We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!!”
Review of Rutland Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rutland Lodge
Ranked #118 of 148 Torquay B&B and Inns
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!”
Reviewed 3 September 2011

One of the best things I ever did was to book our long weekend in this fantastic B+B and both my husband and daughter cant wait to return.
We staid in the family room which had a double sofa bed and the largest double bed I had ever seen,the en suite was beautiful and the shower ! well I wish our water pressure was that good.The Continental breakfast was spot on and we had the added bonus of eating in the conservatory which had the most fantastic grape vine loaded with grapes above us.
The kitchen pristine and we could have use of the all facilities + coffee maker which was always ready to go at the push of a button and after a night out in Torquay anice strong cup of real coffee was always welcome.
I could rattle on for ever about Rutland Lodge and in Particular about Richard our host who it is quite obvious when visiting has put his heart and soul into his establishment and you can see he takes a great pride and so he should in the way he looks after his guests.
A very big thankyou Richard for a wonderful B+B hopefully we will see you soon.
Linda,Stewart and Chelsea.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
25
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed for a long weekend in August with our 6 year old daughter.
The family room was very nicely furnished with a double bed settee for children and a very nice bathroom.
The house has been beautifully refurbished and Richard is an excellent host - My Daughter fell in love with him and his home made bread :-)
The use of the kitchen with wine glasses, fresh milk etc is an added bonus.Will certainly return in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DKSManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We visited for 5 days and cannot praise this place enough. We stayed in a superior double, which was fantastic and very spacious with a lovely ensuite. Richard is very helpful without being intrusive. Overall we cannot wait to go back and would definitely recommend it. One of the best B+Bs we have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Booked via last minute.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ABandC13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

We were mostly struck by how big the lodge is, it only has 5 rooms which makes it very quiet and spacious. Richard our host was very welcoming, he lives in the house next door but is available at the ring of a bell. We booked a suite which was spacious, light and had a fabulous roll top bath in the en suite as well as a power shower. Every morning we would make our way to the conservatory (with grape vines coming through the roof) where breakfast was served. We had a kitchen if we wanted to use it. Overall it was the relaxing anf charming break we were looking for!

Room Tip: We booked on last minute and got a great deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kittykat_2583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

I have never written a review for trip advisor before, because I have never needed to. But Richard's hotel is quite possibly one of the best I have ever stayed in. I often worry when booking a hotel or B&B as you never know what you are going to get. But I can guarantee that this is the nicest hotel. The warmest welcoming, a beautiful room which contains every thing you will need for a long stay or one night, a lovely laid out breakfast in the beautiful conservatory. You also have full use of the house, as Richard lives next door, so you can use the kitchen, dining room and sitting room for what ever you like!
I work away and stay in three or four hotel's a week, and I am adding extra time on to my journey, just to come back to stay in Rutland lodge! I am back on my way and looking forward to it!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank degs100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 km away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,664 reviews
1.9 km away
Brooklands
Brooklands
#103 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
2.3 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
The Bahamas
The Bahamas
#99 of 148 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
2.0 km away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#32 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.8 km away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#8 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rutland Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rutland Lodge

Property: Rutland Lodge
Address: 448 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,125 - ₹ 6,423
Hotel Class:4 star — Rutland Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Rutland Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Hotel Torquay
Rutland Lodge Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing