We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mariners Guest House
Ranked #66 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We just arrived home from a very pleasant break at the Mariners Guest House in Torquay. What can I say, absolutely spotless room, immaculate bathroom and faultless service. Fresh towels every day, tea and coffee in the room and a breakfast fit for a king.
Whatever you normally eat for breakfast will certainly be catered for, from fruit, cereals, yoghurt, to a full English with all the trimmings.
You also get a warm welcome from the owners; in fact my bags were whisked away to my room while I parked the car. Would I go back, what do you think?

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are quieter.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caspajack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (116)
There are newer reviews for Mariners Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 96 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2012

We had a nice stay at this B&B. We were welcome and given information about places to eat, directions etc. We booked a small double and it was indeed small, but that's what we booked! There was enough room for the two of us and the room was clean and well laid-out. The ensuite bathroom was much more dated than the rest of the room, but was also clean.

Positives:
- Great breakfast - loads of options, all very fresh and tasty. The dining room is lovely.
- Very clean and tidy
- Decent in-room amenities - TVs, tea and coffee facilities, plenty of lighting etc.
- Parking...but...

Not-so-greats:
- Parking is limited and the spaces are small.

It may be worth mentioning that this guest house is on a relatively busy road which made the bedroom at the front of the house quite noisy - but, in the centre of Torquay, that's exactly what you'd expect.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat858P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Thank you so much to our hosts!! My partner and I like to escape for the odd weekend away and we have stayed in many places this year.....wont repeat all that the other reviewers have said but would like to add that this guest house is a gem, a shining example!! I totally agree with all the lovely comments made by other reviewees......This is a really great place to stay and I can't think of any criticism.......my partner has just fallen off his chair in amazement!!! I suspect he thinks I am hard to please!!!!!!! Whatever!!! forget soulless hotel chains book here!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clareph57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

I booked our stay at the Mariners at the very last minute, when we decided to stay in Devon rather than drive down on the day for a family function. Although the owners had very little notice of our booking their welcome was delightful; warm and helpful, and our room was fresh, contemporary and spotless. They gave us a map of the area, recommended a restaurant for dinner, and when I requested an iron and ironing board they came and set it up for me, even though it was Saturday evening and might not have been ideal timing for them.

Breakfast was in a lovely airy room, and was as good as other reviewers have said; I had perfect poached eggs on toast.

We parked in a public carpark a couple of minutes' walk from the Mariners, which cost £2 for 24 hours - very reasonable and kept the parking spaces free for people who might be a little less mobile than us.

We had a brilliant stay and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissMomiji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

As the previous reviews have stated, you couldn't find a better place to stay for £55 p/n ! The rooms were spotless & contemporary which makes a nice change from guesthouses we've previously stayed in ! Nice attention to detail like the fluffy white towels changed daily & quality toiletries in the gleaming bathroom. Again, not wishing to repeat previous reviews but I can only reiterate the breakfasts were excellent, good choice of fruit, cereral, juices, fresh tea, coffee & of course the full English. Everything also spotless in the dining room !
We were lucky with parking as there are only 3 spaces ( which are a bit of a squeeze after the full english ) but obviously this is through no fault of the owners & like most places now parking is at a premium. Highly recommended for a stay in Torquay !

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjwdmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 km away
Southbank Hotel
Southbank Hotel
#46 of 87 in Torquay
154 reviews
0.0 km away
The Chesterfield
The Chesterfield
#68 of 149 in Torquay
152 reviews
0.0 km away
Kethla House
Kethla House
#32 of 149 in Torquay
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
The Trouville
The Trouville
#100 of 149 in Torquay
131 reviews
0.2 km away
The Sandpiper Guest House
The Sandpiper Guest House
#20 of 149 in Torquay
334 reviews
0.1 km away
The Montana
The Montana
#26 of 149 in Torquay
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariners Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariners Guest House

Address: 35 Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: ₹ 4,636 - ₹ 6,568 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mariners Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are ideally located for the major tourist attractions Torquay has to offer (around 400 metres from the Seafront) and within a mile of Torquay Railway/Coach Stations, Harbour & Marina, Riviera International Centre, Torre Abbey, Princess Theatre, Town Centre, Bars and Restaurants. Our 7 stylish rooms, (two on the ground floor) include two Family rooms, King, Double, Twin & Single room options, and for our guests comfort, they are all serviced daily. All rooms have full shower en-suite facilities (Agatha Christie & Torre Abbey rooms also have a bath) plus WIFI - Complimentary Toiletries - Flat Screen Freeview TVs - Hospitality Tray - Radio Alarm Clock - Hair Dryer and Ironing Facilities on request. We also have a front patio seating area. A full Mariners English/vegetarian breakfast, plus lighter options and buffet, are served in our stylish ground floor Breakfast Room at the front of the building, between 08.30am-09.30am Monday-Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Mariners Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariners Guest House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing