We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“narrowboatkath” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haven House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Haven House
Ranked #77 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Leyland, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“narrowboatkath”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed at Haven House for the second time last week and as with our previous stay it was brilliant. Mandi is very friendly and the breakfasts are superb. The rooms are clean and comfortable with everything in them that you would ever need and there is even internet access should you need it. We would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank narrowboatkath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    32
    9
    0
    5
See reviews for
13
93
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

We stayed in the smallest double bedroom, which we were warned in advance was the smallest. It was perfectly adequate for our needs (which were more-or-less just a bed as we were only staying one night following a family wedding).

Squeezed in were a double bed, a wardrobe, two bedside tables, a small coffee table and two easy chairs, with just enough room to move round the bed on all sides. There was also a long thin en-suite with shower (no bath, but that didn't bother us at all), which had been neatly laid out to make best use of the space.

We received a very warm welcome, and the landlady was extremely accommodating, apologising profusely for the small number of hedge clippings which were on the path when we arrived (because she was in the middle of gardening - which seemed perfectly reasonable to us). The breakfast was delicious, especially the scrambled eggs!

We had only two complaints - the first was that the toilet's flush mechanism was a bit temperamental, and the second was that the room was extremely warm overnight (although I heard that other friends and relatives who attended the same wedding and stayed in other B&Bs in the area experienced much the same - perhaps we were just unlucky to be staying on a very warm night...)

Room Tip: Room 7 is the smallest and at the time of our visit the toilet had a slightly dodgy flush mechanism.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dragon_rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

We stayed at Haven House for 3 nights. Was made very welcome on arrival by Mandi (the proprietor).The room was beyond our expectations with a huge bathroom.
The room was spotless as was the rest of the hotel. There is a private car park around the back of the hotel.
Particularly liked the home cooked breakfast & size of the room.
Liked least ,unable to stay longer.
Would definately recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in Torquay

Room Tip: Ask for a superior deluxe suite, costs a little bit extra but still within your budget.Well worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
havenhouse, Owner at Haven House, responded to this review, 11 September 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review, It is so nice to know that someone loves me..xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

On arrival we were greeted by land lady mandi who showed us to our rooms,which were imaculate very homely,and clean.
Breakfast was very good, mandi was very friendley she told us about places to visit and gave us good information on the area could,nt do enough for us it was a pleasure to stay.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms were excellent especially the first one massive bathroom shower and bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ELSE21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
havenhouse, Owner at Haven House, responded to this review, 11 September 2011
Thank you for your review, it is much appreciated, and may I say what a lovely guest you were too x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

The rooms were very disspoianting and misleading from the photos on the internet. Very small with the cink next to the bed and a very small en suite. No irons in the rooms.

My biggest issue is that when we did not finish our breakfast the lanlady that appeared friendly very blatently shouted at the top of her voice about us being wasters and using other choice words about us.

Next time we come we will stay on the opposite side of Torquay which Amanda classed as the common side. Give me the commoners anyday over as rude protentious woman!!!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlieh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
havenhouse, Owner at Haven House, responded to this review, 10 September 2011
Oh Dear!, I am really quite nice actually! An iron is not in the room but is readily available on request. I honestly believe that I have never called a guest a waster, I might have said that I do not like waste, but that is my fault for serving too much in the first place, so whatever they think they heard was misinterpreted. As for the 'harbour' lark, that is all it was, a lark, a running joke, I sincerely apologise for my sense of humour, I must remind myself that some people do not have one and to tone myself down accordingly. Lastly shame on you Tripadvisor for allowing personal insults... I presume 'protentious' is meant to be one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 km away
Westbrook Guest House
Westbrook Guest House
#79 of 153 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.1 km away
The Lawnswood Guest House
The Lawnswood Guest House
#83 of 153 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.0 km away
Summerlands Guest House
Summerlands Guest House
#84 of 153 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
No photo provided
Ashfield Guest House
#97 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.3 km away
Acorn Lodge Hotel -- Torquay
0.0 km away
The Montana Guest House Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haven House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haven House

Property: Haven House
Address: 11 Scarborough Road | (also known as Haven Hotel), Torquay TQ2 5UJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,257 - ₹ 5,593
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spotless and tastefully decorated family owned guest house. Situated in a quiet conservation area, we are a few minutes walk away from beach, theatre, harbour, shops and Riviera Centre. All rooms are en-suite, with all the usual refinements and freeview TV. To maintain a high standard of cleanliness, non smoking and no pet rules apply. A full breakfast is included along with free guest parking. The stunning Devon coastline, and delightful Dartmoor are on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Haven House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing