We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Daylesford

The Daylesford
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Daylesford
Ranked #63 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Warm welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2011

Daylesford is a nice small hotel in Torquay.
Warm welcome
Fiendly hosts
Accomodation was lovely
Hearty breakfast
Well recommended

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karencalve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    8
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
73
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2010

We have just returned home after a wonderful overnight stay at The Daylesford. Simon and Dianne are the most charming hosts, we received such a very warm welcome, which felt like they welcoming us as friends into their absolutely beautiful home. We cannot fault this place, from the very comfortable bed to the superb breakfast, a first class experience all round and we hope to make a return visit very soon. We highly recommend The Daylesford to anyone wishing a quiet, relaxing stay in beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aled31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2010

My spouse and I were very, very fortunate to book 2 rooms (...he snores sometimes, hence the separate rooms) for 4 nights at the lovely Daylesford in Torquay from half a world away in Toronto (Whitby, Ontario), Canada, in September, 2010. The Daylesford certainly lived up to its professional website presentation and more. On arrival, we were greeted with a cheering and very welcome English tea and biscuits by friendly, but never intrusive, owners Dianne and Simon. Their genuine concern for tired and wilted guests like us was most thoughtful and sincere. They made us feel like we were the the first ever guests to cross the threshold yet they have been in business since at least 2001 (or more) as I surmised from the dates in their red guestbook. They obviously know what they are doing and do it well. A true gentleman, Simon took the time to give us wonderful relevant and necessary information on sightseeing, restaurants, and directions with pamphlets and maps as well and he answered all our questions with flair, knowledge and expertise. He even booked restaurants for us, made taxi arrangements which was appreciated and left confirmation emails under our doors so we would get the written information quickly upon return to our rooms. He has an excellent reciprocal working relationship with the better restaurants in Torquay and the owners were glad to hear us mention The Daylesford when we arrived. The home is spotless, scent-free and beautifully decorated from ground floor to attic in that lovely timeless and traditional English way that Canadians love (must be our Commonwealth English roots)....soaring high ceilings throughout--in the lounge, an Adam style fireplace and gi-normous mirror above it--2 big cozy leather wing chairs plus a hefty sofa to curl up in and a comfy welcoming armchair plus floor-to-ceiling windows big enough to walk through. Books to be read abounded in large pine bookcases along with a gamut of board games to play if so desired, plus a lovely antique clock that reassuringly rang the hours so that we wouldn't be late for breakfast. A large coffee table held an assortment of colourful magazines from 'Devon Life' to '25 Beautiful Homes' to 'Private Eye'. The Times newspaper was there for us to read every morning at breakfast. And what breakfasts they were too.........lovely hot cooked and generous full English breakfasts, creamy scrambled eggs with plenty of smoked salmon, for example, along with croissants, brioches, rounds of toast, plenty of cereals in the cereal 'bar', lots of assorted juices, fresh fruits, stewed fruits, jams, jellies marmalades, honey, Marmite, cheeses, cold meats, and yogurts--you name it........breakfast heaven! The Levers have won framed awards for their breakfasts, Rosettes too, 4 stars and other awards and recommendations and rightly so! The ample pine sideboard and shelves in the cheerful breakfast room displayed the owners' collection of cherished antique blue and white Staffordshire china, so cheerful to look at! We felt we were living inside the pages of Period Living and Traditional Homes Magazine or the English Homes Magazine--both of which are also sold in Canada because the entire home's decor is charming, tasteful and beautiful and so right for the substanial home which I was told was built in the 1880's. Our rooms were blissfully quiet and the beds sooooooooooooo comfortable (and I am 'manic' about quiet and good beds.) The bathrooms were immaculate, renovated, up-to-date and chic for their size. There is a pretty patio at the front with 3 green wrought iron Victorian tables and chairs and flowers in tubs and twining vines everywhere and the view of big trees and a beautiful park across the road. It is within walking distance of Torre Abbey, and the seafront and downtown Torquay. We did not need our car to go downtown or to the water. Having a few minutes to spare, I quietly perused their address book and was not surprised to discover that 100% of all the comments written by departing guests since 2001 are 'glowing', to put it mildly. The vacation is over but not our pleasant memories of a wonderful stay at The Daylesford. The owners obviously love what they do, do it very well and we would go back in a 'heartbeat' as I wrote in their red book. We enjoyed our vist--this slice of life and all that is great about England in a lovely home with charming owners, and quiet and pleasant fellow guests and, certainly, because of all this, we won't ever forget our stay in lovely Torquay at The Daylesford.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank momlady2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2010

We booked on line believing this to be a superior ''hotel'' with all its high ratings and stars
I agree that the property is very clean and well kept the food is fresh and good the proprietors could not do enough to make your stay more enjoyable.
The room we stayed in #2 wasin my opinion small and coped inadequatly for two people there was only one chair and if you are off normal size the shower cubicle would be more than a squeeze. The basin was also very small no good for hairwashing or a good wash down @ £70 /night b+b this is in my opinion grossley over priced for this sized room. The road at the front can be noisey until late evening.If every room were full with a car family you could struddle to find on road parking at certain times of the day
Easy walking to town/beach

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gasman51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianneTorquay, Owner at The Daylesford, responded to this review, 21 September 2010
We clearly state that we are a guest house, not a hotel. To run a higher quality, award-winning guest house involves an enormous amount of time, effort and investment. Our pricing pro rata is exceedingly fair. Further, as is obvious from reviews, the vast majority of guests rate our guest house highly and return frequently.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2010

We booked a room here in good faith thro booking.com !! A week later the arrogant owner wrote and cancelled our break saying " we hadn't told the booking company that we do a min of two nights now" "please tell them yourself otherwise 75% will be taken from your card !!!! I complained that it was up to him to do it as it was HE who cancelled it and " HE SAID HE HAD PASSED MY EMAILS ON TO THE POLICE" People like this give B&B s a BAD name

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank coast114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianneTorquay, Owner at The Daylesford, responded to this review, 21 September 2010
This person seems to have serious problems. He has never stayed at our guest house and despite our polite cancellation request, sent us abusive, threatening, foul-languaged e-mails, hence the police being fully aware of the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 km away
Brandize Hotel
Brandize Hotel
#31 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.0 km away
The Wellsway
The Wellsway
#21 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.1 km away
The Berburry
The Berburry
#45 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Avenue Park Guest House
Avenue Park Guest House
#43 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.3 km away
The Southbourne Villa
The Southbourne Villa
#54 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.1 km away
Grosvenor House
Grosvenor House
#59 of 153 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Daylesford? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Daylesford

Property: The Daylesford
Address: 60 Bampfylde Road, Torquay TQ2 5AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,477 - ₹ 7,220
Hotel Class:4 star — The Daylesford 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Star Guest Accommodation - Silver Award 2006, 2007 & 2008. Quality guesthouse providing a high level of hospitality and comfort. Located on a tree-lined road, within walking distance of the Riviera International Conference Centre, sea front and town, The Daylesford has a unique charm and character. For food lovers, we can provide personal recommendations to for example The Elephant Michelin Star Restaurant, The Number 7 Fish Bistro, Prezzo, Treasury brasserie and The Hole in the Wall, a truly excellent gastro-pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your The Daylesford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Daylesford Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing