We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in Torquay!”
Review of Briarfields

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Briarfields
Ranked #42 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2017

One of the very first things we always look at with any B&B or Hotel is the standard of cleanliness. Briarfields is to say the very least, absolutely spotless!

Situated just a 10 minute walk from the Torquay Seafront and about the same from the Town Centre makes Briarfields a superb base for exploring the area. We stayed in a Junior Suite (room 3) and everything exuded quality! From the thick Irish Cotton towels in the Shower room to the luxurious complimentary toiletries, the mini fridge in the room (complete with a small bottle of Fresh Milk refilled every day!) and a bed that was oh so comfortable!

As for the breakfasts...what can I say? The Full Devon Breakfast is an absolute MUST cooked individually to absolute perfection. Fresh coffee (and REALLY good coffee at that!), choice of cereals or fresh fruit, pastries and obviously toast. Real 'set you up for the day' food!

We guessed that the owners must have had Briarfields for some time...we were surprised to find that they had only taken ownership in July! Chatting with them we were not surprised to learn that they have many years experience in the hospitality industry...obviously just very good at what they do!

Would we return? Without any hesitation!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John_C_1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 505 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Beautiful bed & breakfast within walking distance of the beach. Breakfast was superb with lots of choice. Rooms are immaculate & cleaned daily. The owners of the property are friendly and very knowledgeable of the local area. Highly recommend staying at this beautiful bed & breakfast.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Darren I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

We booked the Briarfields as we were visiting the River Ex Café after seeing it on The Secret Restaurants programme. We booked in February for the August Bank Holiday. We booked Torquay thinking it is 12 miles from the Ex – it is, but you need to get to the café from Exmouth which is a 50-minute drive! Planning failed a bit here.

When we arrived, the hotel is a standard sort of looking Seaside Hotel/B&B with a flat front and parking outside. The exterior décor was fresh and we parked (there were 4 of us in two cars) got our bags and went in. The host was lovely if a bit shy, and we were shown to our rooms. I think we had deluxe rooms, we had 7 and our friends had 6 on the top floor both were spacious light, well decorate and delightfully had aircon. I was amazed at the rooms, totally immaculate and everything thought about, we had a small fridge, there was tea and coffee making facilities, TV, great wifi and lovely toiletries in the bathroom with fresh white linen and lovely comfortable beds.

We hadn’t really focussed on the hotel as it was a visit with a purpose but we were extremely impressed (and we’re not easily impressed). Every element of the property was freshly decorated and well maintained.

The breakfast was fabulous with loads of variety and cooked freshly for you.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay again if visited Torquay.

Room Tip: Rooms 6 & 7 were outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Singapore_Smiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

Its very rare to find such a gem. Spotlessly clean, beautiful rooms and a lovely breakfast.
Really enjoyed our stay and cannot recommend highly enough.
Briarfields is the best bed and breakfast hotel we have ever stayed at, by miles

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nick b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Upon arrival we noticed food certification framed proudly upon the main wall ,
& rightly so as breakfast was generally the only area in which we felt the stay delivered in that a 5 star b&b should.
Encounters with the host of the hotel left us both unerved & awkward as his conversational skills seemed to diminish once in our presence, coming across short, sharp & somewhat uninterested.
Parking for the b&b was frustrating & poorly designed, leaving you panicing & threating most of your day over being blocked in by another residents or if you were indeed blocking someone else in.


Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank amy2010aimz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBriarfields, Owner at Briarfields, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

We are very sorry that you were unhappy with your stay at Briarfields. As with many Band Bs and indeed hotels, parking can be a bit limited. We therefore take a note of guests car registrations and most guests are happy to leave their keys with us so that we can move their cars for them. There is no need for guests to panic or worry about getting blocked in.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast and as we work very hard to keep guests happy, am disappointed that you only felt you could give us one star.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
10.4 km away
The Old Forge at Totnes
0.1 km away
Tyndale B&B
Tyndale B&B
#18 of 149 in Torquay
263 reviews
0.2 km away
Kingston House
Kingston House
#16 of 149 in Torquay
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 149 in Torquay
371 reviews
1.0 km away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
302 reviews
1.5 km away
Avron House
Avron House
#27 of 149 in Torquay
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briarfields? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briarfields

Address: 84-86 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: ₹ 7,195 - ₹ 9,354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Briarfields 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Briarfields reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briarfields Hotel Torquay
Briarfields Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing