We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed after reading the reviews”
Review of The Daylesford

The Daylesford
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Daylesford
Ranked #65 of 148 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“disappointed after reading the reviews”
Reviewed 9 September 2010

We booked on line believing this to be a superior ''hotel'' with all its high ratings and stars
I agree that the property is very clean and well kept the food is fresh and good the proprietors could not do enough to make your stay more enjoyable.
The room we stayed in #2 wasin my opinion small and coped inadequatly for two people there was only one chair and if you are off normal size the shower cubicle would be more than a squeeze. The basin was also very small no good for hairwashing or a good wash down @ £70 /night b+b this is in my opinion grossley over priced for this sized room. The road at the front can be noisey until late evening.If every room were full with a car family you could struddle to find on road parking at certain times of the day
Easy walking to town/beach

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gasman51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianneTorquay, Owner at The Daylesford, responded to this review, 21 September 2010
We clearly state that we are a guest house, not a hotel. To run a higher quality, award-winning guest house involves an enormous amount of time, effort and investment. Our pricing pro rata is exceedingly fair. Further, as is obvious from reviews, the vast majority of guests rate our guest house highly and return frequently.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    8
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
74
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

We booked a room here in good faith thro booking.com !! A week later the arrogant owner wrote and cancelled our break saying " we hadn't told the booking company that we do a min of two nights now" "please tell them yourself otherwise 75% will be taken from your card !!!! I complained that it was up to him to do it as it was HE who cancelled it and " HE SAID HE HAD PASSED MY EMAILS ON TO THE POLICE" People like this give B&B s a BAD name

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank coast114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianneTorquay, Owner at The Daylesford, responded to this review, 21 September 2010
This person seems to have serious problems. He has never stayed at our guest house and despite our polite cancellation request, sent us abusive, threatening, foul-languaged e-mails, hence the police being fully aware of the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augsburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2010

We had 10 lovely days at this hotel. Never been in a hotel with such a warm hosipitality of the owner Dianne and Simon. Breakfast is excellent and the rooms are more than clean. They are little bit small but nicely interieur in victorian style. You can always have a little smalltalk with the owner and they give you a lot of advises and informations for what you can see and where to eat.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thommi_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2009

We stayed at the Daylesford for 2 nights and we enjoyed every minute of it.
We were welcomed by the owner in the lounge as a family member with a cup of tea and biscuits. Simon took time to give us lots of information about Torquay, its surroundings and its restaurants etc... We were showed our room wich was super clean and well furnished. The beds were confortable and the bathroom had everything you needed ( shampoo, bodylotion etc..)The only thing that did'nt always work was the WiFi internet connection. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and excellent fresh food ( try the smoked salmon with scrambled eggs, its delicious ). We only regreted that we could'nt stay longer. Thank you Dianne and Simon for your warm welcome.
Merci Simon pour cet excellent séjour. Je recommande chaudement ce petit hotel familial à tous ceux qui visite la région. C'est un exemple d'hospitalité à l'Anglaise.
Jean Claude

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcparmentier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benfleet, Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2009

The whole experience was first class, The Daylesford is situated within easy walking distance of Torquay seafront, harbour and town centre. The room we had was spotlessly clean, bed comfortable, the small lounge was ideal to relax and read in or watch television. The breakfast was very good and the service provided by Dianne and Simon was excellent. Very friendly, informative and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wjbbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 km away
Brandize Hotel
Brandize Hotel
#36 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.0 km away
The Wellsway
The Wellsway
#39 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.1 km away
The Berburry
The Berburry
#38 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Avenue Park Guest House
Avenue Park Guest House
#47 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.3 km away
The Southbourne Villa
The Southbourne Villa
#54 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.1 km away
Grosvenor House
Grosvenor House
#62 of 148 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Daylesford? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Daylesford

Property: The Daylesford
Address: 60 Bampfylde Road, Torquay TQ2 5AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,802 - ₹ 7,905
Hotel Class:4 star — The Daylesford 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Star Guest Accommodation - Silver Award 2006, 2007 & 2008. Quality guesthouse providing a high level of hospitality and comfort. Located on a tree-lined road, within walking distance of the Riviera International Conference Centre, sea front and town, The Daylesford has a unique charm and character. For food lovers, we can provide personal recommendations to for example The Elephant Michelin Star Restaurant, The Number 7 Fish Bistro, Prezzo, Treasury brasserie and The Hole in the Wall, a truly excellent gastro-pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Daylesford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Daylesford Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing