We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location but 'Oh Dear'”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Morningside Hotel
Ranked #56 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely location but 'Oh Dear'”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

We arrived after a 6 hour drive at the Morningside, nobody on reception when we arrived and when someone did arrive there was no pleasant greeting Hello how was you journey etc etc!! we were shown to our room, to be fair it was a large bright room with a bay window looking towards the sea, but by goodness it needed updating the paper on the ceiing was coming adrift, the carpet was stained and in need of a good cleaning, it just looked shoddy. The en suite was clean, but beware of the hot water this really is scalding and I would fear for any child left alone. I was disappointed but realised how lucky we really were when our friends arrived and were shown into what I can only describe as a very large cupboard, where the cold water came out of the hot and visa versa, light fitting with 5 bulbs only two working, making the room so dark she was unable to put any eye make up on. The bar was not manned and you had to ring a bell at reception to get a drink!!, which may I say seemed quite pricey, shame really as this Hotel has it all, location views etc, but just needs a thorough modernisation and reception staff whose motto should be service with a smile!! On the positive side the breakfast couldn't be faulted it really was lovely and breakfast staff very nice. Beware of the differences in tarrifs also which I do not quite understand

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManchesterMerseygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    24
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
20
35
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

We have just had our wedding reception at the Moriningside and all of our 50 guests agreed that the food and the service was second to none.
The location is brilliant with excellent views and the owner Jon Paul couldnt do enough for us.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone it is probably one of the nicest hotels in Torquay and the staff were professional and efficient

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dgregg69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest of Dean
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2010

Took elderly parents away for a break at the seaside. The staff were most accommodating towards us and our parents limitations. Fantastic breakfast choice and served perfectly, nothing too much trouble. Location is perfect with superb views and very tastfully furnished. Rooms were clean and airy with lovely views across the bay. No evening meals, but a choice of food in the evening in nearby hotels and bars. We especially recommend the Royal. Value for money was excellent, our only gripe was the weather...... :-)

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisForestofDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2010

My wife and I have just spent a week at the Morningside Hotel and have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. From our sea view room you looked out over lyme bay and as the hotel faces east you get a stunning sunrise. A full english breakfast is available or if you prefer just cereals and toast. The staff were always friendly and helpful. It is situated in the quieter part of Torbay but within easy reach of Torquay, Paignton and Brixham.The Babbacombe Theatre is only 400 yards from the hotel with entertainment on throughout most of the year. Evening meals are not served but within walking distance there are many establishments catering for all tastes after which you can stroll back along the sea front for a drink in the hotel bar. We will certainly book again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank touristNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2010

The room was dirty, the cushions had makeup or something similar on them.The windows were double glazed complete with cobwebs.
The hot water was too hot the cold barely running.
on the good side, the staff were friendly and the food presentable
Considering the price we paid I would expect this hotel to be much better.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twittycombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 km away
The Babbacombe Hotel
The Babbacombe Hotel
#40 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
2.5 km away
The Hotel Balmoral
The Hotel Balmoral
#16 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
1.7 km away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#3 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
0.3 km away
No photo provided
Summerbay Resort Hotel
#87 of 88 in Torquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.1 km away
Headland View
Headland View
#44 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Morningside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morningside Hotel

Property: The Morningside Hotel
Address: Babbacombe Downs Road, Torquay TQ1 3LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Torquay
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
The Morningside Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing