We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Morningside Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$ 92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 255
US$ 152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 112
US$ 101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Imperial Torquay(Torquay)
US$ 128
US$ 93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$ 148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$ 146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 215
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
39
25
2
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
39
25
2
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjon paulbabbacombe downsbeautiful positioncream teathis lovely hotelwithin walking distancenothing is too much troubleconservatorybay
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2010

We have just had our wedding reception at the Moriningside and all of our 50 guests agreed that the food and the service was second to none.
The location is brilliant with excellent views and the owner Jon Paul couldnt do enough for us.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone it is probably one of the nicest hotels in Torquay and the staff were professional and efficient

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dgregg69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2010

Took elderly parents away for a break at the seaside. The staff were most accommodating towards us and our parents limitations. Fantastic breakfast choice and served perfectly, nothing too much trouble. Location is perfect with superb views and very tastfully furnished. Rooms were clean and airy with lovely views across the bay. No evening meals, but a choice of food in the evening in nearby hotels and bars. We especially recommend the Royal. Value for money was excellent, our only gripe was the weather...... :-)

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisForestofDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

My wife and I have just spent a week at the Morningside Hotel and have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. From our sea view room you looked out over lyme bay and as the hotel faces east you get a stunning sunrise. A full english breakfast is available or if you prefer just cereals and toast. The staff were always friendly and helpful. It is situated in the quieter part of Torbay but within easy reach of Torquay, Paignton and Brixham.The Babbacombe Theatre is only 400 yards from the hotel with entertainment on throughout most of the year. Evening meals are not served but within walking distance there are many establishments catering for all tastes after which you can stroll back along the sea front for a drink in the hotel bar. We will certainly book again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank touristNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2010

The room was dirty, the cushions had makeup or something similar on them.The windows were double glazed complete with cobwebs.
The hot water was too hot the cold barely running.
on the good side, the staff were friendly and the food presentable
Considering the price we paid I would expect this hotel to be much better.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twittycombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2010

My wife and I have just returned from the Morningside Hotel in Babbacombe. Although it was out of season, we did expect a little more from this establishment. On arrival the tea tray in the room had the usual biscuits etc; but were never replaced after they had been used.The staff were friendly but when we asked about an evening meal, we were told that it was a bit early in the year and they were not busy enough. We had planned a nice few days away at the Morningside but were extremely disappointed. The room was basic, and let's face it, could have been cleaner, with cobwebs(albeit small) on the ceiling, and dusty skirting boards. There were only 4 plastic coat hangers in the closet. The views from the room were brilliant. You ask for a sea view, you get a sea view! We are a young middle aged couple but found Babbacombe quite depressing as it was full of what we thought were retired elderly people. We will certainly never return to this resort. Anyone with a young family....stay away!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perranporth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews