We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Captain's House
Ranked #12 of 15 Lynmouth B&B and Inns
south wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We booked last minute and requested the ground floor room which "has french doors onto the garden" since we were taking our dog and thought it would be convenient to take him out this way instead of through the house. Unfortunately the french doors had a large dressing table across them and concrete plant pots outside - so no chance of opening them. The room was small but functional apart from the tiny wardrobe. En-suite was fine although not a fan of carpet in the bathroom. Personally I though the breakfasts were fine - certainly not greasy as some have commented. It's not the Ritz but then neither are the prices.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winelover910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    35
    16
    29
    36
See reviews for
30
99
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Augsburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

The Captain's House has a beautiful location with numerous fascinating hikes starting directly from it. The rooms we've been in are individually and with love designed. The owners were welcoming in their house. The house is rich in history and the area around Lynmouth is rich in literary history. The owners were happy and proud to tell about it. We had a great stay, and say this as critical Germans.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Our neighbours back home in Italy stayed at the Captain's House last spring and told us to visit this nice B&B, and explore the west coast of England. We booked up all six of us and can thorougly recommend it too. Nice kind people, smart immaculately, clean rooms and what a beautiful quaint coastal village, we couldn't believe our luck, and the scenery no wonder we were told it's known as "Switzerland by the sea!!!"

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirikinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We've just returned from our stay at the Captains House and we found it to be very clean and comfortable..
The owner was pleasant guy,who obviously loves Lynmouth and was on hand to recommend local restaurants and fantastic walks in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jimbens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We booked the Captains House B&B and then read the reviews on trip advisor and then thought "what have we done " but already paid decided to go anyway ,we had booked for 7 nights . On arrival we were met with a very warm welcome from Clifford and shown to our room (room 1 ,ground floor ) the room was a little small but all we wanted to do in there was sleep ,had a comfy bed , pillows alittle flat ,and quite quirky decor .Our bed was changed twice in the week and clean towels every other day . Breakfast at 8.15 was a choice of two cereals and a cooked breakfast ,not huge ,but big enough followed by toast and tea or coffee and orange juice all which was very satisfactory. Clifford and Josie were friendly hosts with Clifford knowing alot about the local area and good resturants to eat at .If you go expecting The Ritz or a boutique hotel you will disapointed , but if you want somewhere warm and welcoming and QUIRKY the the Captains House will do just fine.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerry j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.3 km away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.3 km away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.3 km away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#2 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.1 km away
Hillside House
Hillside House
#8 of 15 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.1 km away
East Lyn House
East Lyn House
#3 of 15 in Lynmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Captain's House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Captain's House

Property: The Captain's House
Address: 1 Tors Road, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Lynmouth
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,524 - ₹ 5,816
Hotel Class:3 star — The Captain's House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Captain's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Captain's House Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing