We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pine Lodge Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$ 101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St Vincent Guest House(Lynton)(Great Value!)
US$ 99
US$ 96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 198
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$ 158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 138
US$ 135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fernleigh Guest House(Lynton)(Great Value!)
US$ 79
US$ 77
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (385)
Filter reviews
385 results
Traveller rating
365
19
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
365
19
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade cookiesguest housedeer grazingon arrivaltea and cakeyogurtcompoteminute walkexcellent hostswooded valleypreserveslong journeylyn valleylovely viewvegetarian breakfastbreakfast was excellentcould not have been more helpful
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 385 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2017

Pine lodge Guest House was simply excellent, probably the best that my wife and I have ever been to. We were welcomed very warmly with a cup of tea and cake and helped in every way possible (with cases, placed to eat out and things to do places to go etc.)
Lovely room over looking the Lynn river and valley. Well appointed en suite and everything was very clean. Drinks tray in the room was well stocked and replenished daily. Complimentary chocolates were also left every day. Breakfast is ordered the day before and there was plenty of it and it was delicious. Extra tea/coffee/toast was offered every day if people wanted it. Probably the thing that sticks out the most is the friendliness of the proprietors and their willingness to put themselves out for their guests. Price was excellent. We would recommend Pine Lodge to the queen if she decided to take a break in Lynton!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 230rande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy and Steve Y, Owner at Pine Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are really touched by your kind words. We are so pleased that you felt well looked after. We hope that if you are in this area again you will stay with us at Pine Lodge.

Wendy and Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017

Having booked on the basis of Tripadvisor reviews, we were concerned to find that the current owners had only been in place for a few weeks. We worried needlessly. The welcome was warm (our first words were almost"can we borrow a screwdriver to replace a bulb on our car" and it was produced instantaneously without fuss) and Wendy was incredibly helpful and solicitous throughout our stay. She and husband Stephen may be new to the hotel game but certainly know what they are doing.
Our room (4) was large, airy, bright and clean and had a lovely view of the hill with its resident red deer herd. It had everything we needed including a large attached bathroom. We had three extremely good nights' sleep on the comfortable bed and three excellent "cooked to order" breakfasts that set us up for a day's hiking. The hotel itself is just outside Lynton but is connected by a well lit pathway and it takes about 10 minutes to walk in. A lovely stay with lovely people.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank EssexRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy and Steve Y, Owner at Pine Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We very much enjoyed hosting you and we hope that you will come and stay again soon. Perhaps next time, your visit will be less eventful!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

We spent a lovely three days here and could not have wished for more welcoming or comfortable accommodation. Wendy gave us a lovely greeting with tea and cakes and information. She was always on hand with advice and help - it was a case of 'no sooner mentioned than done' for example, having noted that I asked for Earl Grey tea at the welcome meeting she ensured that I had a supply in our room throughout our stay. Steve did a great job with the breakfasts - fresh, ample and tasty. It is a great location with a short walk down into the town. The rooms all looked lovely (we had a peak into most before other guests arrived) and the whole house was immaculately clean. We would definitely stay here again if returning to the area.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank mrssilverback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy and Steve Y, Owner at Pine Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We would love to see you again and hope it won't be long before you return to this beautiful part of the country. Kind regards. Wendy and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

We were met by Gillian on our arrival with a welcome cuppa and a superb slice of lemon cake, then shown up to our room. We stayed in room 3, which was spacious, spotless, and VERY comfortable. The furnishings were lovely, and the towels and bed linen were all of high quality, and spotlessly clean. The location is one of blissful peace and tranquility, with the only sounds being birdsong, and the River Lynn, down in the valley below. An excellent (hot and powerful) shower started the day, followed by an unbeatable full English breakfast, individually cooked by Tony, which was so good it sustained us for an average of 6 hours of walking in the idyllic, (though somewhat demanding) local countryside. At the end of the day, having enjoyed an excellent meal in one of the local eateries, we retired to our 6 feet wide!! bed, and slept for anything up to 10 hours each night, which is unheard of for us! Outside the bedroom window, looking across the valley in the early morning, we would see deer grazing in the fields on the hillside opposite, whilst below us, the garden was filled with multitudes of small and colourful birds, flocking around the bird feeders. Our hosts were welcoming and friendly, but never intrusive, and very helpful with advice on the local attractions, places to eat, etc. Nothing was too much trouble for them.
We last stayed at Pine Lodge over 13 years ago, when we were bowled over by the charm of the residence, and the beauty of the surroundings. In those days, it was under different ownership, and we felt we had found the perfect holiday break. In fact, we were expecting that the old magic would likely have gone, so to be honest, we weren't expecting the same high standards we had previously enjoyed, when we booked for this holiday. How wrong we were - Pine Lodge has lost none of its old magic, and thanks to Gillian and Tony, it has got even better! It is obvious to us old timers that there have been numerous improvements, making for an even more comfortable stay. Pine Lodge is a wonderful place to stay, and ideal as a base for walking, or as a centre for days out. Pine Lodge is a real gem, and we unreservedly recommend it as a place to stay!

Room Tip: From what we have seen, ALL rooms are excellent!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dave_P_UB6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy and Steve Y, Owner at Pine Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

We are glad that you found Pine Lodge to be as magical as you remembered. Whilst we are new owners, we are working hard to ensure that high standards in all areas are maintained. We hope you won't leave it so long until your visit. Kind regards. Wendy and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

We stopped here three nights in September with two friends fantastic welcome from Wendy and Steve could not have been more helpful. They are the new owners and had only been in a few days
The room was lovely, large comfortable bed with a big bathroom, spotlessly clean.
Breakfast was delicious .
Ideal place to stop, quiet and only a short walk to pub and restaurant
They are off to a great start and we wish them all the best for the future
Alan & Chris

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank greeny62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy and Steve Y, Owner at Pine Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

What a lovely review, thank you so much for taking the trouble to write it. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we certainly enjoyed hosting you. We hope you will come back and see how we're getting on! Kind regards. Wendy and Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews