We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely cafe lovely staff so many wining pompous customers.”

Marks and Spencer Plymouth Third Floor Cafe
Ranked #77 of 169 Quick Bites in Plymouth
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Reviewed 5 September 2021

This is a very popular cafe. At peak times you can queue for half an hour to get served and in some cases you can have a 20 minute wait on food.

The food is simple but good. Is it worth waiting so long for. No but people need to remember you can quiet clearly see how long the queue when you choose to join it, and it doesn’t help that all these Karen’s like to join the queue and then spend 15 minutes complaining about it when they finally get there, further slowing the queue down for everyone else, when they chose to stay. Plymouth is a major city with plenty of cafes and coffee shops they don’t get anywhere near as busy as this place. So if you don’t like the look of a queue go somewhere else.

I honestly feel so sorry for the staff here and they genuinely do their best. They’re working in an underpaid job, during a pandemic on little trained staff. Many of the familiar faces that have been in the cafe for years have left in the last 6 months and I do not blame them, but it means the handful of original staff are trying to train an army of newbies, who don’t have the heart for the job.

So yea 5* original staff are lovely, newbies aren’t as good or as nice as some of the girls and guys that have left but hopefully they will get there and the manager seems lovely too. Food is good quality and tasty. Toasties are a highlight and even nice to share with a friend.

Staff are polite and deal with constant complaints very well and are super polite. How some of them keep their cool I will never know. But in all honesty a great cafe. Way too popular for what it is. But good.

Date of visit: September 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank VictoriaBrown1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2021

Sandwich and tea took 20 minutes to get to pay. Only one person serving. Lots of other staff milling around but nobody to assist with serving. Very disappointing.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Lymo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 June 2021

We called in twice for lunch last week my son had on both occasions cheese and ham toastie he said they are brilliant, I had tuna and spring onion which was amazing my husband had chicken and bacon on the 2nd visit my husband had tuna and spring onion which he really enjoyed I had cheese and mushrooms which was very nice would recommend them to anyone. Well done

Date of visit: June 2021
1  Thank Rosemary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 October 2020 via mobile

Really pleased with son's Birthday Cake was a decent suze, good value and tasted delicious. Would highly recommend.

Date of visit: September 2020
7  Thank Marcia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 August 2020

If you want to have coffee or a meal in this Cafe do not expect them to be following the Department of Healths Track and Trace System. No monitoring of customers with names and contact details; dirty tables and no diligent cleaning of tables when customers vacate them. There are clear Government Guidelines which M&S are not following in the Plymouth Store. I suggest you get your coffee/meal elsewhere! We visited for morning coffee and it was not at all busy. First and last time!

Date of visit: August 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sueS3213YH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Marks and Spencer Plymouth Third Floor Cafe also viewed

 
Tamerton Foliot, Plymouth
 

Been to Marks and Spencer Plymouth Third Floor Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.