We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“"Just Perfect"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Somerville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Somerville
Ranked #8 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Just Perfect"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

We have stayed at the Somerville twice now and could not have wished for anything better. The quality of the furnishings, the comfort of the beds, the attention to details, the sumptuous breakfast and the service provided by the proprietors Adam and Grant is second to none. It is "Just Perfect". We will return!

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic but if you can afford it try a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vlmnoneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    974
    30
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
76
733
32
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wells
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

My partner and I absolutely loved the Somerville and would certainly stay there again if the occasion arises.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JandTWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Somerville for a weekend and found it to be very good indeed. The rooms are immaculate and decorated to a very high standard (not modern looking but very good quality).

the B&B is fairly high up the road, so if mobility is an issue, then a taxi may be required.

Breakfast was also excellent.

All round a very sound choice in Torquay!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank huwball1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerville515, Owner at The Somerville, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
We are delighted the guests had such a good time and enjoyed themselves with us. Torquay is built on seven hills and so they tend to be a fact of life ... mind you Torquay residents are a long lived bunch so they might be doing us good. Most guests cope with our relatively modest hill as it is only a few minutes walk from the town and harbour.

Our rooms are modern in the sense that they have all been refurbished in the last couple of years and have the very latest things guests would expect suchg as LCD TV's ipod docking stations etc but our style is deliberately inspired by classic French and Italian with a little colonial thrown in.......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here on friday and we didnt know what to expect as we always stay at hotels but this B&B was fantastic and has definatley changed our minds about B&B's...
As soon as we arrived there was free parking and a very warm welcoming...they asked if we needed a hand with carrying anything...very friendly...we were then taken to our room which was luxurious and very well presented with all the little homely touches...it was immaculate and very clean...the bed was sooo comfortable which felt like Egyptian cotton...then breakfast was very nice and all fresh, they cut all the fat off and did little touches like putting the beans in a separate pot to stop the sauce getting on the rest of the food....they would go well out of their way for you but make you feel like it was no skin off their nose...absolutely loved staying there..would highly recommend to anyone !!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Delia01_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerville515, Owner at The Somerville, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Once again we would like to thank our guests for posting such a generous review. The wonderful responses from our guests spur us on still further to improve what we do. We are delighted that today we have finished the refurb of our junior suite (Room 7 The Torwood Suite). we are pleased with the result but the real judges will be the guests who experience what we have created. Incidentally, this is the first room that is equiped with its own silent running mini fridge and these will appear in our other suites over the next few days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salisbury
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

My Husband and I have visited The Somerville about 5 times and have always found the experience truly amazing. I was born and brought up in Torquay though had to leave my beloved birthplace through marriage over 40 yeras ago! We like to make regular visits to Torquay and found this fantastic establishment on the net. All the excellent reviews are spot on and Adam and Grant provide an exceptional service which is second to none. All the many accolades are justly deserved and show the tireless dedication by the owners to their business.and more importanly, to their clientele. The Hotel is luxuriously appointed and shows impeccable taste in decor and keen attention to detail. The rooms are beautifully appointed and with the most up to date en suite facilities. The breakfasts are well worth mentioning as they are quite outstanding in terms of quality with the very best ingredients used and with a choice to suit all tastes. The service is warm and friendly and Adam and Grant are charming hosts who go out of their way to please their guests. We cannot contemplate staying anywhere else when in Torquay and The Somerville, to us, already feels like our second home the minute we cross its threshold. Our warmest Congratulations to Adam and Grant for what they have already achieved and our very good wishes for their continued success..

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyrabourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.8 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,437 reviews
1.8 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#36 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,120 reviews
1.3 km away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#3 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
1.4 km away
The Albaston
The Albaston
#2 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
2.0 km away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Somerville? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Somerville

Property: The Somerville
Address: 515 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,588 - ₹ 10,590
Hotel Class:5 star — The Somerville 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Somerville has many accolades including Devon B&B of the year for 2012/13 and Southwest B&B of the year for 2011. Centrally located with its own private car park and grounds. Choose from a standard room or lovely Deluxe rooms and spacious Suites; it's the ideal choice for both business travellers and leisure guests wanting a relaxing luxury break. The Somerville offers guests free parking and free wifi and extended breakfast times at weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Somerville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Somerville Hotel Torquay
Somerville Hotel Torquay
The Somerville Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing