We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made me want to leave London....”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plymouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
B&B at Eastern Lodge
Ranked #48 of 78 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 February 2012

A bunch of us (all couples) stayed with Salka and Chris during October last year. I cannot tell you what a wonderful time we had. It was pure escapism particularly from hectic London. From the moment we arrived, we were treated as 'friends' and not guests. Salka's breakfast and dinners were just gorgeous and the very best 'home cooked' food. Great to come home to after spending the days out and about. Would recommend the 5 hour coastal walk and you must go to 'The Ship' for dinner in Noss Mayo. A beautiful part of the world!

Room Tip: The room on the LHS at the top of the stairs is a fav - the 'pink one'!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StephN00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2010

The house with the wonky chimney came into view just 100m from the South West Coast Path, just as their directions said it would, and was the perfect place to rest our weary limbs. Our half circular room had leaded windows through which we saw sunrise over the sea when we woke. Every little comfort is catered for, and we particularly loved the stunning green art-deco bathroom en suite. Salka is the perfect host, plying us with treats, and pointing out the local history (recommend checking out who built the lodge, and much else in the vicinity). Eastern Lodge is clean, full of treasures, peacful and utterly charming. We would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GAK_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

We went down to this neck of the woods for a wedding and found a gem in Eastern Lodge. The hosts were charming and very helpful throughout our stay, looking after us very well and making sure we got where we needed, when we needed. The Lodge is a beautiful old gate house, set a couple of hundred metres from the cliffs and in a perfect spot to start any number of great walks along the coast. The Gatehouse Room has a breathtaking view and a really unique Art Deco bathroom. This B&B comes highly recommended - we will certainly be planning on using it again when we head down to see some more of the stunning countryside.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophie128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

We travelled to Noss Mayo to be with friends on his 60th Birthday and stayed at the B&B ar Eastern Lodge. We run a B&B ourselves and were delighted with the welcome and attention to detail in this three bedroom house. The location is stunning with wonderful views and walks along the south coast route. Salka and Chris were charming hosts and could not be more helpful, arranging transport and other considerations. A great find and we wish them continued success - Duncan and Jo

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2010

We just made a last minute booking to this B&B as a stopover no the way back to London and it turned into the highlight of our Christmas Break.
The surroundings, the building, the views, the welcome.. all out of this world.
I have never felt more relaxed or more spoilt than at Eastern Lodge.
The rooms are beautifully decorated, the beds huge and the sheets are amazing! I never thought I would ever need to comment on sheets but they are so beautifully soft!
The hosts are a delight nothing too much trouble, they organised a meal at the local pub for us so we were guaranteed a top table. They prepared the most delicious breakfast, super fresh muesli (hand made), great bacon sandwich and pots of coffee.
I cannot recommend this place enough, it really is an absolute gem, great way to start 2010.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atrickey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
10.4 km away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
11.2 km away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#13 of 21 in Plymouth
197 reviews
11 km away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 km away
Ibis Plymouth
Ibis Plymouth
#18 of 21 in Plymouth
604 reviews
13.9 km away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
2,131 reviews
11.7 km away
Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B at Eastern Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B at Eastern Lodge

Address: Membland nr. Newton Ferrers, Plymouth PL8 1HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eastern Lodge, the B&B with the wonky chimney, was built as a gatehouse in 1883 by Edward Baring, the acclaimed banker. Set in beautiful surroundings, it overlooks the sea and Dartmoor, yet Plymouth is only 10 miles away. Walk up and down the coastal path, find beautiful little coves of tranquility before settling down to a luxurious cream tea in the legendry teashop of Newton Ferrers or have a gorgeous dinner at the Ship Inn in Noss Mayo, known to the locals as Happy Valley. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
B&B At Eastern Lodge Plymouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing