We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and food”

Shelley Court Hotel Torquay
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shelley Court Hotel Torquay
Ranked #78 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I travelled with David Urquhart by coach and we arrived at our hotel late due to the traffic, the staff took us into the lounge to assign our rooms and to take our evening meal orders. They provide a luggage to room service but most of us helped out by taking our own luggage to our rooms. I had a single room with a beautiful iron bedstead, a wardrobe, bedside table, small TV, and on suite shower. As I'm quite tall and the bed had a foot stead as well as the head board it was too short for me. Carol immediately found me another room with a more suitable bed in the cottage, (this was a free upgrade to a double room). She even got me a jug of milk for the room instead of the little cartons I had already used up, and remembered to ask the staff to set out extra milk for me the next day. Entertainment was provided on Tuesday & Thursday nights, with the option of going to the theatre on Wednesday night or staying in and playing bingo. The staff at the Shelley Court went out of their way to help in anyway possible, but housekeeping did miss out 1 day and Carol provided us with a free glass of wine to compensate us. Carol called in extra help from friends and family who didn't have the same uniform as the other girls waiting on, hence the hot-pants mentioned in the previous review, but everything ran smoothly and the food was delicious and we had plenty of choice and good size portions. Half the rooms had a great sea view and I would definitely come again, On the negative side some of the rooms are up several flights of stairs with no lift, but you can ask for a ground floor room. The décor is dated and tired but clean. Some rooms are small.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, or balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed at Shelley Court for four nights July '13 with David Urquart holidays. Having travelled with them before, we were expecting a similar experience. Clean, professional and friendly but hotel probably in need of an update. No probs as we are not paying a lot of money.
It was VERY tired, wallpaper hanging down from the ceiling and walls, holes in walls where things had been removed and just left. Light fittings in public rooms with lots of bulbs missing, just how much is a light bulb? Public areas (except dining room) were not vacuumed the 5 days we were there and it showed. All these things do not suggest a professional organisation.
Our room was much too small for a twin-bedded room and the owner admitted it. The towels were not changed during the 5 days even though we requested it by putting them all in bath. The cleaner just draped them back over the radiator. One day the cleaner did not even visit the room, in fact she left out a whole floor.
Food was fair. But should waiting-on staff really serve customers in skimpy black leather hot-pants?
On the plus side the staff were friendly and cheerful.
The coach driver was very good and friendly

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doreen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I stayed at the Shelly Court as part of David Urquart tour. Carol, the owner made us very welcome and was helpful beyond the call of duty. Food was very good with generous portions. Delicious breakfast menu. Room was very clean and very comfortable with fresh towels available. Agree with other comments that the décor in some parts of the hotel is a bit tired, but the building is in a fantastic location (on a steep hill though )and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: If you are not happy with your room, speak to Carol, she will try her best to resolve and issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elaine_mckenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Just returned from a David Urquhart coach trip to the Shelley Court and as is always the case on these trips there were the moaners! Ireally dont know what they expect for their money.The hotel was an old building with a long English garden which led down to the sea front.Rooms were a little tired and there were odd things that could do with upgrading but the staff made up for any problems with their helpfulness and kindness.Carol and her team worked so hard to keep everyone happy , the food was excellent and plentiful and everywhere was clean and tidy.Dont let the building put you off , this is not a bland Travel Lodge but an old English hotel.I would certainly return.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are available at an extra charge and there is a lovely suite available for special occ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SVD186346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel on a David Urquart tour. The hotel staff were very friendly and happy to help. I had booked this at short notice and phone the hotel to request a ground floor room for my mother who had recently had a bout of illness. They were very obliging and on arrival we were greated with coffee/tea and cake and a ground floor room.

The rooms were very adequate for our needs and very clean.

The food even though service was slow was of good quality.

The driver of the Urquart coach Craig Burrows was also very tenative to our needs and always on hand to help in any way he could.

Fully recommend to others.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.3 km away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,189 reviews
0.8 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#29 of 85 in Torquay
2,548 reviews
0.7 km away
The Iona Torquay
The Iona Torquay
#53 of 149 in Torquay
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
1.1 km away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#47 of 85 in Torquay
368 reviews
4.1 km away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#8 of 85 in Torquay
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelley Court Hotel Torquay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelley Court Hotel Torquay

Address: 29 Croft Road, Torquay TQ2 5UD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
Shelley Court Hotel Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing