We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay and Doggy Friendly”
Review of Hillside House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hillside House
Ranked #7 of 15 Lynmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 August 2017

We spent 5 nights at Hillside House,lovely english breakfast,our dog had a sausage every morning.Denise and Jeff were great hosts and made us feel so welcome,we had a lovely comfortable room with a great view.Definitly would go back again.

Room Tip: Loft rooms have low ceilings not suitable for tall people over 5f 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank rainnewton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2017

We spent one night at Hillside House in the autumn and we were very happy with our stay. The name Hillside is not entirely misleading; it is away from the seafront and up the valley slightly, although nowhere near as vertical as Lynton which is reached by the Cliff Railway! As it was out of season we were able to find free parking very easily not too far away but I imagine in peak season you might have to walk a bit further or pay a bit more. It is a bit of a slope, and then there are steps up to the B&B, so if you struggle with mobility it might be worth ringing ahead to check that it will be suitable.

Our hosts were very friendly and the room neat and tidy. We had paid for one of the smaller rooms so we were a bit snug, but that is fine for us. The room still came with an en suite and we both had a good night's sleep. We might have found the size of the room a bit restricting if we were staying for any longer, but if we were we would have probably paid a bit more for a bigger room.

The real highlight for me was the breakfast the next morning. We stayed in a few different places throughout Cornwall and I can say that Hillside had the best sausages of the whole trip, hands down. I believe they also offer packed lunches and picnics if you intend to go for walks out in the area and I think we probably would have tried one if we were there for a longer stay.

I would definitely pick Hillside House again. Our stay was comfortable, the hosts were lovely, and Lynmouth is a charming location.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ihaveshoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at the Hillside house. Denise and Jeff were amazing hosts and absolutely spoilt us! The breakfast was very nice every morning (8 to 9 am) and our puppy Jazzie got spoilt rotten with his breakfast sausage every morning and endless cuddles!

The room was very comfortable, clean and nicely decorated. The centre of Lynmouth is only 2-3 minutes away and the house looks over the East Lyn river.

Parking (public) is available about 20m down the road and you can purchase a pass (we paid £13 for 4 days).

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank cheedance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

Just back from 5 nights at the Hillside in Lynmouth, great location for exploring the area. Denise is the perfect hostess, feels more like staying with an old friend rather than a B&B. breakfast was excellent with great local produce.
The rooms are homely & comfortable. We had the attic room which had a sloping floor which just added to the character or this lovely old house. Great view of the river. Although no parking on site plenty of free parking just down the road.
Highly recommended
thankyou

Room Tip: The attic room as a lovely view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Chrissey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017 via mobile

Stayed here in June 2017 with my wife and Fruity, our dog.

Denise was a charming host and made us all feel very welcome, the house and rooms were lovely and clean, and there are some great views from the bedrooms. ( we had two stays in different rooms over 12 days )

The house, a two minute walk to the beach, also has some interesting history.

Breakfast was super, and there was even a sausage or two thrown in for our dog, which we appreciated and he enjoyed.

We will definitely stay here again, next time we are passing through this part of the world.

Highly recommend

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Carl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.3 km away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
250 reviews
0.3 km away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
484 reviews
0.6 km away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Captain's House
The Captain's House
#12 of 15 in Lynmouth
196 reviews
0.2 km away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#10 of 15 in Lynmouth
132 reviews
0.2 km away
Lorna Doone House
Lorna Doone House
#5 of 15 in Lynmouth
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside House

Address: 22 Watersmeet Road, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Lynmouth
Price Range: ₹ 5,630 - ₹ 6,472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hillside House 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Hillside House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillside House Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing