We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Excellent B&B in Torquay”
Review of Merlewood House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Merlewood House
Ranked #121 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 May 2011

We stayed three days with the very friendly hostess Wendy at Merlewood House during Easter 2011. It was 3 very good days, and we got a lot of very good advice regarding road trips and restaurants in the area from Wendy. The room we had was very nice and clean, and the the breakfast was one of the best we had during our stay in England this Easter!
We definitely recommend this B & B!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oj10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 45 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2011

I had a most enjoyable stay at Merlewood House. It is a beautiful place in a great location and the level of comfort and attention to detail really added to the enjoyment of my stay. The owner (Wendy) has great local knowledge and was able to recommend a great walk and the best places to eat out. I fully recommend Merlewood House for it's location and easy walking access to the town centre as well as the standard of the accommodation.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nairdallah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

A few days in Torquay for business meetings and Merlewood House was a great choice. The rooms were spacious and beautifully furnished. We were all made to feel very welcome and Wendy was a great host. We also stayed at the house during the day for our business meetings as the facilities that Wendy has at the house doubled up to create great meeting space.

They say that it is a good thing to say what we liked best and least, so here you are...
BEST
The house
The rooms
The food (all cooked fresh by Wendy)
Wendy (great host)
WORST
That we had to leave !!!

Thanks for a super stay Wendy - we will be back.

Room Tip: Easy to find - only 5 minutes from the train!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarefieldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

I stayed at Merlwood House for a 3 day business meeting along with a number of colleagues. The proprietor Wendy went to great lengths to ensure our stay was warm, comfortable and focused. I would use Merlwood House again and recommend anyone wanting a weekend break or for business.

Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
Thank aeagc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

Spent three nights here in a really warm and welcoming atmosphere. Nothing was too much trouble and the owner, Wendy, was so helpful and cheerful. The house was very clean and comfortable - I would not hesitate to recommend Merlewood House or stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarlTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 km away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 86 in Torquay
655 reviews
0.5 km away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#5 of 86 in Torquay
508 reviews
0.4 km away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#6 of 86 in Torquay
1,071 reviews
2.2 km away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#28 of 86 in Torquay
605 reviews
1.6 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 86 in Torquay
2,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merlewood House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merlewood House

Address: Merlewood House Meadfoot Road, Torquay TQ1 2JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: ₹ 6,361 - ₹ 7,736 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet Victorian Bed and Breakfast Guest House close to the Harbor and Meadfoot beach and easy walking distance to the town. Large en-suite rooms, spacious reception rooms and health therapies & treatments available in the fully equipped treatment room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Merlewood House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing