We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveller rating
3
7
3
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
3
7
3
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 16 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed at Shelley Court for four nights July '13 with David Urquart holidays. Having travelled with them before, we were expecting a similar experience. Clean, professional and friendly but hotel probably in need of an update. No probs as we are not paying a lot of money.
It was VERY tired, wallpaper hanging down from the ceiling and walls, holes in walls where things had been removed and just left. Light fittings in public rooms with lots of bulbs missing, just how much is a light bulb? Public areas (except dining room) were not vacuumed the 5 days we were there and it showed. All these things do not suggest a professional organisation.
Our room was much too small for a twin-bedded room and the owner admitted it. The towels were not changed during the 5 days even though we requested it by putting them all in bath. The cleaner just draped them back over the radiator. One day the cleaner did not even visit the room, in fact she left out a whole floor.
Food was fair. But should waiting-on staff really serve customers in skimpy black leather hot-pants?
On the plus side the staff were friendly and cheerful.
The coach driver was very good and friendly

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doreen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I stayed at the Shelly Court as part of David Urquart tour. Carol, the owner made us very welcome and was helpful beyond the call of duty. Food was very good with generous portions. Delicious breakfast menu. Room was very clean and very comfortable with fresh towels available. Agree with other comments that the décor in some parts of the hotel is a bit tired, but the building is in a fantastic location (on a steep hill though )and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: If you are not happy with your room, speak to Carol, she will try her best to resolve and issues.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elaine_mckenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Just returned from a David Urquhart coach trip to the Shelley Court and as is always the case on these trips there were the moaners! Ireally dont know what they expect for their money.The hotel was an old building with a long English garden which led down to the sea front.Rooms were a little tired and there were odd things that could do with upgrading but the staff made up for any problems with their helpfulness and kindness.Carol and her team worked so hard to keep everyone happy , the food was excellent and plentiful and everywhere was clean and tidy.Dont let the building put you off , this is not a bland Travel Lodge but an old English hotel.I would certainly return.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are available at an extra charge and there is a lovely suite available for special occasions.No pool but a lovely garden a beautiful views.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SVD186346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel on a David Urquart tour. The hotel staff were very friendly and happy to help. I had booked this at short notice and phone the hotel to request a ground floor room for my mother who had recently had a bout of illness. They were very obliging and on arrival we were greated with coffee/tea and cake and a ground floor room.

The rooms were very adequate for our needs and very clean.

The food even though service was slow was of good quality.

The driver of the Urquart coach Craig Burrows was also very tenative to our needs and always on hand to help in any way he could.

Fully recommend to others.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We went on a david urquhart 5 day break at this hotel.There was a very warm welcome from carole the owner of this hotel.We were given tea/coffee and cake on our arrival,which was a very nice touch to start our holiday.The beds were clean and we had lovely white fluffy towels provided.
The staff were excellant and nothing was too much trouble.The hotel is in a great location with sea views and only a short walk down to the promanade and harbour.
It was very good value for money and would return there.
Thank you carole for a good 5 day break.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annemalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews