We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (518)
Filter reviews
518 results
Traveller rating
495
17
4
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
495
17
4
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslarge suiteair confresh milkexcellent accommodationfull englishtop floorsmall fridgeb and bchoice of cerealssea frontbed and breakfastwarm welcomeguest houselong weekendcooked to perfectionvisiting torquayon arrival
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 518 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Beautiful bed & breakfast within walking distance of the beach. Breakfast was superb with lots of choice. Rooms are immaculate & cleaned daily. The owners of the property are friendly and very knowledgeable of the local area. Highly recommend staying at this beautiful bed & breakfast.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Darren I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

We booked the Briarfields as we were visiting the River Ex Café after seeing it on The Secret Restaurants programme. We booked in February for the August Bank Holiday. We booked Torquay thinking it is 12 miles from the Ex – it is, but you need to get to the café from Exmouth which is a 50-minute drive! Planning failed a bit here.

When we arrived, the hotel is a standard sort of looking Seaside Hotel/B&B with a flat front and parking outside. The exterior décor was fresh and we parked (there were 4 of us in two cars) got our bags and went in. The host was lovely if a bit shy, and we were shown to our rooms. I think we had deluxe rooms, we had 7 and our friends had 6 on the top floor both were spacious light, well decorate and delightfully had aircon. I was amazed at the rooms, totally immaculate and everything thought about, we had a small fridge, there was tea and coffee making facilities, TV, great wifi and lovely toiletries in the bathroom with fresh white linen and lovely comfortable beds.

We hadn’t really focussed on the hotel as it was a visit with a purpose but we were extremely impressed (and we’re not easily impressed). Every element of the property was freshly decorated and well maintained.

The breakfast was fabulous with loads of variety and cooked freshly for you.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay again if visited Torquay.

Room Tip: Rooms 6 & 7 were outstanding.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Singapore_Smiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

Its very rare to find such a gem. Spotlessly clean, beautiful rooms and a lovely breakfast.
Really enjoyed our stay and cannot recommend highly enough.
Briarfields is the best bed and breakfast hotel we have ever stayed at, by miles

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nick b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Upon arrival we noticed food certification framed proudly upon the main wall ,
& rightly so as breakfast was generally the only area in which we felt the stay delivered in that a 5 star b&b should.
Encounters with the host of the hotel left us both unerved & awkward as his conversational skills seemed to diminish once in our presence, coming across short, sharp & somewhat uninterested.
Parking for the b&b was frustrating & poorly designed, leaving you panicing & threating most of your day over being blocked in by another residents or if you were indeed blocking someone else in.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank amy2010aimz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBriarfields, Owner at Briarfields, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

We are very sorry that you were unhappy with your stay at Briarfields. As with many Band Bs and indeed hotels, parking can be a bit limited. We therefore take a note of guests car registrations and most guests are happy to leave their keys with us so that we can move their cars for them. There is no need for guests to panic or worry about getting blocked in.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast and as we work very hard to keep guests happy, am disappointed that you only felt you could give us one star.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

We stayed at Briarfields for the third year running. The previous owners had left, and we wondered whether the new owners would be able to keep the exceptionally high standard. We were not disappointed. They are doing a very good job, and we were delighted.

Room Tip: Suite 4 is very large and comfortable.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank sheilariley74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews