We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Walnut Lodge

Walnut Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Walnut Lodge
Ranked #124 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

Waw what a lovly place to stay. Warm and cosy xx

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigmark457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
41
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mornington Peninsula, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

Situated in a quiet location, but within easy walking distance of central Torquay, this was the nicest accommodation we stayed in during our tour of England. Rooms were freshly renovated, service was top notch and breakfasts were freshly cooked to order. There's even an eccentric Englishman living across the road with a life sized gorilla statue in the garden. Check each morning to see what the gorilla is wearing. Wonderful and we highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PeteLozsadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

I stayed here for a weekend in August and have nothing but absolute praise for the place. Rooms were spotless with everything you could need,fridge,tea & coffee,iron, tv,radio alarm,shampoo & shower gel,bath robe.The breakfast was fantastic with a great choice.The location was on a lovely quiet street but only 7/8 min walk to the harbour area. The owners were lovely people who you just couldn't fault. Next time I'm in Torquay I will be 100% staying here again. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taipoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

I have just come back from a week here with my girlfriend and felt obliged to provide a glowing review for this B&B. We gave this place a go after reading the reviews below and it did not dissapoint. Neil and Linda are extremely welcoming and ensured we had a lovely stay. The breakfast was awesome with plenty of choice. The rooms were very clean and well decorated. The harbour and the town centre was about a 10-15 minute walk (half an hour after having a massive breakfast) There was parking available, if the car park was full there is plenty of on street parking.

All in all it was a lovely place to stay and I would recommend to anyone looking to stay in Torquay you will not find much better value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tleslie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

Having read the great comments about The Walnut Lodge, I thought that it would be the best place for my Mother and myself to stay and we certainly weren't disappointed, from the very warm welcome to check out everything was perfect, the breakfast was fantastic and all FRESHLY prepared (not using tinned mushrooms, tasteless black pudding or bland sausages, as some other comments have stated on other sites.. some people will moan about anything) having been in the business for 15+ years I know a good breakfast when I see one and this place certainly serves a good breakfast, finally, the rooms were very clean, well kept and the beds very comfortable and in my opinion Linda and Neil thoroughly deserve their AA gold award .. I would most certainly recommend the Walnut Lodge to anybody who is looking for a nice relaxing break away and wonderful service throughout their stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dannyg1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.8 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,589 reviews
0.1 km away
The Bahamas
The Bahamas
#105 of 153 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.3 km away
Brooklands
Brooklands
#100 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#7 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
0.2 km away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#34 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.7 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walnut Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walnut Lodge

Property: Walnut Lodge
Address: 48 Bampfylde Road, Torquay TQ2 5AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,085 - ₹ 2,641
Hotel Class:4 star — Walnut Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Walnut Lodge Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing