We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent in everyway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Daylesford

The Daylesford
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Daylesford
Ranked #57 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Benfleet, Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent in everyway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2009

The whole experience was first class, The Daylesford is situated within easy walking distance of Torquay seafront, harbour and town centre. The room we had was spotlessly clean, bed comfortable, the small lounge was ideal to relax and read in or watch television. The breakfast was very good and the service provided by Dianne and Simon was excellent. Very friendly, informative and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wjbbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    8
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
73
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2009

We stayed at the Daylesford between the 5th - 12th of Sept 2009 the hospitality from Simon and Diane was excellent. The breakfasts were wonderful especially the poached eggs. The tips both Simon and Diane gave for places to visit and to eat were very good especially the little gem Sidmouth. I would love to return again soon, our stay at the Daylesford made our holiday extra special. Cheryl and Martin Phillpott

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elvery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2009

What a lovely place, lovely owners, and great service. We could not have found a better hotel, or a better welcome, anywhere else. We stayed at the Daylesford on the weekend of our 19th wedding anniversary, and we were made to feel very welcome indeed. Fabulous hosts, and thank you for recomending Totness and Dartmouth, both great places to visit. Will be sure to visit again soon. Nick & Tina Cheltenham

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flooshant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2009

We would highly recommend this hotel. The service provided by Simon & Dianne is excellent, which we have never experienced before in any hotel we have stayed in (and that is a lot). As soon as you arrive you are personally greeted, and made to feel very welcome, provided with local information for places to visit and good places to dine.
The breakfast is cooked to order and is absolutely fantastic.
If you are visiting Torquay this is a hotel not to be missed. We will certainly be staying her again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorcestershireMerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2009

Simon and Dianne go the extra mile to ensure all their guests have a wonderful stay.

We stayed in the garden room with our 10 year old daughter, which was spotless, roomy, extremely comfortable with an assortment of added luxuries. For relaxation the guest lounge is beautiful with plenty of reading material and games and the dining room with a varied assortment of freshly cooked breakfasts was a delight, I particulary enjoyed the scrambled eggs and smoked salmon.

On our arrival we were greeted with drinks and biscuits in the lounge where we were shown a range of activities in the local area, given maps and leaflets as well as recommendations for excellent restaurants.

Simon and Dianne excelled themselves in customer care with genuine consideration for each of their guests, qualities that many establishments should observe.

We will definately be returning and look forward to enjoying the delights of Daylesford and Torquay in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yvonne0106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 km away
Brandize Hotel
Brandize Hotel
#27 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.1 km away
Melba House Hotel
Melba House Hotel
#97 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.1 km away
The Berburry
The Berburry
#48 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Millbrook Torquay
The Millbrook Torquay
#69 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.0 km away
The Wellsway
The Wellsway
#21 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.1 km away
Grosvenor Guest House
Grosvenor Guest House
#60 of 153 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Daylesford? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Daylesford

Property: The Daylesford
Address: 60 Bampfylde Road, Torquay TQ2 5AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,670 - ₹ 7,088
Hotel Class:4 star — The Daylesford 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Star Guest Accommodation - Silver Award 2006, 2007 & 2008. Quality guesthouse providing a high level of hospitality and comfort. Located on a tree-lined road, within walking distance of the Riviera International Conference Centre, sea front and town, The Daylesford has a unique charm and character. For food lovers, we can provide personal recommendations to for example The Elephant Michelin Star Restaurant, The Number 7 Fish Bistro, Prezzo, Treasury brasserie and The Hole in the Wall, a truly excellent gastro-pub. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Daylesford Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing