We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“decent location and amenities” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of TLH Toorak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
TLH Toorak Hotel
Ranked #33 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“decent location and amenities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

This hotel is one of four linked hotels on the site.My first stay at this one and it was fine.
Th accomodation is a little tired,but room had everything I needed,was clean and bathroom decent. Breakfast was good with decent variety.
Where these hotels score is the facilities.
A superb indoor bowls rink,themed indoor pool , large games arcade with two ten pin bowling rinks.
With comprehensive activity and entertainment schedules it can't be matched.
For families, i would suggest The Derwent however,which is another of the four hotels and is actually a little cheaper.
The group website is www.tlh.co.uk

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sporty60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

617 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    256
    84
    34
    14
See reviews for
181
187
24
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
ilminster
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

Rooms were spacious and lots of little areas to relax have a coffee and read, pool lovely but downside very full and long hike to aztec pool .Bar and lounge area nice, entertainment ok ,but not brill
Lovely relaxing wkend shopping and walking with my hubbie and will go back again ..

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

Had a week-end away, room was spotless,stayed in room 21 , end of terrace, very quiet and lovely view, well worth the up-grade. staff were all lovely,spent a couple of nice relaxing hours in the pool from the sister hotel and also used their hairdressers - very good
found the Toorak the better of the three hotels in the complex and also the quietest.
The food was very good too - had breakfasts and evening meals for 4 nightbreak and could'nt fault it.

Room Tip: the terrace rooms are the best for decor and size
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hywel11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tadley
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

During our long weekend we experienced varying degrees of table service, ranging from good to "forgotten" We were at the far-end ot the raised area of the Restaurant and depending on the Waiting-on staff we were served quickly or hardly at all.
Excellent bedroom etc.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nrbeck, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thank you for your review I was sorry to hear that the restaurant service lacked consistency during your stay
I have shared your comments with our new restaurant manager who will use this in her training with staff
I am glad to see that otherwise you enjoyed your stay and I do hope you will be back soon
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Whilst the hotel is what you would expect for the price you pay, what you would not expect to pay was the very high prices to drink there. We paid £7:80 for a pint of local beer and a small glass of Orange and Lemonade. Do not visit this Hotel if you a planning a drinking weekend.

Room Tip: Ask reception if there is any late dancing. Should they say that there is ask for a room at the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mycatdaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nrbeck, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thank you for your review. The price of £7.80 is not correct for the drinks that you have stated.
I am not sure what has happened but if you would like to contact me I will be happy to remedy for you. Our bar prices are very average for the area as we aim in keeping our customers in house rather than going out elsewhere
I hope that otherwise you enjoyed your stay with us
thank you once again

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 km away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#26 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.3 km away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#32 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.2 km away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#19 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,518 reviews
0.6 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#36 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,167 reviews
0.3 km away
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
#57 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Toorak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Toorak Hotel

Property: TLH Toorak Hotel
Address: Chestnut Avenue, Torquay TQ2 5JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#30 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,400 - ₹ 11,291
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Toorak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lovely hotel has access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a specialty. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your TLH Toorak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toorak Hotel Torquay
TLH Toorak Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing