We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for pet lovers and families” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Iona Torquay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Iona Torquay
Ranked #47 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect for pet lovers and families”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

My wife and I, our 3 young children and our Westie puppy Holly stayed here last week for 4 nights during half term. With 3 kids and a dog, I nearly gave up searching for somewhere to stay in Torquay. I work for a large hotel chain and couldn't even get in there!! After Googling Pet friendly hotels in Torquay I found Hotel Iona. We had a lovely time. Everything was perfect, from the warm welcome from the owners and Chip the dog to the room which other families have commented on to the standard and choice at breakfast. I have worked in hotels for many years and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. Thank you for a very special half term break!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulChristel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundholm, Owner at Hotel Iona Torquay, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
Thank you for your kind review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    50
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
48
162
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

I stayed at this hotel quite some time ago, however have just been thinking about my stay and how lovely it was which has prompted me to leave a review.

The owners made me and my partner feel extremely welcome here. As a gay couple there are some places that we stay and we are made to feel awkward or unwelcome, this is the complete opposite to Hotel Iona.

From walking in and being shown to our room, the serving of breakfast to providing us with local tourist attraction knowledge, every part of the service was made with 100% dedication to their customers.

We are both planning to go back to this Bed & Breakfast and hope that they continue to offer the outstanding service they provided us with to other fortunate guests.

Lastly, this is a pet friendly hotel and our dog got on extremely well with the resident dog Chip that always came to say hello.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

We have now stayed here 4 times and all we can say is how excellent the hotel is.
Roy and Marita are warm and welcoming and always have time to have a chat.
The hotel is in a quite location the rooms are very comfortable all with ensuite.
The hotel is very clean and breakfast is excellent.
You'll get a very warm welcome from Chip the dog who incidentally isn't around all the time especially when your eating.
We would highly recommend this hotel and cannot wait to go back soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoySwindells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundholm, Owner at Hotel Iona Torquay, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
Thank you for the kind review, it is always good to see you, look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton on Trent
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Very clean & tidy, good breakfast and very large room with tv dvd player ensuite & balcony, (dont know if balcony & size applies to all rooms). Well situated in quite area but short walk for shops and restaurants/bars.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

This is a lovely hotel in a quiet area of Torquay. Our room was very comfortable with a good sized ensuite and a balcony overlooking the front of the hotel. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. There is an option for evening meal which we took. 2 courses for £12 or 3 courses for £16. We considered this to be very good value and the food was delicious and beautifully presented. Overall the hotel was extremely clean and the owners were very welcoming - nothing was too much trouble. We would thoroughly recommend the Hotel Iona.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank balisala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.6 km away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
1.8 km away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#49 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.8 km away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#2 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.7 km away
The Cimon
The Cimon
#15 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.4 km away
Brooklands
Brooklands
#98 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Iona Torquay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iona Torquay

Property: Hotel Iona Torquay
Address: 5 Cleveland Road, Torquay TQ2 5BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,983 - ₹ 9,558
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Iona Torquay 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the old part of Torquay, Hotel Iona offers quality accommodation in a central location, close to the main town, sea front and the Riviera Conference and Leisure Centre. This comfortable and friendly small hotel is set in a beautifully converted detached Victorian villa built in the 1860s, located in a quiet conservation area of Torquay`s main hotel and bed and breakfast accommodation area. As a family run hotel we take pride in offering our guests traditional standards of service and individual attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Iona Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Iona Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing