We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lynton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lynton”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

I have just got back from an enjoyable stay at this hotel. The food,, staff and the room were excellent the the only grip I have got is the plumbing did not work properly ie: toilet didnt flush every time had to pump it up a few times also the shower was either hot or cold,could do with instructions in the bathroom how to use the shower. I would stay at this hotel again..

Room Tip: I stayed on second floor ( room 58) had a half window view of one of the bays the other half of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nanyjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. It is nice for the staff to get mentioned, I always show them a copy of any comments posted on tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    168
    114
    80
    56
See reviews for
61
287
42
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rugby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

I booked a 3 night break before I had read the reviews on Tripadvisor. I then wondered what I had let myself & my husband in for, but decided to go with an open mind!

I'm so glad I did because I couldn't fault the hotel at all. Our room (12) was clean & spacious & the large bathroom was spotless. Even though we were above the kitchen it didn't bother us.
Hotel food was excellent & plentiful & all the staff were polite & very helpful.

I don't know whether it's the luck of the draw whether you get a good room or not, but I'm glad I DIDN'T up grade to a superior room!

The local area is wonderful & we will stay at the hotel again. Definitely great value for money.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Thank you Sarah M, for taking the time to write such a nice review, we are all pleased you enjoyed your stay in Lynton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

My Husband and I booked this break 3 nights with Shearings. I saw the reviews and decided to upgrade to a superior room and paid extra £111 for 3 nights. Well worth doing, room spacious, beautiful views across Bristol channel across to Wales.

Hotel Victorian, old and in areas needs attention but the staff are very friendly and the food was of a good standard and plenty of choice.

The surrounding area is stunning, plenty to see and do.

If going to this hotel pay the extra for an update on your room.

Room Tip: Room Number 77
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MinxWestSussex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
We are pleased you enjoyed your weekend break with us in room 77, and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

The hotel is in need of refurbishment, our room had been done, so take it as a work in progress. Food was quite acceptable and the service from our waitress was absolutely fabulous. The rest of the staff were friendly and helpful. the trips out were very imformative, Guy the driver gave us loads of imformation and plenty of laughs along the way and he will always remember the elephants on Exmoor. Thanks to all the staff

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ian Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post on tripadvisor, Guy the coach driver and all our staff were really happy with your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

The views are breathtaking and well worth a visit just for this. Great walks. The bus service also excellent.The staff are extremely helpfull and food excellent choices and quality. The building has it's own unique charm, which hs been preserved especially in the lounge area.
The only fault I have is the cleanliness of the room. My window was rotted and dirty, if it had been cleaned it would probably fall apart, rust on the shower rail, dust and dirt on the pipe on the floor. I supose I could have complained and asked to be moved but it was a room at the front and close to the lift for me. There was no noise from the entertainment or other distractions.
These are bargain breaks and it is mainly a roof for the night as there is so much to do and see. I would stay again as it was excellent value for mioney just don't look too closely in the corners!

Room Tip: If your not happy, ask reception they are very obliging.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robby58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Thank you for your kind comments, we have updated our own walkers guide to include many more breathtaking walks around this beautiful part of exmoor, hope you can try some next time you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.3 km away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
188 reviews
0.2 km away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
321 reviews
0.1 km away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 km away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ilfracombe
669 reviews
0.2 km away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#2 of 5 in Lynmouth
232 reviews
0.1 km away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel

Property: Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel
Address: Lee Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,588 - ₹ 10,189
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel located in the picturesque village of Lynton on the North Devon Coast, this early Victorian Hotel retains many aspects of its original charm. There is an impressive atrium in the lounge, where entertainment is provided most evenings. It is located within Exmoor National Park, in the heart of the village of Lynton, overlooking the twinned village of Lynmouth, known as Little Switzerland. The Villages are linked by a masterpiece of early engineering, The Cliff Railway, built in 1890. There are good local amenities and stunning scenic walks only minutes away. All rooms in the hotel are en suite with many enjoying scenic views of the Bristol Channel to Wales. The Valley of Rocks is the ideal location for walkers or those who simply wish to explore the natural beauty of the surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Of Rocks Hotel Lynton
Valley Rocks Hotel Lynton
Bay Valley Of Rocks Hotel Lynton, Exmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing