We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An undiscovered little gem."”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Millstones Country Hotel
Ranked #35 of 80 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An undiscovered little gem."”
Reviewed 11 August 2011

This is an intimate, traditional little hotel. We had a lovely spacious room which was clean and tidy. We ordered our breakfast and booked our time to eat in the conservatory dining room the preceding night. This meant that our food was cooked fresh for us when we sat down. The best thing was the evening meal we had with friends. The fillet steak we had was easily among the best we have ever eaten. Cooked to perfection!

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the hotel will overlook the pretty garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    37
    24
    6
    7
See reviews for
28
38
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2011

My mother in law,daughter(8) and myself stayed for 2 nights in April.We stayed in the family room which was a 4 poster double and adjoining single room accessed through the bathroom.room was very clean,bathroom imaculate.we were made to feel very welcome and it is a very homely place.we slept soundly,beds comfy.the garden was beautiful and we enjoyed seeing the giant rabbits and guinea pigs.we had a dinner the 1st night which was very good,cant fault the chef,excellent helpings!! and hot.We booked the bfast the night b4 and it was a matter of only 3 minutes b4 it was served,once again delicious and generous.the lounge was comfy and tv snug also very nice.the staff made us a salad nicoise the next evening which we ate in the lounge(not on menu) which was amazing.really they couldn't do enough to make our stay really great.I only have one negative comment-old windows and tired decor in the bedrooms.apart from that it was tip top!!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noseyblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Excellent communication with the hotel management from the off, facilitating a well organised event to celebrate my parents DWA ... friendly and efficient staff, well laid-out event room, excellent food, clean and comfortable bedrooms ... no hesitation whatsoever in recommending this hotel for a family stay-over.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phil0752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwest
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2011

We did not stay at this hotel. Its restaurant is open to non-residents and as they were advertising a Valentines special we thought we would give it a try. The hotel itself is very old-fashioned, warm and cozy. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

However, the food really was not worth the £25 we each paid for our set meal. The pate I had for starters was shop bought, and not the nicest, and was bizaarly served with crackers! My main course was only tepid, quite unpleasant, and served only with a tiny selection of vegetables and rice on the plate. Husband was also very disappointed with his dish which was also not very hot. Desserts, again not homemade, were just OK. All in all, a very disappointing meal and we couldn't wait to leave.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tillyfloss_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2011

My wife and I (and our little dog Hibee) spent 4 nights at the millstones to celebrate our anniversary. After 4 days i can think of only one negative point - the windows in our room have seen better days. I note, however,that many of the hotel windows have already been replaced. The food and personal service we received was exceptional. The room and the lounges were warm and inviting and the bed was very comfortable. The hotel is on a busy main road but we were not aware of any noise and had 4 good nights sleep. We were very sad when our stay ended and we plan to return in the Summer.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heathcliff70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
1.6 km away
Travelodge Plymouth Derriford Hotel
4.1 km away
Ibis Plymouth
Ibis Plymouth
#17 of 21 in Plymouth
574 reviews
10.9 km away
The Smithaleigh Hotel
The Smithaleigh Hotel
#3 of 3 in Plympton
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
1,960 reviews
0.4 km away
Travelodge Plymouth Roborough
7.5 km away
Rainbow Lodge
Rainbow Lodge
#6 of 80 in Plymouth
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millstones Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millstones Country Hotel

Property: Millstones Country Hotel
Address: 436-438 Tavistock Road | Roborough, Plymouth PL6 7HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,519 - ₹ 6,674
Hotel Class:2 star — Millstones Country Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Millstones Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millstones Country Hotel Plymouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing