We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (593)
Filter reviews
593 results
Traveller rating
106
195
139
87
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
106
195
139
87
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self drive coach holiday shearings break lovely old hotel victorian hotel friday and saturday superior room tv reception shower attachment public rooms excellent value for money evening meal old victorian lovely weekend flat screen tv night break large bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
183 - 188 of 593 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2016

My mum and I stayed as independent travellers. My parents have stayed here many times over many years. We were not disappointed! We had a lovely comfortable spacious room overlooking the town of Lynton. Food was lovely. Evening entertainment was fun. Staff were really helpful and work very hard. The cost is very reasonable considering all you get for your money. Yes the hotel needs complete decorating and refurbishment but this is reflected in the price. We went on some lovely walks to waters-meet and to valley of the rocks and beyond. Lynton and Lynmouth are lovely to explore as well. So all in all a really lovely break for us.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cunners59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2016

We are really pleased you had “a really lovely break with us” and “the food was lovely”.
We are also pleased “the staff were really helpful and worked hard” and “the entertainment was fun”.
We agree this is a superb base to explore North Devon, with some wonderful walks.
Thank you Cunners59 for posting you brilliant 5 star review, we hope you and your Mum will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2016

The Valley of Rocks Hotel built in 1895 is based in Lynton, a lovely village overlooking the cliffs and harbour of Lynmouth down below, in north Devon. This hotel retains its charm with its impressive atrium lounge built in 1895 along with the hotel extension in Victorian era, and the first half built in 1803 in Georgian era, which is quite obvious with its simple square shaped high ceiling rooms and sash windows, even though they must have been renovated several times over 200 years. The hotel's front doors are made of massive wood and glass and the white canopy and pillars outside has a Palladian/Greco look. You can tell the difference between the Georgian and Victorian architecture if you look up at the hotel from outside - the older part built with grey stones, whereas the newer built with red bricks and grey stones with wooden balconies jutting outwards in the front of the hotel. Good service overall. Will visit again soon. The other Valley of Rocks is a dry valley that runs parallel to the coast about a mile from the hotel. It is a popular destination with walkers and visitors who visit not just for its geological features - being one of the oldest fossil rocks in north Devon formed before the ice age, but for its herd of feral goats. The valley is believed to be the dissection of coastal cliff recession of a former extension of the valley of the east Lyn river which meets the sea at Lymmouth down below. The valley was visited by the poets - Coleridge, Wordsworth, Byron, Shelley and Southey and Blackmore set part of his novel Lorna Doone in the valley. Will visit again soon.

Room Tip: harbour view or front view
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank CHUNARAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2016

Thank you Chunarag for posting your 5 star review, we really enjoyed reading the history regarding our hotel and the points you mentioned about the Valley of Rocks.
We are really pleased you had good service during your recent stay with us and we are also pleased, you will visit us again soon.
Thank you once again for leaving such a brilliant review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2016

I stayed here 18th to 21st March and despite my first impressions this hotel is really special..Yes it needs decorating, yes it needs Shearings to invest more in it but all this is outweighed by the charm of the hotel and it's location. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The variety and quality of food is excellent. The bar area and lounge are extremely comfortable and the perfect place to watch and listen to the great entertainers that were on that weekend, There are some superb walks and scenery. Overall I fully enjoyed my stay and if you do go there please read up on it's history, fascinating. Definatelywill go back

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2016

Thank you SS for posting your 4 star review; on Tripadvisor.
We are pleased that the “variety and choice of food was excellent” and “the staff were helpful and friendly”.
We are also pleased that you enjoyed "the great evening entertainment".
We agree, the hotel has charm and is in a brilliant location.
We look forward to you visiting us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2016

Travelled on a Shearings mid-week break. Pleasant journey arriving mid afternoon Monday. Booked in with the customary Shearings efficiency. The hotel, as with the majority of the Shearings stock was in need of major restoration. It was however mostly clean, tidy and warm. Food was the usual staple fare. All the staff were excellent, with a special mention to our waitress Carmen, always smiling despite the professional whingers that this type of holiday always attracts. As we had not visited this part of Devon previously we looked forward to the trips. A short journey to a local steam railway was slightly bizarre, being met by the Ilfracombe town crier in full regalia. He travelled with us telling some amusing if slightly ribald tales. Then off to visit Lynmouth. Tortuous journey up & down the hill road, earned our driver George his spurs. Ironically it was a 35 minute drive to get down to by road but only 5 minutes by the cliff railway. Our second outing was to Dunster and Minehead. Disappointingly we only had a short time in Dunster (note to the trip planners) which could easily have merited a full day on its own. Minehead was the usual faded glory seaside resort, but the steam railway festival was interesting.
The evening entertainment was superb. Scott Paige on Monday & Thursday flogged away at the dead horse with songs and tales. Wednesday being free drinks night was better attended & Spencer Reid Singer/Guitarist was extremely amusing with his droll sense of humour. This was our first mid-week outing, it certainly won't be our last.
Finally Greetings to the Ladies from Widnes Golf Club.

Janet & Bob Heap

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear, sea view, front & side country view
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank allmychoicestaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2016

Thank you allmychoicesaretaken; for taking the time to post your 4 star review.
We are really pleased the hotel was “clean, tidy and warm and all the staff were excellent”. We will ensure Carmen has a copy of your review. We are also pleased you enjoyed the evening entertainment.
We hope you will visit us again soon and enjoy more of this lovely part of North Devon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2016

Rooms ok. Clean and well serviced, heating not working but was sorted out very quickly. Food was typical of Bay hotels and you will not starve. Staff very friendly and the entertainment on every night was excellent.

Room Tip: At the back of the hotel overlooks the bay. We were at the front, but it was very quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank gordoncooper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2016

We are really pleased “the staff were friendly” and “the evening entertainment was excellent”.
We agree “the hotel is in an excellent position, for Lynton and Lynmouth”.
Thank you nodrocheshire; for taking the time to post your 4 star review, we hope you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews