We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Millstones Country Hotel
Ranked #32 of 78 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 October 2011

I was a bit apprehensive after reading some of the other reviews. And frankly I find English hotels rubbish compared to most western hotels.
However, got a couple of nice rooms at good price - everything fine - had to ask for more soap/shampoo but one phone call and there it was.
If you don't like "classic" English hotel décor don't stay in a place called "millstone country hotel"
Lovely gardens/terrace out back in summer. Picture of front is out-of-date - is now very much a car park and trees mostly gone.
Food was good and they were very good about catering for kids and fussy teenagers. Price ok - the fillet steak and chateaubriand was very very very very good so you don't mind paying - we pay more in Brighton/London. We went for standard dishes but I seem to remember some interesting fishy dishes (and I wish I'd gone for the crab stuffed chicken now.) Breakfast lovely - great proper sausages and more than we could eat.
Bit out of town but hey that's as advertised - frankly Plymouth centre is a bit of a dive anyway.
I would stay again but my Son has now graduated from University so no need.
I guess some other reviewers hit them on a bad chef day with a premenstrual manageress but we found them fine.
Thanks ladies (and gent).

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 101 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2011

We visited the hotel to sample the food at the restaurant as a potential recommendation for some friends to stay locally. Initially, the pre drink service and food ordering was warm, friendly and encouraging. We were shown through to dinner and it was very apparent that the decor and presentation was very tired and dated. Before we could sit down we had to remove the crumbs from our chairs from previous diners. The soup dish I had was only luke warm and contained a partially dissolved stock cube, which i removed. When presented to the waitress, she took it away to show the chef and then only offered to reheat the soup.There were four main courses, the Mushroom Stroganoff contained alot of onions and very little mushrooms; the gammon steak had been burnt Black around the outside and was of poor quality; the chicken chausser's sauce appeared to have been watered down and was more like soup; the duck was very overcooked and dry. Therefore, we will Not be recommending the Millstones Country Hotel or visit it again based upon, poor service, appalling food and highly over priced; a thouroughly disappointing evening.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank disappointedguest814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

This is an intimate, traditional little hotel. We had a lovely spacious room which was clean and tidy. We ordered our breakfast and booked our time to eat in the conservatory dining room the preceding night. This meant that our food was cooked fresh for us when we sat down. The best thing was the evening meal we had with friends. The fillet steak we had was easily among the best we have ever eaten. Cooked to perfection!

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the hotel will overlook the pretty garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2011

My mother in law,daughter(8) and myself stayed for 2 nights in April.We stayed in the family room which was a 4 poster double and adjoining single room accessed through the bathroom.room was very clean,bathroom imaculate.we were made to feel very welcome and it is a very homely place.we slept soundly,beds comfy.the garden was beautiful and we enjoyed seeing the giant rabbits and guinea pigs.we had a dinner the 1st night which was very good,cant fault the chef,excellent helpings!! and hot.We booked the bfast the night b4 and it was a matter of only 3 minutes b4 it was served,once again delicious and generous.the lounge was comfy and tv snug also very nice.the staff made us a salad nicoise the next evening which we ate in the lounge(not on menu) which was amazing.really they couldn't do enough to make our stay really great.I only have one negative comment-old windows and tired decor in the bedrooms.apart from that it was tip top!!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noseyblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Excellent communication with the hotel management from the off, facilitating a well organised event to celebrate my parents DWA ... friendly and efficient staff, well laid-out event room, excellent food, clean and comfortable bedrooms ... no hesitation whatsoever in recommending this hotel for a family stay-over.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phil0752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
2.2 km away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
2,131 reviews
6.7 km away
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
#13 of 21 in Plymouth
1,095 reviews
7.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#12 of 21 in Plymouth
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
6.9 km away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,659 reviews
4.1 km away
Ibis Plymouth
Ibis Plymouth
#18 of 21 in Plymouth
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millstones Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millstones Country Hotel

Address: 436-438 Tavistock Road | Roborough, Plymouth PL6 7HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range: ₹ 5,605 - ₹ 6,815 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Millstones Country Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Millstones Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millstones Country Hotel Plymouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing