We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Daylesford
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nethway Hotel(Torquay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
121
8
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
121
8
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjane martinon arrivalgenuine coupleb bcoffee and cakeyogurtfull englishfellow guestshome made cakesperfect place to staysecond to nonegreat hostslong journeyset you up for the daya great staycannot faultcouldn't do enough
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 132 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2010

We booked a room here in good faith thro booking.com !! A week later the arrogant owner wrote and cancelled our break saying " we hadn't told the booking company that we do a min of two nights now" "please tell them yourself otherwise 75% will be taken from your card !!!! I complained that it was up to him to do it as it was HE who cancelled it and " HE SAID HE HAD PASSED MY EMAILS ON TO THE POLICE" People like this give B&B s a BAD name

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
4  Thank coast114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianneTorquay, Owner at The Daylesford, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2010

This person seems to have serious problems. He has never stayed at our guest house and despite our polite cancellation request, sent us abusive, threatening, foul-languaged e-mails, hence the police being fully aware of the situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

We had 10 lovely days at this hotel. Never been in a hotel with such a warm hosipitality of the owner Dianne and Simon. Breakfast is excellent and the rooms are more than clean. They are little bit small but nicely interieur in victorian style. You can always have a little smalltalk with the owner and they give you a lot of advises and informations for what you can see and where to eat.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thommi_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

We stayed at the Daylesford for 2 nights and we enjoyed every minute of it.
We were welcomed by the owner in the lounge as a family member with a cup of tea and biscuits. Simon took time to give us lots of information about Torquay, its surroundings and its restaurants etc... We were showed our room wich was super clean and well furnished. The beds were confortable and the bathroom had everything you needed ( shampoo, bodylotion etc..)The only thing that did'nt always work was the WiFi internet connection. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and excellent fresh food ( try the smoked salmon with scrambled eggs, its delicious ). We only regreted that we could'nt stay longer. Thank you Dianne and Simon for your warm welcome.
Merci Simon pour cet excellent séjour. Je recommande chaudement ce petit hotel familial à tous ceux qui visite la région. C'est un exemple d'hospitalité à l'Anglaise.
Jean Claude

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcparmentier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2009

The whole experience was first class, The Daylesford is situated within easy walking distance of Torquay seafront, harbour and town centre. The room we had was spotlessly clean, bed comfortable, the small lounge was ideal to relax and read in or watch television. The breakfast was very good and the service provided by Dianne and Simon was excellent. Very friendly, informative and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wjbbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2009

We stayed at the Daylesford between the 5th - 12th of Sept 2009 the hospitality from Simon and Diane was excellent. The breakfasts were wonderful especially the poached eggs. The tips both Simon and Diane gave for places to visit and to eat were very good especially the little gem Sidmouth. I would love to return again soon, our stay at the Daylesford made our holiday extra special. Cheryl and Martin Phillpott

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elvery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews