We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Jurys Inn Plymouth(Plymouth)(Great Value!)
US$ 72
US$ 67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 79/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 98
US$ 96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Alma Lodge Guest House(Plymouth)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$ 85
US$ 83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$ 138
US$ 127
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 86
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 102
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 63
Travelodge
View Deal
    Savings alert! 15% below average rates

    The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 74/night.

    We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

    Reviews (39)
    Filter reviews
    39 results
    Traveller rating
    9
    9
    3
    6
    12
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    9
    9
    3
    6
    12
    See what travellers are saying:
    Filter
    Updating list...
    7 - 12 of 39 reviews
    Reviewed 20 September 2016

    Stayed here for a couple of days using Plymouth as a base to explore the area. Hostelbookers screwed up my booking but the staff accommodated me. Clean and friendly. Good budget accommodation. The location was within walking distance of the centre too.

    • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Matt P
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 5 June 2016 via mobile

    The worst place ever to stay.The owner,Karen is so unfriendly soon after she receives your money.No smile,just sits in her chair with her smelly dog that I dint think has had a bath in years.Don't know about Karen's cleanliness.I don't and will Never ever stay there again even if I was stranded.I even stayed out one night,having already paid for my stay.Never ever again.

    Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    3  Thank Velayadum
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Lee W, Owner at Plymouth Backpackers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2017

    I am very sorry you felt this way. I know Karen was going through a difficult time during your period of stay due to her dog, that she had had since he was a puppy, was unwell. Karen tells me that you understood that there was a curfew and it sounds like you were unable to make it back in time which is perhaps the reason you stayed out all night. Please understand that we put a curfew in place for the benefit of the other hotel guests.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 21 March 2016

    Dirty & badly maintained. I can't believe this place is allowed to trade. It hasn't been cleaned, there are holes in the very worn carpets, there are even holes in the walls. Disgusting. It's really a doss house, there's no way this could be described as a backpackers / travellers hostel.
    There's a Globe hostel in Exeter, maybe in other places too. If this one is anything to go by I'd avoid like the plague.

    • Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    2  Thank John J
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Lee W, Owner at Plymouth Backpackers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2017

    This review was for a different hostel near us that shut its doors 24/03/16. It was called Globe Backpackers but had decided to call themselves Plymouth Backpackers Hotel on Trip Advisor! They were based on Citadel Road and we are based on Union Street. I informed Trip Advisor about this but for some reason seemed unable or unwilling to remove or correct this error.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 22 September 2015

    Quite a bad experience. The place was quite dirty, and the matress was not confortable at all. I had to be brave to go and get a shower in one of the working bathroom. But well, it is really cheap, so I guess you get what you pay for!

    • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    1  Thank TPshow
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Lee W, Owner at Plymouth Backpackers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2017

    This review was for a different hostel near us that shut its doors 24/03/16. It was called Globe Backpackers but had decided to call themselves Plymouth Backpackers Hotel on Trip Advisor! They were based on Citadel Road and we are based on Union Street. I informed Trip Advisor about this but for some reason seemed unable or unwilling to remove or correct this error.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 18 July 2015

    The staff were friendly and the room had all that we needed for a nights stay but the place is v tired and in need of some renovation. For the price it's a fair deal and the location is great with easy access to the city centre and the sea front and Naval Memorial and cracking sea views.

    • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Mo_Khan_31
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Lee W, Owner at Plymouth Backpackers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2017

    This review was for a different hostel near us that shut its doors 24/03/16. It was called Globe Backpackers but had decided to call themselves Plymouth Backpackers Hotel on Trip Advisor! They were based on Citadel Road and we are based on Union Street. I informed Trip Advisor about this but for some reason seemed unable or unwilling to remove or correct this error.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews