, scenic stroll down a footpath to a very pleasant stretch of the beach. We are very happy customers and would like to return to Thanet House for a longer stay some time.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katharine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Less than 10 walk to Alum Chine which is beautiful. Also 10 minutes walk from Westbourne town. Room 3 comfortable but with some road noise. Shower just warm enough. Breakfast generous although choice of cereal unimaginative. Great for families.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shroomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

We booked this guest house on the reviews submitted on Trip Advisor on the morning that we were to stay in the evening. We were not disappointed. Very clean room, quiet location, and an excellent breakfast. The owners recently changed the name from Thanet House to the Living Room, as they are now using the breakfast / dining room as a coffee shop for part of the day. The coffee is excellent.

Ideally located for walks along the "promenade", left to Bournemouth, right to Sandbanks, once you have walked the 10 mins down the Chine.

An excellent choice for a two night midweek break.

Service was excellent & friendly. A welcome coffee & cakes on arrival was very welcome.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DUNROAMIN-AGAIN1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
2.6 km away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
3.5 km away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 68 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
1.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
3.6 km away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#3 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
3.1 km away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Living Room Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Living Room Bournemouth

Property: Living Room Bournemouth
Address: 2 Drury Road | Alum Chine, Bournemouth BH4 8HA, England (Formerly Thanet House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,890 - ₹ 7,984
Hotel Class:4 star — Living Room Bournemouth 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique vintage boutique award winning Bed and Breakfast and Coffee Lounge in Alum Chine, Bournemouth. Winner of Bournemouth Tourism Guest Accommodation of the Year 2012 & 2013 as well as Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence 2012, 2013 & 2014. The B&B has seven spacious, individually styled rooms with modern en-suite bathrooms. As a family run business we specialise in providing a friendly, informal service tailored to individual requirements. The AA Breakfast Award winning breakfasts offer delicious full cooked options from the classic to the more unusual like Ham Hock Hash, homemade granola and plenty of tasty vegetarian or gluten free options. We promise you, you will not find anywhere else like The Living Room in Bournemouth for value for money, quality food, its unpretentious quirky environment or the pleasurable experience. Our emphasis is on helping customers feel relaxed by offering comfortable beds, clean and well maintained rooms, amazing food and caring, attentive service. The experience is added to by us being situated in the undoubtedly best part of Bournemouth ten minutes' walk in between the glorious Alum Chine beach (accessed by the peaceful chines) as well as the boutique and independently run businesses of Westbourne. As Bournemouth has been voted one of the happiest places to live in the UK we feel that we have no option but to pass on the infectious and rejuvenating vibes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Living Room Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thanet House Hotel Bournemouth
Living Room Bournemouth Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing