We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“PLEASANT HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
DERBYSHIRE
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“PLEASANT HOTEL”
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Just returned from a 4 day 5 night self drive holiday at this hotel and considering the age of the hotel which is in a most picturesque part of Lynton vast sums of money needs to be spent on the hotel.We had no complaints about our bedroom and had a lovely sea view but we thought that extra staff was required in the restaurant as mealtimes seemed to be a lottery on how quickly you were served as the staff seemed to have far too many tables to look after.The food was passable but the choice of menu at dinner was not mind blowing and could only be described as conveniece food . Finally we have stayed at other Bay hotels and were disappointed that this hotel does not match up with any that we have stayed at (our last hotel was Llandudno)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SUNCHASERSDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, we always pass a copy to any department that is mentioned. We are really pleased you enjoyed this wonderful part of Exmoor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    163
    113
    77
    54
See reviews for
61
278
41
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Five of us have just returned from a four night five day holiday at this Hotel. We all had single rooms. The Hotel itself needs a LOT of money spending on it, it is past its sell buy date!! One lady was annoyed with the Kitchen extractor fan. Another both with men drilling AND the fact she had NOT ONE DRAWER. Only one lady had a shower leaving the other four feeling dirty being unable to get in and out of the Bath. The food - it was O.K. but we NEVER got a HOT cup of either Tea or Coffee, it was always lukewarm. The area is beautiful but the Hotel needs closing for re-vamping
there is no central heating, no toiletries the beds comfortable the rooms dinghy. What a pity.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank savageManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2012
Sorry to hear you were unhappy with your stay, we have finished refurbishing a number of rooms now, maybe that was the drilling noise. (which was kept to a minimum) We have a mixture of single rooms some with just baths and some with just showers, so it is best to request a room with a shower when you book, if you cannot use a bath. Thank you for taking the time to write your response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lynton hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We had booked two nights and then read a bad review on trip advisor, and the weather forecast was for monsoon weather but we still nervously went.We were so surprised when our room was large, with modern décor and excellent large en suite bathroom. The hotel is under refurbishment but it is such a wonderful old building, it is great that Shearings took up the challenge! Even the weather was gloriously sunny. The choice and service of breakfast was excellent. We didn't have evening meal as there was so much to do and see in two days but intend to stay longer next time. The location is perfect for walking to the Valley of Rocks and to see all the goats, also coastal paths.

Room Tip: Room 49 superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Den_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a such a nice review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope the sun shines next time you visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

My husband and i have just returned from a stay at this hotel' The room was very nice and the food good,My only complaint was there wasnt anywhere for people to smoke under cover' It rained almost constant so as anyone who smokes will know it wasnt very nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wendy_peddar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2012
We are really pleased you enjoyed the room and food at our hotel, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

I don't know where to start. Worst room EVER. Worst food EVER. Sorry but my room was like a timeless peoples hostel. I feel sorry for the people who work there. The food was about as bad as food gets. Are the vegetables boiled for 6 hrs before serving? Is under roasted vegetables covered in pasata a vegetarian option?

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SteveRobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2012
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us, we do manage to please a large proportion of our guests and offer good value for money, we also have had a number of rooms refurbished.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.3 km away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.1 km away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.2 km away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#2 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 km away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.2 km away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
1.5 km away
Exmoor Manor Hotel
Exmoor Manor Hotel
#5 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel

Property: Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel
Address: Lee Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,377 - ₹ 9,845
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel located in the picturesque village of Lynton on the North Devon Coast, this early Victorian Hotel retains many aspects of its original charm. There is an impressive atrium in the lounge, where entertainment is provided most evenings. It is located within Exmoor National Park, in the heart of the village of Lynton, overlooking the twinned village of Lynmouth, known as Little Switzerland. The Villages are linked by a masterpiece of early engineering, The Cliff Railway, built in 1890. There are good local amenities and stunning scenic walks only minutes away. All rooms in the hotel are en suite with many enjoying scenic views of the Bristol Channel to Wales. The Valley of Rocks is the ideal location for walkers or those who simply wish to explore the natural beauty of the surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Of Rocks Hotel Lynton
Valley Rocks Hotel Lynton
Bay Valley Of Rocks Hotel Lynton, Exmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing