We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy yet spacious home in a beautiful setting”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Mount Batten House

View from the loungeroom balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the loungeroom balcony
Sunset over plymouth,available every evening The property itself
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
View from the loungeroom balcony
Sunset over plymouth,available every evening
The property itself
The bridge restaurant
Loungeroom view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Plymouth, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MelCharlt...
Leicestershire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cosy yet spacious home in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed 6 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed at this Marina based 3 storey house for Christmas with our extended family.
The owner had very kindly put a beautiful real Christmas tree in the lounge and a bottle of wine in the fridge.

He gave us every assistance and recommend The Clovelly Arms which is a short walk from the property ... this place is amazing ... a real locals pub but food is excellent, huge portions and excellent value for money as well as good quality.

You can walk to the Mountbatten ferry to get over to the Barbican - ferries are every half hour and it cost £1.50 per journey so much easier than parking in Plymouth. Getting into Plymouth by car takes about 15 minutes.

There are numerous books, games, DVDs, etc if you don't want to go far, if you want to cook the kitchen is well equipped with fridge and freezer, the Morrisons is about 3 miles away by car.

We would all recommend this accommodation, towels are provided by the owner and nothing is too much trouble, he even posted my mother's diabetic kit she left behind!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy T
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing House in an Amazing Location”
Reviewed 30 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

The house was absolutely as described, in fact better than we expected. Perfect location, great views. We enjoyed eating at The Bridge restaurant which is only a few steps away.
So lovely waking up to the smell of the sea and views over the marina. Highly recommend this home. We will for sure stay again. Simon was very helpful and made sure everything was just right for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maggie s
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic view- lovely house”
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

What could be better than sitting in the lounge, overlooking the marina, looking out at the twinkling lights of the Barbican while drinking a glass of complimentary wine.
Other people have given a good description of the house below so I wanted to say what a lovely stay we had.
Convenient for Plymouth; we enjoyed some car free trips by taking the small foot ferry to the Barbican. (its possible to take the ferry to the Barbican, Plymouth and from there take further ferries either to Devonport or Cawsand, or Mount Edgcumbe etc). Its also convenient for Wembury and the countryside and coast around.
We liked the house so much that my family and I have stayed twice and plan to return. The owner has everything so well organised, everything just runs so smoothly, and the house is lovely.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonderful view over the marina.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chateaudu...
chateau du loir
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Simply perfect.”
Reviewed 5 April 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We just arrived off the Brittany car ferry in Plymouth, tired and weary after a long journey.
It was so nice to walk into a warm house, squeeky clean, confortable and nicely furnished.
This is a wonderful location overlooking the marina.
We enjoyed our stay so much that we wanted to stay for longer, we can highly recommend this lovely house.
Many thanks to Simon, also thank you for the wine!

Travelling group: Avec mon époux(se) / partenaire
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coconutfu...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 29 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Stayed for a week whilst visiting relatives in Plymouth. The house was clean, spacious and comfortable: a home for a home. The property is set over 3 floors with lovely views and with parking. Great location as you can catch a ferry (5 min walk away) over to the barbican or walk along the south west
coastal path. Simon the owner was very helpful with the booking and answering any questions we had during our stay. Would definitely return here again next time.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing