We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (410)
Filter reviews
411 results
Traveller rating
150
150
68
27
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
150
150
68
27
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the penthouse holiday inn the marco pierre white restaurant top floor executive room overflow car park larger car chocolate bar super king bed tiny bathroom sauna and steam room good size an upgrade city centre large room fantastic location biscuits
Filter
Updating list...
155 - 160 of 411 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

We stayed two nights over Easter at the Crown Plaza. The hotel is very well located on the edge of the Hoe in easy walking distance to the city centre and the Barbican area.

We had a large room on the 10th floor which had views across the Barbican to Dartmoor. The hotel is recently renovated and the room was very good with a very comfortable king size bed, lots of charging facilities, complimentary water and tea and coffee and Sky television. The bathroom was a little small and the shower (over the bath) not the best we have experienced.

Breakfast is in the Marco Pierre White restaurant on the 11th floor and has excellent panoramic views over the sea and city. Breakfast choice was standard hotel buffet but fine (and the Greek yogurt was wonderful)

The bar which is on the ground floor lacked much atmosphere (but was very busy) and seemed badly designed.

There is parking at 7.50 a day which seems good value and it is easy to park outside to unload.

There is a good fitness centre, a pool (not really designed for swimming in but good for children) and a good sauna and steam room. All are free for guests.

The staff were all very friendly and efficient

Good value for money in our view

Room Tip: Highest floors for best views
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
operations763, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Plymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Andrew R,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay with us at the Crowne Plaza Plymouth, a recent addition to the Crowne Plaza family and winner of Best Accommodation at the Plymouth City & Waterfront Awards 2017 which was held in October.

It is important that our guests provide feedback on their time with us, highlighting areas in which we excel and those which require attention, allowing us to review and refine our services to ultimately exceed expectations at all times.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to our wonderful city.

Kind Regards,

Kevin Byrnes
General Manager
kevin.byrnes@valoreurope.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Nice Hotel.
Location - good although didn't walk around the hotel much, so not exactly sure how central it was.
Marco Pierre whites restaurant was on top floor, so nice views of Plymouth.
Room - was fantastic, very spacious, heaps of room.
Bed - was very comfortable.
Good air conditioning.
Bathroom - needs a major revamp though, although the room was already done up.
Breakfast was included, was okay, but plates, glasses were dirty. In hospitality, glasses, plates and crockery should not be marked or dirty.
Service - great.
Wifi - great.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VKNY44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
operations763, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Plymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear VKNY44,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay with us at the Crowne Plaza Plymouth, a recent addition to the Crowne Plaza family and winner of Best Accommodation at the Plymouth City & Waterfront Awards 2017 which was held in October.

It is important that our guests provide feedback on their time with us, highlighting areas in which we excel and those which require attention, allowing us to review and refine our services to ultimately exceed expectations at all times.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to our wonderful city.

Kind Regards,

Kevin Byrnes
General Manager
kevin.byrnes@valoreurope.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Stayed in this recently-renovated hotel (formerly the Holiday Inn) for business last month. Most things were fine - it was a vast improvement on my previous stay when it was the Holiday Inn.

My room was very spacious, and relatively tasteful for rooms at that price-point, although the bathroom wasn't huge. Good bathroom linens, and good bedding (I especially liked the nice touch of the It Works pillow spray.)

Very handily-situated for many local amenities. The buffet breakfast was of a reasonably good quality, and (if the weather is good) there is an excellent view from the room where breakfast is served.

The main negative issue with the room I was allocated is that the one window in my room (on, I think, the 3rd floor) literally had a big board a couple of feet in front of it, meaning that I could see nothing of the outside world. (See photo.)

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank M_Stoneway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
operations763, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Plymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear M_Stoneway,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay with us at the Crowne Plaza Plymouth, a recent addition to the Crowne Plaza family and winner of Best Accommodation at the Plymouth City & Waterfront Awards 2017 which was held in October.

It is important that our guests provide feedback on their time with us, highlighting areas in which we excel and those which require attention, allowing us to review and refine our services to ultimately exceed expectations at all times.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to our wonderful city.

Kind Regards,

Kevin Byrnes
General Manager
kevin.byrnes@valoreurope.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

We stayed on a Saturday night the week before Easter, we were allocated a room on the 8th floor which had views towards the Barbican and city centre, the room was newly renovated but appeared to be lacking something, a chest of drawers certainly. Although the furniture and fittings in the bedroom were new, the bathroom has had less of a modernisation, and was tiny, whilst the shower, enclosure etc had been changed the rest of the room looked old, the hideous gold handles on the door still present from 40 years ago, and the bathroom itself was tiny, I am a size 8 and struggled to get out of the bath without standing on the toilet seat, not sure how most people would manage. I certainly wouldn't have done 3 years ago when I was a lot bigger. Breakfast was ok, far better than on a previous experience when this IHG branded hotel was a Holiday Inn. The jury is out as to whether I would stay again to be honest, which is shame as I have a wedding to attend in October.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a decent sized bathroom.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Samiloupepperell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
operations763, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Plymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Samiloupepperell,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay with us at the Crowne Plaza Plymouth, a recent addition to the Crowne Plaza family and winner of Best Accommodation at the Plymouth City & Waterfront Awards 2017 which was held in October.

It is important that our guests provide feedback on their time with us, highlighting areas in which we excel and those which require attention, allowing us to review and refine our services to ultimately exceed expectations at all times.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to our wonderful city.

Kind Regards,

Kevin Byrnes
General Manager
kevin.byrnes@valoreurope.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Excellent hotel ideally situated in the heart of Plymouth with good access to The Hoe (with it's statute of Sir Frances Drake), The Barbican (with the famous Harbour steps from where the Pilgrim Fathers set out to discover America) and the town centre( with a multitude of shopping opportunities in the Drakes Circus shopping precinct) all within 5 minutes easy walking distance !!

Stayed: April 2018
Thank medwayref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
operations763, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Plymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear medwayref,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay with us at the Crowne Plaza Plymouth, a recent addition to the Crowne Plaza family and winner of Best Accommodation at the Plymouth City & Waterfront Awards 2017 which was held in October.

It is important that our guests provide feedback on their time with us, highlighting areas in which we excel and those which require attention, allowing us to review and refine our services to ultimately exceed expectations at all times.

I am delighted to read you found your time with us to be so pleasant with many highlights.

Once again, thank you for your kind words and I look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to our wonderful city.

Kind Regards,
Kevin Byrnes
General Manager
kevin.byrnes@valoreurope.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews