We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Comfortable but not 4 star” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copthorne Hotel Plymouth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Comfortable but not 4 star”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Stayed at Copthorne Plymouth for 2 nights in April 2012. Stayed on 3rd floor over looking Sainsbury's carpark. Windows were closed so air conditioning fan could not be heard. Bedroom needed refurbishing. Box TV too far away from bed. Ceiling had a long uneven repair which stared at you while lying on the bed. Wall paper was marked and dusty. Carpets were stained in the bedroom and the dinning room. Restaurant food was average & not 4 star standard. Breakfast is a buffet. I arrived at 10am on sun. Not a lot to choose from as they finish at 10.30am. I felt sorry for the guests arriving after me as I took the only rasher of bacon.Secure car park is small £6.00 per day. Big sign states token need to exit car park which is misleading. Found this out after a wasted trip to reception. Location of hotel is good as its close to town centre. You have heard all the negative points. Now for the positive. The bed & pillows are comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Basil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

826 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    249
    272
    128
    55
See reviews for
109
268
55
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Just spent a night on a business trip. I'd stay again if I was travelling through - as it is close to the railway station which is handy. I wouldn't stay for a holiday though.

Good points:
- 5min walk from train station (but you don't hear the trains from the hotel)
- comfortable bed, nice pillows and duvet
- efficient friendly check in and out service at front desk
- they do 24 hour room service, so if you get in late, you can still get some food.

Bad points:
- got in around 10pm and the heating wasn't on and wouldn't go on, so it was a bit chilly. Heater then clicked on around 6am making a really annoying clonking noise as the radiator warmed up, this woke me up even with ear plugs in
- my company had booked the room only (relatively normal I would think) and I went down for breakfast and it seemed to be a massive hassle to be able to pay separately for breakfast! I waited for several minutes before a wait staff came to seat me, and then when I wasn't on the breakfast-included list she looked frazzeled (even though there were max 10 people in the dining room) and walked off to find someone else mumbling something at me, the next person then faffed around for a while before I was finally allowed breakfast. All very odd, and not what I would expect from a hotel.
- the shower was on the luke warm side, and even when I turned it to maximum heat this made no difference - perhaps I just didn't give it time.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwi_abroad186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lssm
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Stayed at The Copthorne Hotel, Plymouth Saturday 21st April with my wife for 1 night and thought the hotel is an ideal place to stay to see all Plymouth has to offer. Situated right in the town centre 5 minute walk to train station and 15 minute walk to The Barbican.Room was very neat and tidy with the bed very comfortable and very nice bathroom. Full English Breakfast with plenty of choice and plenty of staff to keep everyone happy. Will stay again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank lssm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

The location of this hotel and the fact it has parking is a big asset. I was upgraded to an exec room with free drinks but the decor was in need of a refresh (like all Copthorne hotels I have stayed in). My sat nav dropped me off in the middle of Plymouth as the whole area has the same post-code so make sure you look up where it is on Google maps before you travel. The parking in the hotel is limited but you can use the Sainsbury's next door with a bit of paper from the desk. The views of the car park or the road are not spectacular but then again what can you expect in a city centre.

The service and the staff were actually very good and I could not fault them for there 4 star behaviours.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LiverpoolSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beds
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

i booked this hotel on laterooms and for £50 per night is good value.I would not pay the £170 a night advertised in the hotel.You can park underneath the hotel and you can explore the centre of plymouth without using your car.The rooms are comfortable but a bit dated old fashioned tv but if you compare with travelodge the copthorne is good value. We did not have breakfast but other guests where very impressed.Watch out if you use the bar two medium glasses of wine where £10.50.We come to plymouth often and will use the copthorne again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bedspip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.7 km away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
4.6 km away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,674 reviews
0.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Plymouth
Holiday Inn Plymouth
#13 of 21 in Plymouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
0.9 km away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
1.0 km away
New Continental Hotel
New Continental Hotel
#12 of 21 in Plymouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Plymouth? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Plymouth

Property: Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
Address: Copthorne Hotel Armada Way, Plymouth PL1 1AR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,239 - ₹ 8,651
Hotel Class:3 star — Copthorne Hotel Plymouth 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Plymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plymouth Copthorne Hotel
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing