We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!!!”
Review of The Somerville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Somerville
Ranked #7 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely!!!”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Only stayed one night,and having travelled from liverpool we didnt get there till late evening.We were greeted promptly by Grant,who showed each of us to our lovely rooms.The rooms were lovely, definatley 5star,breakfast was excellent from the food to the service.Just wished we could of stayed longer to enjoy it fully!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holliemitzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,038
    32
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
79
790
32
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
swindon
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We have been going for many years and never had chance to say what a great chill out it is for us. We love being pampered, the decor, superb bed and bedding and the high standards that they set. The little extras, like cookies and milk to take to the room, jelly beans by the bedside etc, all lovely little touches. Breakfast is a dream with a great choice. We also take advantage of the loyalty discounts to try all the different suites. Wish we could get there more often. As we said, we have been going for many years now and it just gets better. Parking is plentiful too.Try walking up the hill (10 good minutes) to the Kents pub and the Fountain next door for food. The best Exmoor fillet steak ever! Managed to leave the pub (real ale) and get to Ansteys Cove this time too!

Room Tip: They are all excellent. Upgrade to a suite though for that little extra treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavenPaulaSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

The Somerville had been recommended to us and wanting a short Easter break, the decision to go to there was easy.

On arrival, the welcome we received was tremendous, very warm, and right from the beginning we knew nothing was going to too much trouble.

The room was delightful, the bed very comfortable and the en-suite was modern and spotless.

The service remained brilliantly effortless, everything was under control. Breakfast was served with virtually whatever combination was required and the bar for the evening tipple was well stocked.

The overall experience was excellent; the Somerville Hotel will be seeing us again.

Room Tip: Unless you require a view, there is little to choose about the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teef1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shifnal
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Clean and comfortable, welcoming, first class breakfast, lovely decor, very comfortable bed, high quality ensuite fittings and toiletries. A brilliant find for us. We looked forward to our return visit and were just as delighted as the first time

Room Tip: Room 7 has a view down the hill towards the sea front and a cosy sofa. Jelly babies seem to be avail...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseyJ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2012

This is our second stay within the last twelve months and again it was a wonderful experience. Everything about the hotel is perfect, from check-in to check-out. Adam and Grant are superb hosts and make you feel like very special guests.
The close attention to every detail, from the quality of furnishings to the breakfasts, leaves nothing to be desired. The beds are particularly comfortable.
We will definitely be back before too long. It's the perfect getaway.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRT30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.8 km away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,824 reviews
4.3 km away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
510 reviews
1.8 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#2 of 87 in Torquay
476 reviews
1.4 km away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
250 reviews
0.4 km away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#6 of 87 in Torquay
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Somerville? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Somerville

Property: The Somerville
Address: 515 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,715 - ₹ 12,423
Hotel Class:5 star — The Somerville 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Somerville has many accolades including Devon B&B of the year for 2012/13 and Southwest B&B of the year for 2011. Centrally located with its own private car park and grounds. Choose from a standard room or lovely Deluxe rooms and spacious Suites; it's the ideal choice for both business travellers and leisure guests wanting a relaxing luxury break. The Somerville offers guests free parking and free wifi and extended breakfast times at weekends.Recently voted In Trivagos top 10 B&B`s in UK for value for money ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Somerville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Somerville Hotel Torquay
Somerville Hotel Torquay
The Somerville Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing