We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lucky find.”
Review of Burleigh House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Burleigh House
Ranked #25 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A lucky find.”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Very clean, very helpful owners and excellent value. Difficult to fault to be honest.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rooinek63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    20
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
91
18
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Just stayed for one night, but well and truly looked after! Martin helped us in with our luggage and gave us a drink up in our room once settled. Also, he showed us the best route to the function we were attending that night.....nothing was too much trouble!!
Room was excellent, nice shower and bathroom.
Breakfast was lovely......choice of cereals, fruit, yoghurt, a wonderful fry-up and toast with tea of coffee.
Please, if you go to Torquay, stay here....you won't be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

I was down in Torquay on a business trip, and had planned to do the normal Travelodge experience (i.e. you know what you're getting - not much!). I'm thoroughly glad I took the time to check out the opposition though.

The owners were really friendly and didn't mind the obscenely late hour I turned up. The room was immaculate, with a good shower, an excellent TV and an extremely comfy bed. The breakfast was superb (full English - nice!) and the overall approach was irreproachable.

It's too easy when travelling on business to plump for the obvious option of the chain. Take a moment to pause though; for the same price (or cheaper) you can get friendliness, better facilities and a cracking breakfast.

Bit of a no-brainer really!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonAbcdefg1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

The owners were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean and comfortable with everything you need. We came as a group of friends and were out for new years eve so were unable to get to breakfast in time but as we were going to leave they offered us some cereals and toast and insisted we stayed. We would definately recommend this B n B and we will be back! Thankyou :)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lu12326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

well where do we start, a 4 star rated b and b for the price of a crappy travel lodge (40 yards across the road) I know ! its run by a very clever man and wife team, he an IT professional, she a retired proffessional ward sister (RN), 4 stars does not cover the quality of the hotel.

free wifi that works !, major breakfast, free parking, warm welcome, a bed to die for, god knows what tog the duvet was but it worked! plenty of free coffee / tea , some hotels are a bit stingey with this but there are not ! and occasionally, by arrangment, a evaning meal,
obviously a genuine 4 star hotel not a b and b, nice one thanks for your help and assitance in helping a traveller to get there and earn a small crust ! highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Medicworldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 km away
Silverlands Guest House
Silverlands Guest House
#30 of 149 in Torquay
179 reviews
0.0 km away
Stover Lodge Hotel
Stover Lodge Hotel
#41 of 149 in Torquay
191 reviews
0.2 km away
Garway Lodge
Garway Lodge
#29 of 149 in Torquay
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Harmony Guest House
Harmony Guest House
#23 of 149 in Torquay
186 reviews
0.8 km away
The Wellsway
The Wellsway
#43 of 149 in Torquay
220 reviews
0.9 km away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burleigh House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burleigh House

Property: Burleigh House
Address: 25 Newton Road, Torquay TQ2 5DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,188 - ₹ 5,584
Hotel Class:4 star — Burleigh House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burleigh House is a family-owned and run guest house, open all year round. We offer a warm welcome and comfortable, affordable accommodation whatever the purpose of your visit to the English Riveria. Burleigh House is just a short walk to the town centre, harbour, beaches, Conference Centre and Torbay Hospital. We're also on the route for local buses to Paignton, Brixham, Newton Abbot and Exeter. These buses run every 10 minutes from just a few yards from our front door. Torre railway station is close-by with local trains to Paignton, Newton Abbot, Teignmouth, Dawlish and beyond. There are eight guest rooms (one en-suite twin, five en-suite doubles and two singles). The two single guest rooms share a bathroom and separate toilet on the same floor. All our guest rooms have wide-screen, digital freeview television, radio/alarm, tea/coffee-making facilities and hairdryer. Wireless internet is available and we make no additional charge for internet access. We have private off-street parking at the rear of the house, wireless internet is accessible free of charge. We use local produce for our full English breakfast which is served in our pleasant, sunny dining room. For the best prices please do contact us direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Burleigh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burleigh House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing