We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing B&B”
Review of Mount Edgcombe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mount Edgcombe
Ranked #13 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2012

On arrival we were asked to pay the full amount for our stay, without even been shown the room, well when were taken to our room we were so dissapointed and wanted to leave but the payment had been taken. The room was tatty, with a torn sheet on the bed, the ensuite (if you could call it an ensuite)was tiny with no room to stand or dry yourself, no shelves to put toiletries on, no privacy so if you wanted privacy from your partner or friend that was staying with you you couldn't. The bed was uncomfortable my partner saying the mattress was leaning to one side so we had two uncomfortable nights. Breakfast on the first morning was a cooked breakfast, the bacon tasted off and we couldn't eat it. So the following morning I just ordered eggs on toast only to find a black hair on my egg, (my partner and I are both fair haired), and as our table was situated looking into the kitchen we could see that the owner was cooking. Maybe we were unlucky to be given the worst room!!!

Room Tip: If your stopping at this B&B ask to see the room before you pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam C, Owner at Mount Edgcombe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

We are sorry that these guests did not enjoy their stay with us, but we are surprised as nothing was said to us at the time.
1. In order to facilitate a smooth check out for our guests, our booking confirmation states that the balance is due on arrival - however we are happy to show guests their room first if asked - which some do. These guests did not.
2.Our guests are usually very complimentary about our rooms. They are all different and our regular guests do have their favourites. This particular room is specifically requested by a number of regular guests However If a room does not meet expectations we would be happy to offer an alternative if available or refund payment. Nothing said.
3. Our guests are very complimentary about our breakfasts. However if any issue had been brought to our attention we would have been happy to address it. It was not.

As the rest of our reviews show, we make every effort to provide a good service and generally succeed. However, as the saying goes, - 'You can't please all of the people all of the time.'

Here is an extract from our Guest Information Folder -
"Please let us know straight away if anything is not up to the standard you expect and we will do our very best to put it right. Our aim is to help you to enjoy your stay here in Torquay and we will do whatever we can to achieve that. It is disappointing for us to find out after you’ve left that something has not met with your expectations - so please give us the opportunity to rectify anything which has given you cause for concern by telling us."

I really don't know what more we can do!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (458)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

403 - 407 of 458 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2012

We booked this hotel on a very last minute decision for a short break and were very pleased. We were met with a very warm welcome and detailed directions with some recommendations which we found useful. We were shown around the hotel and then to our room on the 1st floor. The room was beautifully decorated with comfortable furnishings and a modern bathroom. All spotlessly clean and loved the attention to detail. Although hotel was full, it was quiet at might and we had very peaceful relaxing stat. The location is great, short scenic walk into the town and seafront. Breakfast was amazing, freshly cooked, great selection and smoothies to die for!! Brilliant hosts, ambient atmosphere, attention to detail, value for money and cleanliness made our stay a wonderful experience which we would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kateshols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

"There must have been a mistake," we thought at first. At the prices they were offering for our four-night stay, we just could not believe the rave reviews about Mount Edgcombe. But to our startling surprise, it not only lived up to our expectations, but surpassed them. The room and facilities were beyond comfortable - we simply felt at home - and the breakfasts were out of this world. Clean and welcoming, with so much thought gone into making sure anyone's stay is as relaxing and hassle-free as possible, that it really made our holiday. Well done, Pam and Dave - and you can count on seeing us again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

What a lovely couple of days, we wanted chill out and that is what we got. The car was not required as there was plenty to do within walking distance, just the job!
We were made very welcome in this splendidly appointed and very friendly hotel. The breakfasts were superb and the entire place extremely comfortable.
We would have no hesitation to recommend it to all. Hope to return soon for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

My girlfriends and I decided to spend a weekend away in Torquay to celebrate my engagement and we booked two nights at The Mount Edgcombe. What a fantastic find!! It is a beautiful, friendly hotel run by a lovely couple, Pam and Dave, for whom nothing is too much trouble! From the moment we walked in we felt relaxed and at home, which is exactly what you want when taking a break from work.

The rooms are newly refurbished with vibrant and modern furnishings and everything was spotlessly clean. You could really tell that a lot of thought had been put into designing the rooms to make them feel welcoming and comfortable. There is a cozy lounge area with the most enormous sofa I have ever seen, with a big tv and lots of DVD's to choose from. There is also a light and spacious dining room which offers a large selection for breakfast (including a fabulous fry up) and a brand new and modern bar area.
The hotel is within very easy walking distance of the town centre and beaches so it is an ideal place to stay if you want to experience Torquay without being in the frantic bustle of the main town.

My girlfriends and I have stayed and worked in plenty of hotels before and we all have careers within the hospitatlity industry, so we know what we're talking about. There was not one thing that we could critisize about this hotel, everything was spot on. By the end of our stay at The Mount Edgcombe, we had all agreed that the hotel was brilliant value for money and it made for a perfect weekend. I cannot recommend this hotel enough and we will definitely be going back there, hopefully sooner rather than later!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.7 km away
The Cimon
The Cimon
#16 of 85 in Torquay
412 reviews
2.4 km away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#6 of 85 in Torquay
520 reviews
0.2 km away
The Westgate
The Westgate
#12 of 149 in Torquay
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Kings Lodge
Kings Lodge
#6 of 149 in Torquay
430 reviews
1.8 km away
Kingsholm Hotel
Kingsholm Hotel
#8 of 149 in Torquay
799 reviews
1.0 km away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Edgcombe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Edgcombe

Address: 23 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: ₹ 5,437 - ₹ 6,602 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Edgcombe 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Edgcombe, an attractive detached Victorian Villa built in 1880. Situated in a conservation area on a tree lined road, within easy walking distance of the sea front, town and conference centre, local attractions as well as the train and coach station (free courtesy transport available to and from the stations). All rooms are individually decorated to a high standard and are en suite. All rooms have as a minimum a 26 inch flat screen colour TV, with FreeView. The Guest House has a large car park, a residents lounge, licensed bar and free Wi-Fi throughout and is totally NON SMOKING. We have Superior and Executive ground floor rooms, and all Executive and Superior Room has a fridge. The light and airy dining room is located on the ground floor serving breakfast and an optional fabulous 4 course home cooked dinner menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mount Edgcombe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Edgcombe Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing