We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good rainy day activity with kids”

National Marine Aquarium
Ranked #25 of 191 things to do in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We have previously been members at the aquarium for many years when my son was younger as it was a fantastic rainy day trip for little people to run round in. For the past 2 years we decided not to renew our membership as it was very expensive for what it was and also the soft play had been removed, however I believe there is now a soft play again.

We thought we would go back and see what’s changed since we last visited, however other than some fancy new graphics and displays nothing really has changed which was disappointing. We paid for entry and got a year of visits for free which is good as we can come back (however not at school holiday as too busy).

The staff are very friendly we didn’t get a drink/food in the cafe as too busy so cannot comment on this, we used to bring a picnic with us.

I still think it is pretty rubbish that you have to pay and display for parking in a grotty multi-storey and don’t get any discount on this as it does make the day very expensive for what is there and time spent which is why we stopped coming - I think this puts many locals off visiting.

Thank Sara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria C, Public Relations Manager at National Marine Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you for your review and feedback. Unfortunately we don't own the multi-storey car park, but we will feed your comments back to the general manager.

As a charity, we are continually working to improve and develop our displays. We hope you'll give us another try, particularly as we have indeed opened a new soft play area for the kids to enjoy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"sea life"
in 103 reviews
"rainy day"
in 130 reviews
"shark tank"
in 59 reviews
"large tanks"
in 58 reviews
"dartmoor zoo"
in 23 reviews
"annual pass"
in 22 reviews
"different species"
in 22 reviews
"main tank"
in 22 reviews
"soft play area"
in 36 reviews
"gift shop"
in 65 reviews
"few hours"
in 82 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 72 reviews
"half term"
in 26 reviews
"all ages"
in 83 reviews
"marine aquarium"
in 20 reviews
"free entry"
in 28 reviews
"family ticket"
in 21 reviews
Filter

133 - 137 of 2,121 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

This place is amazing. It's huge with plenty of marine life on show. I would recommend it for all ages.

Thank giftedd1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria C, Public Relations Manager at National Marine Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you very much for this review and recommendation! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Decided to visit the Aquarium with friends. We were offered the years pass on entry which seemed excellent value. Lots of information regarding fishing, marine life as well as a huge tank with lots of different fish species. There was lots to see and do.

Thank middlecr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria C, Public Relations Manager at National Marine Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you value the year pass, and we hope you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

national marine aquarium was fascinating for our 5 year old grandson. Well laid out. Good activities. Amazing floor to ceiling tank.

Thank Wend111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria C, Public Relations Manager at National Marine Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you very much for your review. We hope you visit again soon, and you may be interested in our brand new soft play area, which your grandson might enjoy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2018

It’s a journey from a stream on Dartmoor, through a river to the huge tank, all teeming with fish of all kinds (including sharks when I called!). It’s unforgettable!
Well worth a visit.

Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria C, Public Relations Manager at National Marine Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you very much for your review! We're glad you enjoyed our fish and sharks, and we hope you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Marine Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to National Marine Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing