We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“50th Birthday Celebration.”
Review of Devonshire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Devonshire Hotel
Ranked #14 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“50th Birthday Celebration.”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Just back from a great 'surprise' break away with my friends. Our first time with Daish's and certainly not our last. Had a fantastic time. Our rooms were lovely, spacious & clean. Staff were great especially Artur. Tony our driver very imformative, helpful, polite & kept the 'surprise' destination a secret until almost there. Hotel itself very clean & staff very helpful. The food was very nice & always hot. Entertainment was really good, Quiz's & bingo not normally our 'thing' but really enjoyed it. Only 2 little grumbles....Simon's jokes lol, but then we did miss them on his day off & found the heating too hot, we turned the heating off in our room & didn't need it on again, dining room really hot but opened the windows in the evenings. Going to try Newquay next, then Bournemouth & would return to Torquay.

Room Tip: Twin rooms 63 & 64 very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Di5062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
hi and thanks for writing your review, we are really happy your 50th birthday celebration was spent at the Devonshire hotel, sorry if the rooms were a little to warm, we had just come out of a very cold snap, we have now adjusted the stats down to reflect the milder weather. do enjoy your stays at our other hotels. We hope to see you back at the Devonshire in the near future.Best regards from Nigel and all the Great Staff here at the Devonshire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

796 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    286
    75
    25
    8
See reviews for
119
456
41
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Upminster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

I took a group of 65 to the Devonshire Hotel 3rd February to 9th February 2012. I organise trips to fund raise for 4 local charities and also to celebrate two 65 birthdays, one 70th, and two 60ths. I had arranged a surprise birthday drinks reception pre dinner and liaised with hotel manager and staff before we went, and they even helped me organise a cake.

My group found the whole package great. Our trip was based on half board with two trips out, and ALL the staff were so helpful and nothing too much trouble. Some of the rooms may be slightly dated, but the setting, up the hill overlooking Torquay is lovely, with two minibuses coming into the drive just after breakfast for those wanting to go into Torquay plus bus stop right outside hotel. It is also an easy walk downhill via Living Coasts where you can see the penguins being fed, but great place for coffee, with lovely views over the sea.

The entertainment, food, staff, trips available and lots to do, even in the winter. A great way to kick off those winter blues. Manager Nigel and all staff really helpful. One of my group voted it was her best birthday ever. The weather was even kind to us while the rest of the country had snow, we had sun, and it was quite mild, we even went on a river trip in February and saw a seal sunbathing. Thank you Daishs, great value for money

Room Tip: There are some larger family rooms which have a double and single bed in and have side views of sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shirley w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2012
One of the friendliest groups we have ever had, from arrival to departures it was non stop fun, i hear your heading to our Barrowfield hotel in Newquay next year i do hope you will have the same fun time there, I am sure Richard and the team will look after you. We at the Devonshire offer the warmest welcome to our groups of any size, this is to make sure they have a time to remember as that is what going on holiday is all about. thank you again for spending 5 nights at the Devonshire hotel shirley tours. please return again soon.
regards
Nigel and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bury st edmunds
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

This was the first time I have travelled with Daish,s and was a bit apprehensive about going alone, but hotel staff and fellow travellers were so friendly I had a brilliant time. Room was slightly dated but no problems, food was good and entertainment not bad at all. I will definately be staying at more of their hotels soon but have been trying to book a single room for a trip in March but all taken I'm afraid, so book early or be disappointed as I am.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dotty717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
thank you for your feedback, we are really happy you enjoyed yourself. we are busy refurbing rooms as fast as we can. room 16 (single room) has been done please request this room next time you come. best regards see you soon

Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Lovely hotel, very helpful and friendly staff, food very good, with a choice of menu for the evening meal and a very good breakfast, good entertainment in the evening
rooms very clean, fresh towels every day and a clean bathroom , plenty of hot water. The travel company we came with Daishs were excellent and the driver Wayne was very helpful and very informative giving us lots of information when we went out on the day trips
a very nice break

Room Tip: ask for a room in the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suesheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
thanks for coming, come back again soon.
warmest regards

Nigel and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

First time on Daish's holiday & would go again. Very good value. Friendly waiters (Artur), good food, pleasant hotel.

Room Tip: Room 50 - very large & good position, near to dining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorfolkYorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelatthedev0nshire, General Manager at Devonshire Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
thanks for your feedback, look forward to seeing you again soon.

all the best Nigel and Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 km away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,673 reviews
1.7 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,248 reviews
0.2 km away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
1.5 km away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#22 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
0.6 km away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#33 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonshire Hotel

Property: Devonshire Hotel
Address: Park Hill Road, Torquay TQ1 2DY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Torquay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,309 - ₹ 4,964
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Devonshire Hotel, a beautiful 1900s building overlooking the stunning Tor Bay, is surrounded by flower filled gardens and just a 10 minute stroll to the popular Blue Flag-rated Meadfoot Beach, the attractive waterfront and bustling town centre. Our heated outdoor pool is available in the summer (May - Sept) and is ideal for a cooling dip after a day's sightseeing. This TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2013 awarded hotel also boasts peaceful lounge areas and, for the warmer months, a terrace for afternoon tea. if the weather's nice, you can try your hand at golf on our fun putting green or simply sit back and relax on our peaceful lawns or sunny patio. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Devonshire Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing