We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Abbey Lawn Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$ 111
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 109
US$ 101
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 154
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 169
US$ 97
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 128
US$ 106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 100
US$ 91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 112
US$ 91
Travelocity
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Cimon(Torquay)
US$ 97
US$ 94
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 95
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (209)
Filter reviews
209 results
Traveller rating
75
74
28
15
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
75
74
28
15
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoach holidaycoach driverour waitertennis courtsrobinsons holidayssea viewmeal timesevening entertainmentmet some lovely peoplepiping hotfloor boardsother guestswell run hotelplenty of choiceenjoyable holidaysea frontcleaned every day
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
167 - 172 of 209 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2012

This was our third booking at the Abbey Lawn hotel with Robinsons coach tours. It has been over two years since we last stayed there, but standards at the hotel are even better than on our last visit. The staff are excellent and nothing seems too much trouble. We paid, this time, for a room upgrade and a sea view. The room was newly furnished with a basket of fresh fruit and bottled water replaced when necessary. We dont often return to hotels and the same destination, but we feel we will be returning again to the Abbey Lawn.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
28  Thank homerblackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We visited thAbbey Lawn again between the 13th and 17th February 2012. This is the 2nd time we have been at this time over the valantine day period. All the ladies were given roses, and we all were given a glass of bubbly at the evening meal. The Staff are fantastic, nothing is ever a problem, and they are all very experienced. Due to the fact all the staff were the same as last year, you can see that the management, run a happy hotel.

The hotel is very clean, our room was very comfortable, clean is decorated to an excellent standard. We were in the premier room on the 2nd floor room 213, I really recommend this room, as you can see the bay, and overlook the outside pool. This would be more of a benefit, in the summer when the pool is open.

The food was excellent, loads of choice, and where someone said there is lots of or,s if you wanted a fruit juice, and a cereal, as well as your full english, and toast, this was not a problem. If you wanted more Toast, or beverages, the waiters were happy to help.

The bar and the entertainment were fantastic, the drinks are very reasonable, they are as cheap as local bars. The only way the drinks would be regarded as expensive, was if you compaired them to a working mens club.

The gym is very well socked with equipment, and is generally very quiet, so is the indoor pool, sauna and steam room, Which I visited on a daily basis, The hotel provide the towels from Reception.

We visited the Abbey lawn on a Robinsons coach Holiday the Driver Allan, was fantastic and a credit to the company. He is very pleasant, and always kept us entertained, and his knowledge of the area is 2nd to none.

Overall the holiday was such value for money, you almost felt embarressed at to how little you paid, for the excellent services you received.

A big thank you to Barry and Heidi, Randall and Kate, and not forgetting Scott the barmen.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: 2nd floor front facing premier rooms
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank probes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We had a lovely mid week break with my husband and his 80 yr old parents,the rooms were very spacious, we had a sea veiw which also looked onto the tennis courts and outdoor pool.The dinning room is set out perfectly with a lot of home comforts,there is a lovely cosy bar, a huge entertainment room seperate from the bar.

Room Tip: We had a sea veiw on a high floor which was beatiful,they do have a lift which gets busy at times.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank 864Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Abbey Lawns is an older hotel in Torquay. We went there for a weekend on a coach trip with Hemmings coaches. The coach and driver were excellent.
We paid a small supplement on the cost to get a sea view room. Ours was on the second floor and had a very good sea view across the tennis courts etc. The room itself was large and comfortable, it had high ceilings and had no exetrnal noises intruding, due, I think, to the quite thick walls. The en suite bathroom was adequate and the shower over the bath was pretty powerful and had plenty of hot water. The only things wrong with the room were that the windows were painted shut and the floor boards were squeaky.
We had bed and breakfast and evening meal as part of our weekend. The meal times were very regimented with breakfast at 08.30 and dinner at 18.30., due, I suppose, to the 51 of us on the coach. The meals were served, in our case, by a cheerful waiter. On the breakfast menu there were a lot of 'ors'. Fruit juice or cerial or kippers or etc. The choice was then served plated. At breakfast we had to order our dinner for the evening. For dinner the meat was served plated and a selection of vegetables was supplied on the side.
We did find the bar prices slightly elevated.
In the evening entertainment was provided and on both evenings we found the acts very entertaining. The act on the second night has been chosen as a contestant on Britains Got Talent this year (2012). He was heading for the Birmingham auditions after the show.
Over all, we found the whole weekend was very good value for money, a comfortable hotel with very good facilities, ie an indoor and outdoor swimming pool, a small gymnasium, a steam room and a sauna. We would have no hesitation in reccommending both Hemmings coaches and Abbey Lawn hotel.

Room Tip: pay a little extra to get a sea view room especially on the second floor
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank emmydeeinhq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

lovely lounge and ballroom found both mangers very polite and lovely guidedog holly the spaniel lovely clean bedroom bonus with a sea view good varid meals defintly go back

Room Tip: sea view on 3rd floor
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank TIMELORDLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews