We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most wonderful welcome and stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Plymouth Backpackers Hotel
Reviewed 27 July 2017

Our family had the most amazing stay at Plymouth Backpackers Hostel. Karen went above and beyond to make us feel so incredibly welcome and taken care of. What an incredible woman! There was also a really interesting crew of regulars staying there who also helped to make our stay interesting and fun. A real highlight of our trip!

Room Tip: The top floor was nice and quiet in an area that I imagine can get quite rowdy.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2016

The room had all we needed although moving the beds revealed a lack of detail in the cleaning as the floor beneath them was covered in crap. Location was ideal with everything we needed within walking distance. Apparantly a notouriously rough area but we encountered no problems. Friendly staff and people.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2016

If I could, I would give this hostel a 0. Not a 2.

THERE IS A CURFEW ON THE DORMS. It looks as though they changed this after I raised the issue of it not being stated anywhere on the page. In fact, I was under the impression that there wasn’t one at all, so when I arrived, I was told that I must be in by 1:00am (now states 2:00am but don’t be surprised if it’s a lie). I would not have bothered booking if I had known.

Upon arrival, I was asked to wait outside, as the person who runs the place apparently doesn’t accept ‘extra guests’ of people with rooms, even though I had booked a room. Management should not make such degenerate assumptions and ask their CUSTOMERS to wait outside in the cold before they get a chance to explain that they HAVE booked a room. If that wasn’t bad enough, she tried to crack a joke about how I owed £50, but I don’t think she has ever smiled in her life, so it was an incredibly awkward experience. Absolute misery.

If you’re a female, don’t bother booking. From the vibe that I got, she’s more than happy for the guys to be around, but doesn’t take to young women. She also imposes on the common area, or sits opposite it so that you’re constantly being watched, making the environment very uncomfortable. We couldn’t even enter it because it felt so toxic. She should NOT be working there.

I went into my friend’s hostel room in order to collect the belongings that I had left while we were getting ready to go out. The woman in charge thundered up the stairs to bang viciously on the door. Then came the shouting about how I would wake everyone up. Yes, shouting. About how I was waking people up. The quiet girl collecting her pyjamas. Sure. She also yelled at me about the curfew, which was NOT MENTIONED before my arrival. What an absolute joke.

Besides feeling as though every second of this period was being watched by a sociopathic mother, the place was a state. The dingy showers were black with mould, the rooms smelt like faeces, and after walking on the carpet for five minutes, my white socks were blackened. We were so repulsed that we didn’t even bother to go down for breakfast.

Oh, and bring blankets. It’s about as warm as an ice rink in there. Actually, just don’t book. As much as I hate to admit, Travelodge or Premier Inn is worth the extra pennies.

I have been to an abundance of hostels, and never have I had such a disgusting experience. The member of staff that we encountered was rude in every manner. Unfortunately, we did not get to meet anyone else; I’m sure anyone would have been nicer than her. This is not a place that I would ever recommend to another human being in my life.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nsh95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Owner at Plymouth Backpackers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2017

I am very sorry that you felt this way. Please let me know if there is anything I can do personally although I feel that there may have been a personality clash between yourself and Karen. I will certainly look into all the areas of concern that you have mentioned and although we are a backpackers/budget hotel we do try to keep our standards as high as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Stayed here for a couple of days using Plymouth as a base to explore the area. Hostelbookers screwed up my booking but the staff accommodated me. Clean and friendly. Good budget accommodation. The location was within walking distance of the centre too.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2016 via mobile

The worst place ever to stay.The owner,Karen is so unfriendly soon after she receives your money.No smile,just sits in her chair with her smelly dog that I dint think has had a bath in years.Don't know about Karen's cleanliness.I don't and will Never ever stay there again even if I was stranded.I even stayed out one night,having already paid for my stay.Never ever again.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
2  Thank Velayadum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee W, Owner at Plymouth Backpackers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2017

I am very sorry you felt this way. I know Karen was going through a difficult time during your period of stay due to her dog, that she had had since he was a puppy, was unwell. Karen tells me that you understood that there was a curfew and it sounds like you were unable to make it back in time which is perhaps the reason you stayed out all night. Please understand that we put a curfew in place for the benefit of the other hotel guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
1.4 km away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,457 reviews
0.7 km away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
778 reviews
0.9 km away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#16 of 21 in Plymouth
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Ibis Plymouth
Ibis Plymouth
#19 of 21 in Plymouth
586 reviews
5.3 km away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#6 of 21 in Plymouth
2,012 reviews
0.9 km away
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
#12 of 21 in Plymouth
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plymouth Backpackers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plymouth Backpackers Hotel

Address: 102 Union Street, Plymouth PL1 3HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Plymouth
Price Range: ₹ 1,665 - ₹ 3,154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly Backpackers/Hostel only five minutes from Plymouth City Center, ferry port to Spain and France, coach station and train station. We accommodate large bookings on a regular basis of in excess of fifty people. Warm, friendly environment with free super fast 300mb fibre broadband, kitchen facilities with dining and lounge communal area. We have private as well as shared rooms available, with full central heating and double glazing throughout. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Plymouth Backpackers Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing