We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Devonshire Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$ 92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 255
US$ 152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 112
US$ 101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Imperial Torquay(Torquay)
US$ 128
US$ 93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$ 148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$ 146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 215
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (996)
Filter reviews
996 results
Traveller rating
492
365
100
28
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
492
365
100
28
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteep hillmanager nigelandy oakleybus serviceself driveour waiterthe hotel car parkgreat holidaydining roombar pricesevening entertainmentbus passturkey and tinselshort breakmain buildingcoach holidayvisited this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
956 - 961 of 996 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2012

I took a group of 65 to the Devonshire Hotel 3rd February to 9th February 2012. I organise trips to fund raise for 4 local charities and also to celebrate two 65 birthdays, one 70th, and two 60ths. I had arranged a surprise birthday drinks reception pre dinner and liaised with hotel manager and staff before we went, and they even helped me organise a cake.

My group found the whole package great. Our trip was based on half board with two trips out, and ALL the staff were so helpful and nothing too much trouble. Some of the rooms may be slightly dated, but the setting, up the hill overlooking Torquay is lovely, with two minibuses coming into the drive just after breakfast for those wanting to go into Torquay plus bus stop right outside hotel. It is also an easy walk downhill via Living Coasts where you can see the penguins being fed, but great place for coffee, with lovely views over the sea.

The entertainment, food, staff, trips available and lots to do, even in the winter. A great way to kick off those winter blues. Manager Nigel and all staff really helpful. One of my group voted it was her best birthday ever. The weather was even kind to us while the rest of the country had snow, we had sun, and it was quite mild, we even went on a river trip in February and saw a seal sunbathing. Thank you Daishs, great value for money

Room Tip: There are some larger family rooms which have a double and single bed in and have side views of sea. These rooms are bigger. Rooms vary in size. But very nice hotel to stay in.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shirley w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2012

One of the friendliest groups we have ever had, from arrival to departures it was non stop fun, i hear your heading to our Barrowfield hotel in Newquay next year i do hope you will have the same fun time there, I am sure Richard and the team will look after you. We at the Devonshire offer the warmest welcome to our groups of any size, this is to make sure they have a time to remember as that is what going on holiday is all about. thank you again for spending 5 nights at the Devonshire hotel shirley tours. please return again soon.
regards
Nigel and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

This was the first time I have travelled with Daish,s and was a bit apprehensive about going alone, but hotel staff and fellow travellers were so friendly I had a brilliant time. Room was slightly dated but no problems, food was good and entertainment not bad at all. I will definately be staying at more of their hotels soon but have been trying to book a single room for a trip in March but all taken I'm afraid, so book early or be disappointed as I am.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dotty717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2012

thank you for your feedback, we are really happy you enjoyed yourself. we are busy refurbing rooms as fast as we can. room 16 (single room) has been done please request this room next time you come. best regards see you soon

Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Lovely hotel, very helpful and friendly staff, food very good, with a choice of menu for the evening meal and a very good breakfast, good entertainment in the evening
rooms very clean, fresh towels every day and a clean bathroom , plenty of hot water. The travel company we came with Daishs were excellent and the driver Wayne was very helpful and very informative giving us lots of information when we went out on the day trips
a very nice break

Room Tip: ask for a room in the main hotel
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suesheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2012

thanks for coming, come back again soon.
warmest regards

Nigel and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

First time on Daish's holiday & would go again. Very good value. Friendly waiters (Artur), good food, pleasant hotel.

Room Tip: Room 50 - very large & good position, near to dining room.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorfolkYorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

thanks for your feedback, look forward to seeing you again soon.

all the best Nigel and Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

this was our first holiday with daish's and my wife and I were pleasantly surprised, the coach on the way to the hotel was very clean and comfortable and the driver was very friendly. Check in was very efficient and our room was lovely. It had a flat screen TV too. The food was better then expected and the bar was very reasonably priced. The entertainment was fab also! Every member of staff was lovely and everywhere was spotless. We will return to the Devonshire ASAP.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank joe b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2012

thank you for taking the time to write, we are happy you enjoyed your stay. we hope to see you again very soon.

Nigel at the Devonshire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews