We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newly renovated and so comfortable”

The Theatre Royal Plymouth Restaurant
Ranked #163 of 776 Restaurants in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Restaurant is open from 2 hours and 30 minutes before matinees (except on Sundays) and 2 hours before evening performances, until the start of the show. Spacious and contemporary, the Restaurant has a showcase kitchen where you can watch your meal being prepared. The daily menu is created with local, seasonal and freshly prepared ingredients. Book a table in the Restaurant and it’s yours for the evening – you can now return to your table at the interval and enjoy pre-ordered dessert or interval drinks.
Reviewed 26 March 2016

It's about 4 years since we visited here but just had to book to see Billy Elliott (excellent). It is so changed. Relaxed, inviting, friendly and such wonderful staff. Their clothes/uniform is striking with the embellishment of touches of red. Very good design, who ever chose that scheme. It was an excellent experience; one which we shall repeat SOON! I like the name "The Lyric". Theatre Royal is now the overall title, with the Lyric and Drum theatres still separate.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Girljade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheatreRoyalPlymouth, Manager at The Theatre Royal Plymouth Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2016

Thank you very much for your excellent feedback.

We're thrilled you had an enjoyable experience with us, and we hope to have you back again soon. We have a variety of amazing shows coming up so check out What's On!

All the best,
TRP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 74 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2016

Ate here before seeing the brilliant Billy Elliot. The service was fast, professional and friendly and the food was of a high standard. It was nice to be able to eat dessert in the interval. A very pleasant evening.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Maire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheatreRoyalPlymouth, Manager at The Theatre Royal Plymouth Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2016

Hi, thank you for your comments regarding your experience in Restaurant@TRP. Our aim is to make your trip to the Theatre ‘special’ and are pleased to note that your visit to the restaurant added to this. Many diners do particularly enjoy that we ‘keep’ your table for you to return to for pre-ordered desserts or interval drinks.

Cafe TRP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2016

Lovely food a little prices but amazing clean tidy fresh it's lovely to go there before a show its friendly clean tidy nice lovely food I eat there again and again

Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheatreRoyalPlymouth, Manager at The Theatre Royal Plymouth Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2016

Hi, thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We are really pleased that you have chosen to dine at Restaurant@TRP and look forward to seeing you soon.

Restaurant@TRP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2016

My husband and I were going to see his sister in a play at the Drum theatre so as we were new to Plymouth decided to eat at the theatre itself. We could not fault the food as it was extremely good as was our server, Adam. There was only one other table in use whilst we were there so it didn't really have any atmosphere. Adam told us that it was because the main theatre was not in use but usually it was very busy. I would recommend this restaurant very highly and hope that if we go again there would be more diners. It was also very reasonable.

1  Thank patsims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheatreRoyalPlymouth, Manager at The Theatre Royal Plymouth Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2016

Thank you for your comments on your experience in our restaurant. It is very rare for there to be so few people in the restaurant and as you mentioned it was due to there not being a show on in the Lyric at that time. I hope that we can look forward to seeing you again soon

Restaurant@TRP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2016

Went to have a meal before seeing a show, was expecting the usual run-of-the-mill offerings but what we received was absolutely fantastic! Superb friendly service and well priced, looking forward to popping in again.

1  Thank Kit T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Theatre Royal Plymouth Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Theatre Royal Plymouth Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing