We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Elmdene

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Elmdene
Ranked #15 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

We're just back from a weekend at the Elmdene- it certainly lives up to all the good reviews. Good location, a beautiful room and lovely breakfasts. However, what really makes it stand out is the service. You get the feeling that nothing would be too much trouble to make your stay as comfortable as possible, but what's so good is that you don't need to ask for anything extra - they've thought of absolutely everything! All kinds of little touches to make you feel at home, which makes a huge difference.

I recommend this place highly, and would certainly stay there again. I'm not sure how the price compares to others in the area, as the booking was arranged by my boyfriend, but it seemed very reasonable to me particularly when the experience was so good.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MissG6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    479
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
389
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Absolutely fantastic - my husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Elmdene. Carol and Andy are superb hosts with high class values and high quality establishment with top class standards, they also set themselves.

If anyone is thinking of staying here you will thoroughly enjoy it and if ever we come to Torquay again we shall certainly stay here. Thank you Sharon & Paul, Cambridgeshire

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 and the bed was fantastic!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharry46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

We had booked for a weekend stay as our football team was playing Torquay that week and after a long drive we were pleased that this place was so easy to find and reasonably close to all that we wanted to do and it had on site parking.
We could not have been greeted more warmly and from my first foot in the door I knew our stay was going to be pleasant. It has a lovely homely feel about the place and is spotless. We had room 5 on the second floor and I cannot fault the room. Apart from the following evening when I was slightly the worse for wear (self inflicted though!) and had to manovere the stairs. There is plenty of cupboard/drawer space and the room was very well furnished and above all CLEAN.The ensuite was clean and we had plenty of towels as well as all the little extra's. In fact we could find no fault with the accomodation whatsoever.
Breakfast was delicious and plenty of choice (I would have loved to have known their local butcher as the sausages were mmmmmmmmm) and as much as you could want. The owners of this accomodation are charming, warming and friendly and were able to provide us with any information we required and they even told us how to find a little local pub which (we would have never found) provided a good meal.
During the day we walked into town which was a good 15mins it took us along the sea front but the weather was kind to us and it was an enjoyable stroll. In the afternoon we took the bus as the bus stops right outside the hotel and even the bus drivers were friendly!
I believe we were very lucky to have been able to have booked this place after reading all the positive comments on Trip Advisor and I have to say that all those comments are well deserved.
If our teams are to play each other again I know where I shall be booking to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Essexsmiffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

If you want first class accomodation,,a first class breakfast, and first class hosts, then The Elmdene in Torquay is the place for you,
We have just returned home from a very enjoyable weeks break.. and are already planning a return visit.
Highly and confidently recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robster187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Carol and Andy were the perfect hosts at the Elmdene Hotel. They were very welcoming on arrival and very helpful during our stay,for example they helped us with planning our daily outings, researching the required train times etc. The room we stayed in was large, spotless, had everything we needed plus more. There were lovely added touches e.g fresh milk, shoe polish, sewing kit and even a torch! Breakfast was of a very high standard with fresh local ingredients, including delicious free range scrambled eggs! We will definitely be returning and look forward to seeing Carol and Andy again soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in room two, which was quiet and had the added bonus of a small adjoining lounge, includin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.9 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,525 reviews
0.3 km away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.9 km away
The Charterhouse
The Charterhouse
#4 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
The Albaston
The Albaston
#3 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.8 km away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#12 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
2.0 km away
The Somerville
The Somerville
#9 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elmdene? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elmdene

Property: The Elmdene
Address: Rathmore Road, Torquay TQ2 6NZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,181 - ₹ 8,977
Hotel Class:5 star — The Elmdene 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elmdene is quality 5 star visit britain graded guest accommodation, situated on the level in a tree lined road opposite open parkland. We have six en-suite bedrooms, we offer free onsite parking and free wi-fi. We are a short level walk to the seafront, train station and conference centre. The town and harbour are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Elmdene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elmdene Hotel Torquay
The Elmdene Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing