We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unobtrusive Friendlieness”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Elmdene

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Elmdene
Ranked #13 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Harlow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unobtrusive Friendlieness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2010

Our third rear with our hosts Carol & Andy. This year we had the added pleasure of good weather! At the time of our stay only one couple had not been before, in itself a perfect RECOMMENDATION. As usual the Hotel is kept very clean, rooms are spacious and very well appointed. Sould the Breakfast be not so varied and well cooked, If the Hotel lacked its Character, Charm & Cleanliness, would we still go? Most certainly because, in Carol and Andy you have the perfect hosts. unobtrusive friendlieness. You can't beat it.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johndHarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
392
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
north wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2010

This was the third time we have stayed at Carol & Andy Gibbs' great 'home from home'.
Everything was 'spot on' from the comfortable, spacious and well furnished room to the excellent and varied breakfast menu.

We travel to Torquay regularly. We now have no decision to make about where to stay.

John & Ann Williams , Wrexham, north Wales

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thincpositive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2010

Wonderful small hotel, scrupulously clean with very good location ; great friendly service.
I would give it 5 star rating.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charles010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2010

We stayed at the elmdene for 3 nights in their deluxe suite and everything was perfect. From the minute we arrived we were greeted by Carol and Andy who are a lovely friendly couple. We were late arriving due to our car breaking down and they were very understanding and made us a pot of tea with biscuits which they brought up to our room and we were very grateful as we had a long day.
The room was very clean and spacious and had the added advantage of having an adjoining room with a sofa and a large widesreen tv and dvd player. There was also a wall mounted tv in the bedroom area so one of us could watch the football while the other watched the soap's. Tea and coffee making facilities and a mini fridge were an added advantage. The room was nice and quite and we had great nights sleep.
Breakfasts had a varied menu and everything was cooked to order, we enjoyed the full english . The bar was tended by Andy and the prices were very reasonable.
Even though we had a car the beach , train station and harbour were within easy walking distance. We went on a boat trip to Brixham which was a lovely day out. There are a few boat rides travelling to different places. We went to the beach and were able to walk out quite far and the sea was so clear.
The locals are friendly people and you must try the cream tea's.
We had a very enjoyable time and if we go to torquay again we will deffinately stay at the elmdene .

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tigerfeetiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2010

We have recently returned from a 3 night stay at the Elmdene and found it a great escape. We arrived to a warm welcome (including a pot of tea and biscuits). Elmdene is just a short walk from Torquay train station and the seafront making it the perfect combination when travelling by train (in our case for over 5 hours). Our room was comfortable and being on the top floor with only one other room meant that we enjoyed the peace and quiet. There were plenty of extras provided in the room and there was a good choice for breakfast. Great value for money. We would recommend to family and friends and would return to the Eldene again if visiting the area.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeeBobUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.9 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,594 reviews
0.3 km away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.9 km away
The Charterhouse
The Charterhouse
#4 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#3 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.8 km away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#11 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
2.0 km away
The Somerville
The Somerville
#9 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elmdene? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elmdene

Property: The Elmdene
Address: Rathmore Road, Torquay TQ2 6NZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,262 - ₹ 9,243
Hotel Class:5 star — The Elmdene 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elmdene is quality 5 star visit britain graded guest accommodation, situated on the level in a tree lined road opposite open parkland. We have six en-suite bedrooms, we offer free onsite parking and free wi-fi. We are a short level walk to the seafront, train station and conference centre. The town and harbour are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your The Elmdene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elmdene Hotel Torquay
The Elmdene Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing