We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Imperial Torquay
Ranked #22 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a sea view room which had terrific views over the bay. Plenty of space for clothes. Very good towels and bed linen. Breakfast was average although the room had the bay view which was good. Pleasant and helpful staff. Would stay there again

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Bella2009Midlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol G, Guest Relations Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Bella2009Midlands,

Thank you for taken the time to review your stay at the Hotel. It is lovely to read that you have enjoyed your stay with and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,080)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 73 of 3,081 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

lovely welcome at reception by pretty young lady , room was upgraded
noticed art deco ceilings etc. throughout hotel.
lovely historical character hotel
large bedroom with kingsize bed , fantastic sea view incorporating brixham , paignton and torquay
high afternoon tea very nice , served by a very helpful waiter named joe , my wife wanted to adopt him
pre dinner drinks served by excellent barman named matt , who was extremly helpful
main course for dinner we seected lamb steak the best i've ever tasted with lovely gravy .
breakfast was excellent
lovely hotel highly recommended
only negative £7 per night for carpark

Room Tip: rooms all with seaviews , quiet because well built historic hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol G, Guest Relations Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Dave P,

Thank you for taken the time to review your stay at the Hotel. I am glad that you have enjoyed most aspects of your stay. I will pass your comments onto the Team who do appreciate our guests feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I'm sorry to say the afternoon tea experience was very disappointing. my friend booked the imperial as a gift for my 50th birthday. it would have been very nice if the table had been laid up ready for us, is wasn't. When the tea arrived the milk jug wasn't even half full and was dirty and no hot water was brought with it. The food thankfully tasted better than it looked apart from the plain scones which were very dry. we were there for about 3 hours during which time no tables were cleared and soon resembled the pot wash of the hotel kitchen.
we paid at the bar and were walking through reception when the waiter rushed after us to ask if" we had settled up". NOT GOOD
we decided to split the bill and book somewhere else for my birthday

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Jacqui42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol G, Guest Relations Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Jacqui42,

I am really sorry that you were disappointed with your Afternoon Tea at the Hotel. I can assure you that this is not our usual standard and I will discuss further with the team at the Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

Me and a friend decided to book a spa getaway to pamper ourselves (child free). We booked the Imperial as had a good deal on, and I've been before. Our reservation in spa got changed twice before we went, which we wouldn't have known if i had not called, but we weren't going to let that annoy us. We arrived early used their car park and walked into the town while our room was being cleaned. Our room really was lovely, it was sea facing, amazing view, clean and large! We enjoyed drinks on our private balcony before enjoying a delicious 3 course dinner in the restaurant, which was cooked perfectly and plenty of choice. Our treatments were fantastic, we had full body massages and facials. Although there was a small mistake with us having the wrong facial it was rectified in a very professional manner. We also enjoyed the afternoon tea before coming home, which was great value with unlimited drink refills. I certainly will be returning in the future, yes it is slightly dated but it is a very old building which I imagine must take alot of upkeep, and you will need to check your booking and spa reservations carefully, however the staff are lovely, massages best I've had in a long time and the setting beautiful!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Vixtux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol G, Guest Relations Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Vixtux,

Thank you for your lovely review. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the future. I will pass your comments onto the team. I am sorry there was a slight error with your reservations but I am glad it was sorted very quickly for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

I spent the weekend with my daughter, we live at diffent ends of the country so having quality time togetherr is important to us. We were very happy with the standard of this hotel we had a delux king room which was spacious and had a balcony looking out without interuption across the bay . the only down side was that we were wanting to have spa treatments but werre told they were fully booked, and we needed to book weeks in advance. As I only booked the room 3 days before this was a real dispoinment to us.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Q9222OXlindaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol G, Guest Relations Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Q9222OXlindaw,

Thank you for taken the time to review your stay with us. I am glad you and your daughter enjoyed your stay. I will pass your lovely comments onto the team. I am sorry that we were unable to provide treatments during your stay but I do hope that you will both will be able to return so you can use this facility.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.5 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#31 of 85 in Torquay
2,496 reviews
1.4 km away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#19 of 85 in Torquay
1,164 reviews
0.6 km away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 85 in Torquay
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#25 of 85 in Torquay
594 reviews
0.4 km away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 85 in Torquay
661 reviews
0.6 km away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#6 of 85 in Torquay
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Torquay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Torquay

Address: Park Hill Road, Torquay TQ1 2DG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#9 Business Hotel in Torquay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#11 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#26 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#30 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: ₹ 4,950 - ₹ 14,590 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Torquay 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Torquay is a 19th Century four-star hotel in a stunning cliff-top location on the English Riviera. Just a mile from Torquay train station, and 10 minutes walk from the town centre and its famous promenade, this Mediterranean-style hotel is a great base for exploring Devon and North Cornwall. Close by are sandy beaches, the Eden Project and Dartmoor National Park. After a day of exploring relax in the Health & Leisure Club then enjoy delicious food in the award-winning Regatta Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Imperial Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Torquay
Barcelo Torquay
Imperial Torquay
Torquay Imperial Hotel
Hotel Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing