We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Somerville Torquay”
Review of The Somerville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Somerville
Ranked #4 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stayed this week in the Somerville in Torquay and what a pleasure it was.The beds and rooms were spotless and little treats awaited us such as a bowl of sweets beside our beds,and tea and coffee making facalities which included home made biscuits.
There was a varied menu for breakfast both hot and cold.
My son and his pregrent wife were given a lounge and as the weather was so bad and this was a god send.Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itsmarialane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

694 - 698 of 1,121 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2012

Having stayed in all sorts of establishments over the years (business & social) this without doubt is the best ever.

Breakfasts - easy to see why they have won awards, the attention to detail with good quality ingredients

Rooms, again attention to detail, nothing lacking

One of the best touches are the homemade cookie snacks, and the bowl of sweeties in the room

Room Tip: Try the courtyard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

This was a last minute decision to go to Torquay. The accommodation was outstanding, service was top class. The position of the guesthouse was perfect with it being a five minute walk into the main town centre, fifteen minute from some interesting and fun attractions. This guesthouse is the perfect base to explore from.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

unabl to find anything negative to say about the sumerville hotel.the hosts were helpfull nothing was to much trouble, the staff were friendly, and the service exelent..all rooms were spotlesly clean, comfortable bed, breakfast was the best we have had in any hotel first class. we would highly recommend the sumervill.

Room Tip: we styed in room number 9 this room is verry quiert
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerville515, Owner at The Somerville, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Thank you for taking the trouble to post such a generous review. We are truly delighted when our guests enjoy themselves (espeically when we've had some dodgey weather in the last week or so). Your tip about room 9 being quiet is very helpful. It overlooks a courtyard at the back of the property (as does room 10) and they are both superb choices for people who are light sleepers. The garden suite is as far back as you can get and the only noise you'll hear from there is the occasional hoot of owls at night. Don't forget you can check availability and rates online and we also have a Last minute deals page on our website. (Online booking is not currently available on our m: site..... BUT we're working on that!!!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We are just about to leave after a 1 night stay. On arrival we were greated by the happy, friendly owner, we were early but were shown to our room straight away. We were upgraded to the garden suite which was true luxury, we decided to spend evening in our room as it was too good not to use. Enjoyed sitting in the big beautiful bath and watch tv. Breakfast was fantastic, my husband had a good quality full English whilst I had smoked salmon and scrambled eggs on toast. Very much enjoyed our stay, would have liked to stay longer but they were fully booked. This guesthouse truely is wonderful and deserves being number 1 on trip advisor. Thanks.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sbonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.8 km away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 85 in Torquay
937 reviews
0.1 km away
The Redholme B&B
The Redholme B&B
#3 of 149 in Torquay
526 reviews
1.4 km away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#6 of 149 in Torquay
390 reviews
2 km away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 149 in Torquay
374 reviews
2.2 km away
The Charterhouse
The Charterhouse
#5 of 149 in Torquay
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Somerville? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Somerville

Address: 515 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: ₹ 5,916 - ₹ 9,359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Somerville 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Somerville has many accolades including Devon B&B of the year for 2012/13 and recently received "Highly Commended" in Best B&B in vist South -West Awards. Centrally located with its own private car park and grounds. Choose from a standard room or lovely Deluxe rooms and spacious Suites; it's the ideal choice for both business travellers and leisure guests wanting a relaxing luxury break. The Somerville offers guests free parking and free wifi and extended breakfast times at weekends.Recently voted In Trivagos top 10 B&B`s in UK for value for money ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Somerville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Somerville Hotel Torquay
Somerville Hotel Torquay
The Somerville Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing