We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best B&B Hotel by Far” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Elmdene

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Elmdene
Ranked #14 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Whittlesey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best B&B Hotel by Far”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

Just spent a weeks holiday in the best B&B Hotel we have ever stayed in. Excellent food and accomodation - cleanliness to the highest standard possible. Cannot recommend this Hotel enough. Ideal location for exploring the area either by bus / train or car. Fantastic hosts in Carol and Andy (despite being a blue nose - footie fans will understand this comment). Hope that they will let us return in the future. All B&B Hotels should aim to the standard set at Elmdene.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michael g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    477
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
387
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

I have recently returned from a weeks holiday at the Elmdene and really had a fabulous stay. I went with my husband and my mother and we had rooms 2 & 3. Room 2 was lovely with an adjoining lounge and Room 3 had the most spacious shower room ever. Everywhere was tastefully decorated and exceptionally clean. We spent several nights in the comfortable lounge where there is a small licensed bar. The choice and quality of the breakfast was absolutely superb and I would highly recommend the Elmdene to anyone visiting Torquay. Best of all were our hosts Carol and Andy who were at times extremely helpful, professional and made us most welcome. I would not consider staying anywhere else in the area - the Elmdene was brilliant.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GW-YAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

Beautiful place to stay for exploring this part of Devon. Torquay itself not quite our cup of tea but a good place to stay for exploring the coast.

We were greeted warmly upon arrival and provided with tea, biscuits and local fudge (much needed when 7 months pregnant and been in the car for four and a half hours). We stayed in the superior room which was wonderful and the whole place was absolutely spotless.

Breakfast superb.

Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Rebecca and Simon

Room Tip: We stayed in the superior room but I imagine all the other rooms were just as lovely and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anonrf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

Stayed for a week at the Elmdene after recommendations on trip advisor, and we weren't disappointed. Andy and Carol were very pleasant and the room (room 5) was excellent, with lots of nice trimmings (e.g. filtered water and a milk jug in the fridge, wine glasses, complimentary fudge!) and a nice view.

With a 5 minute walk from the train station, the B&B was convenient for trips further afield. Local restaurant recommendations were useful and we certainly ate well during our stay! Breakfasts were excellent, with good local produce. A nice stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christraveller10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
150 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

Just like everyone else I give the Elmdene 5 stars.

One thing, however, I would call this place a B and B, possibly a guesthouse, but not a hotel.

I was quite satisfied with Room 4 which was well-appointed and very large. There is no view even though it has windows on 2 sides. And even though a train runs just a few yards away from the back window it was surprisingly quiet (behind some sort of barrier) and never a bother.

Breakfast was the best I've had in Britain. I could go back just for the scambled eggs and smoked salmon. And we were pleased that on our last day Carol and Andy opened the kitchen an hour early so that we could get on the road back to London a bit sooner.

Don't forget to ask Andy for directions to the Chelston Manor, a proper English pub just a 5 minute walk from the Elmdene.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fcfrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 km away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
1.2 km away
The Albaston
The Albaston
#2 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.9 km away
The Charterhouse
The Charterhouse
#4 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#3 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.3 km away
Kings Lodge
Kings Lodge
#5 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.5 km away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#8 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elmdene? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elmdene

Property: The Elmdene
Address: Rathmore Road, Torquay TQ2 6NZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,680 - ₹ 9,350
Hotel Class:5 star — The Elmdene 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elmdene is quality 5 star visit britain graded guest accommodation, situated on the level in a tree lined road opposite open parkland. We have six en-suite bedrooms, we offer free onsite parking and free wi-fi. We are a short level walk to the seafront, train station and conference centre. The town and harbour are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Elmdene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elmdene Hotel Torquay
The Elmdene Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing