We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Day visit to Plymouth”

Monty's Cafe and Coffee Shop
Ranked #30 of 799 Restaurants in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 21 November 2017 via mobile

While looking around The Barbican, fancied a bite to eat. Found this little gem of a cafe. As We had our four legged friend with us, asked within was told no problem to bring in. Service was fab friendly staff and even spoilt our dog with water and treats. Lovely touch. Food was outstanding the fish and chips was to die for as was the bacon cheese burger. Credit to this establishment.

Thank MARK m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula D, Owner at Monty's Cafe and Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Hello Mark, it's great to see you enjoyed your visit with us. Our team love to make a fuss of the poochies that come in, they certainly do brighten our day :) Also happy to see that you enjoyed your food, both those particular menus choices are very popular! We hope to see you and your lovely pooch again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (489)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 92 of 489 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2017

We had a lovely breakfast here last weekend , food was all cooked fresh, none of that mass produced stuff here, fresh coffee made to order , lovely
Full English with extra sauted potato's, a side of pancakes and bacon , the other half had the bagels with bacon cheese and a poached egg on top , they were fab too,
Not the cheapest , but you get what you pay for ,
~Word of note , you have to order food at the bar , it took me a while to figure that bit out .....DUH !

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FERGVSFOOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula D, Owner at Monty's Cafe and Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Thank you so much for your review!!
Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017 via mobile

We come to this cafe all the time and its amazing- the service is really good, the staff are lovely and the food is great. Thoroughly recommend!

Thank Bronwen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula D, Owner at Monty's Cafe and Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Wow!!!! What can I say but thank you so much x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

My husband and i come here at least twice a month and are never disappointed. The service is always great, the staff are always very friendly and accommodating and the food is always very tasty and reasonably priced!
My only tiny niggle is the soft drinks are incredibly expensive, a lot more than in other restaurants and for less drink too. But certainly wouldn't not go here because of it.
Also really nice vegetarian selection!

Thank Louisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula D, Owner at Monty's Cafe and Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

We appreciate your feedback, and are glad to hear you enjoy your visits each time. We look forward to seeing you again sometime soon, maybe within in the next couple weeks :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

Don't be fooled from the outside its much nicer and spacious on the inside with tables and lounger sofas. With such a big menu it took me a while to decide. We went for beer battered fish & chips, a breakfast & 2 'death by chocolate' hot chocs. Good tasty cafe food, at a good price.

Thank re_Bassetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula D, Owner at Monty's Cafe and Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Well what can we say, we're full of pleasent surprises! Very pleased to hear you enjoyed what we have on offer. Hope to see you back soon. Thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monty's Cafe and Coffee Shop also viewed

 

Been to Monty's Cafe and Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing