We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Homely cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Holly Cottage

Grade II Listed Holly Cottage is steps away from Totnes High Street
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Grade II Listed Holly Cottage is steps away from Totnes High Street
Living Room with real fire Living room with TV/DVD/Freeview
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
Grade II Listed Holly Cottage is steps away from Totnes High Street
Living Room with real fire
Living room with TV/DVD/Freeview
Large family kitchen with Range cooker
Kitchen
Range Cooker
Bedroom one
Bedroom One
Bedroom Two
Bedroom Two
Bedroom Two
Terrace and Totnes Castle
Terrace
Bathroom
Bathroom
View down the hill
Cosy Fire
Totnes Castle from the terrace - plus friendly cat!
Bigbury-on-Sea
Hope Cove
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Totnes, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Carrielou...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Homely cottage”
Reviewed 26 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Holly Cottage for 5 nights and we were really pleased when we arrived to find a lovely clean home from home. The kitchen had all the things you will need to prepare food if you chose to eat in and there is a great range cooker. The bedrooms were bright, clean and airy and very comfortable. We had a really enjoyable stay, it is ideally situated right off the high street of Totnes and there are lots of things to do around the area. It was a great base for us in visiting towns to the east of Totnes such as Paignton, Torquay and Teignmouth and places to the west of Totnes e.g. Bigbury on Sea and Buckfastleigh.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila H
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed 24 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We really enjoyed our stay in Totnes ,a great location for visiting the area.
The house was as described ,a spacious home from home.
The arrival and departure was easy with deposit returned within a week.
The house is very well equipped if you want to eat in with your family.The unique location with the castle as the backdrop was what I enjoyed most.
We would happily stay there again and would recomend it to family and friends
ds

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich...
Droitwich
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“another great stay”
Reviewed 2 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

this was our second stay at holly cottage
We love it , and Totnes just as much as before . We can highly recommend it !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage and location
Liked least: English weather !
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excess38
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“DEAR WONDERFUL HOLLY COTTAGE”
Reviewed 3 March 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed at Holly Cottage for the third time last Christmas and New Year and as always it was just a delight to be there. This is an exceptional cottage because it feels like home the moment you walk through the front door. When we didn't go out we spent our days sitting in the kitchen or lounge playing board games - both are warm and welcoming. Toasting crumpets in the open fire was brilliant! Everything works as expected, the cottage itself was spotlessly clean, the kitchen is very well equipped, the beds are very comfortable and the shower is brilliant. Totnes is a busy town, great for browsing or shopping and the pubs are good. The quirky and friendly Albert Inn is a must, as is The Bay Tree Inn just a short walk from Holly Cottage, and we must recommend the excellent service and food at The King William IV near the bottom of the town - the landlord and female manager are exceptional. All in all another wonderful Christmas for us all!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Holly Cottage and its convenient location to Totnes town.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodian
Grange-over-Sands, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I could live here”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

What a lovely house. We've stayed in quite a few cottages over the years, but most are 'holiday' locations - this is one of the few where I felt, 'I could live here'.

The photos really don't show how spacious it is - the living room in particular is far bigger than it looks. But if there's only three of you, you may well spend most of your time in the kitchen anyway like we did - as it has a nice big sofa!

The conservatory and terrace is a real bonus for a town house - especially mid-morning when it's in full sun. And the marmalade cat from a neighbouring house simply adds to the enjoyment.

Very quiet location, although a bit noisy on a Friday/Saturday night until about 11pm if there's something on at the Barrel House pub up the road - but then this is the centre of town! And if you take the net curtains down it's a great kitchen to people watch from, as quite a variety of people walk past.

And Totnes itself is well worth the visit.

Great all round. Looking forward to coming back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing