We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Cappello Ristorante
Ranked #74 of 372 Restaurants in Torquay
Price range: US$ 20 - US$ 59
Description: friendly rustic Italian ristorante serving Italian food, handmade pizza, pastsa, seafood, chicken & meats. all desserts made in our kitchen (including our famous gelato) in comfortable relaxed surroundings - your always assured a friendly welcome.
Restaurant details
Description: friendly rustic Italian ristorante serving Italian food, handmade pizza, pastsa, seafood, chicken & meats. all desserts made in our kitchen (including our famous gelato) in comfortable relaxed surroundings - your always assured a friendly welcome.
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

I thoroughly enjoyed my visit here. The service was brilliant and the atmosphere was perfect. The menu had a good choice and catered for dietary needs and the food was nicely presented and full of taste. The puddings are to die for so make sure you leave some space!

Thank j-bic80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eeeyan711, Owner at Cappello Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

hi j-bic80, many thanks for your kind review of our little ristorante , we are so pleased you enjoyed it, especially the puddings !! we hope to see you again soon xx cheers hat xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 50 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2017

A group of us went in October but I will only speak for myself. A mozzarella cheese salad had four very thin slices of tomato topped with a sprinkling of mozzarella with virtually no salad/garnish in sight. The main course of a chicken dish turned out to be a huge pile of pasta topped with a lump of rather dry chicken breast cut in half. The presentation was very poor and there was insufficient sauce on the pasta. No, not a meal to make me want to go back again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank RAGTorquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eeeyan711, Owner at Cappello Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

hi RAGTorquay, we are sorry you didn't enjoy your visit to our cosy little italian ristorante, if i could just mention from our prespective we try and offer our dishes as authentic as possible therefore the the insalata caprese (salad of capri) is a simple dish of tomato, mozzarella, basil & olive oil ( depicting the colours of the italian flag on a plate ) and when you dined with us you took advantage of the midweek special 2/3 courses for £12/£15 which we think offers excellent value, regarding the chicken dish im sorry you thought it was dry but if you had mentioned that to your server i would have gladly offered to exchange it for another dish or replace it, as for the pasta again we try to do authenctic dishes so therefore not swimming in sauce but again if you had mentioned it at the time we would have gladly provided extra. I would also like to point out that as a restaurateur it is very disheartening to hear upon your groups arrival that 3 or 4 people to loudly exclaim that they dislike italian food !!!! I feel therefore we were on sticky ground to start, i do wish you all the best for your groups next outing. regards hat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

We received such a warm welcome from all at Cappello's. There to celebrate Mum's 90th birthday, four generations, each really enjoyed themselves. The food is delicious. The ambiance is spot on. We were allowed to decorate the area our table was situated in. The restaurant is on the level so I could just push Mum in her wheelchair straight in, no steps to negotiate, brilliant. Our host greeted Mum at the door, making her feel so special. Any requests were met with a smile & a "not a problem" attitude. It was relaxed, not rushed. The music made Mum nostalgic. The lights were dipped as the cake was brought in & Happy Birthday sung. Perfect! You really do deserve to become No 1 on the TripAdvisor list. Thank you all so much.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cowperstowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

We were lucky enough to book a table for last Fridays 7-course tasting menu at Cappello - so glad we did. The food was amazing. A well thought out menu cooked extremely well. And great music too.

This place is a fantastic addition to St Marychurch - whether you fancy a coffee and cake, lounging on their soft seating, or eating something more substantial at their welcoming tables, you’ll be glad you popped in.

Thank Woodbutcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

The food is delicious, staff friendly and helpful. What a hidden gem Capello's is. I enjoyed a delicious meal during a business meeting with six other business men.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PeterPonticello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eeeyan711, Owner at Cappello Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

hi peterponticello, thank you for your kind words, we are so pleased you enjoyed our ristorante for your business meeting and we look forward to seeing you again soon cheers hat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cappello Ristorante also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Been to Cappello Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing