We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Location for a stay in Torquay with Fantastic Hosts”
Review of Cary Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cary Court Hotel
Ranked #3 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2010

We are a demanding lot in the MG Car Club. When we go away for weekends we expect first class accommodation and good service with a smile. This hotel more than ticked all the boxes. The hotel in like an old colonial outpost surrounded by lush mediterranean foliage. In fact its hard to believe you are in the UK. Meeting Paul and his wife for the first time one is reminded of those other two Torquey hoteliers Basil and Sybil Fawlty. However i must stress the hotel is just the opposite to Fawlty Towers. Excellent food, both the evening BBQ and the ample breakfast. The bring your own bar is great idea and saves a fortune.Rooms are clean well kept and with the most comfortable bed I have slept in in ages. David Hudson

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pschmgoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (541)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

464 - 468 of 541 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2010

Just got back from spending a fantastic week at the cary court. Paul and Linda are exceptional hosts and we were treated like friends rather than paying guests and you can be sure that we made great use of the wealth of their local knowledge including places to visit and where to find great resteraunts.

We stayed in a room with a lovely four poster bed and slept soundly every night in great comfort. The hotel is situated in a very quite part of Torquay which means that you are away from the hustle and bustle of the harbour night life. The breakfasts were fantastic, the lounge areas exceptionally well thought out and comfortable and the garden is something that you just have to see for yourself and be sure to say hello to the carp in the pond at that end of the decking area I sat there many a morning watching them swim around, there is also a very nice balcony area that overlooks the gardens and swimming pool and of an evening with all the lighting it is an ideal spot to chill with a quite drink.

As with all breaks ours came to an end and we seriously considered staying even longer, but unfortunately they were fully booked and we had to surrender (reluctantly) our room, Paul and Linda had made us feel so welcome and comfortable in their home that I can only give my highest recommendation and hope that you to will have a great stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iralk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

Ideally located, a 10 minute walk away from the busy town centre, Paul & Linda have succeeded in creating a superb relaxing location for guests.

You will not find a more welcoming and friendly couple to guide you through your vacation.

Whatever your requirement, it can be sourced , Paul & Linda's knowledge of the area is incredible, so from Arcade to Zoo, they can advise how to get there.

The rooms are spotless and facility rich, again variety is the key, should you wish single, double or indeed a four poster room , you can make your choice as you require.

The breakfasts are superb and are likely to keep you going well into the afternoon, take time after breakfast to either read a newspaper in the garden room, lounge or on the verandah, whilst taking a little time to take in the amazing surrounds of the garden, with the most incredible variety of plants you are likely to find this side of the Amazon.

Enjoy your stay, we most certainly did and undoubtedly will again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shorGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

My girlfriend and i spent a lovely weekend here at the start of August. Paul and Linda are charming and attentive hosts, the house is beautifully finished and our four poster room was elegant and comfortable. Our stay was exactly what we wanted and more. We highly recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajib186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

Travelled down for a family wedding. Everything about the Cary Court is first class. Paul and Linda were excellent hosts for the weekend and nothing was too much trouble for them. Definitely recommended to anyone who is looking to visit Torquay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DomoOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 km away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#6 of 85 in Torquay
520 reviews
4.1 km away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 85 in Torquay
595 reviews
1.0 km away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
0.9 km away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,072 reviews
1.0 km away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 85 in Torquay
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cary Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cary Court Hotel

Address: Hunsdon Road, Torquay TQ1 1QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#4 Family Hotel in Torquay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: ₹ 8,850 - ₹ 9,826 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cary Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cary Court was built over a century ago on part of the Cary Estate. It is a "Plantation" style house, peacefully situated in the leafy Warberries, a quiet conservation area, yet only a few minutes from restaurants, shops, theatre, night life and Marina. Cary Court is a Bed and Breakfast Guest House offering tastefully and comfortably furnished accommodation with a mixture of period and Antique pieces. The bedrooms, some with Four-Poster beds some with King-size beds are all en suite, all have televisions, complimentary beverage trays, hair dryers and free wi-fi. Cary Court is renowned for its "Full English Breakfasts" served in elegant surroundings with views over the Verandah and subtropical garden. There is a heated out door pool ( seasonal - open from the end of May to end of September ) surrounded by south facing gardens and sundecks. There is car parking on site for eight to ten vehicles supplemented by un restricted on street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Cary Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cary Court Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing