We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
What a wonderful place to relax

this is the perfect place to relax and enjoy natural surroundings and no traffic! Its fantastic on... read more

Reviewed 30 September 2018
robert B
Great spot

Stopped for lunch during our walk around the woods. Found a table near the river and the staff... read more

Reviewed 18 August 2018
Nic C
,
Cardiff, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 176 reviews
  
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
176 results
Traveller rating
69
58
23
17
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
69
58
23
17
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub stunning location baguette sitting outside single track road nice place to rest tuesday lunchtime river bank lovely lunch walk along the river lovely setting staff were welcoming food arrived piping hot cream tea great walk sunny day
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 176 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The location of this inn is in one of the most beautiful spots in all of England, on the banks of the River Teign, with a view of the old stone Fingle Bridge. The service is reasonable, but the food very ordinary. The portions are large, which you might want if you had just done a long walk - and we weren't or wanting or expecting gourmet dining - but the food is very ordinary. Used to be a great deal better a few years ago when we last came here.

1  Thank BeeWee49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

We stopped for tea and coffee, couldn’t resist hot choc fudge brownie cake and ice cream. It was warm, lovely and a amazingly large portion. Wonderful

Thank 3ts1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018

this is the perfect place to relax and enjoy natural surroundings and no traffic! Its fantastic on a sunny day! Good selection of drinks and food. Sit right next to the river and watch the wildlife or go for a stroll in the woods. its a bit out of the way so you need a car but the drive is worth it.

Thank robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018

Fabulous location! Perfect for lunch break when you are out for a walk in the nature. The place is right by the river Teign, surrounded by hills. You can sit inside in a cosy pub or stay outside in a fresh air. We have been there several times in the past and we were always pleased with the food, drink and the service we received.

Thank Ewa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

Stopped for lunch during our walk around the woods.
Found a table near the river and the staff helpfully supplied a water bowl for our fog.
Nice choice of food prepared freshly.
Despite being busy we didn’t need to wait to long for food.

Thank Nic C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

Fingle Bridge is a beautiful spot, situated in the north of Dartmoor. The Inn is a lovely spot to have a meal, or just a drink and enjoy the scenic view. Children and dogs enjoy paddling in the water. The food is good and reasonably priced. Beautiful walks from the bridge.

Thank 365Carole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018

Arrived very little parking left BUT had lunch which was served very quickly despite being very busy, both meals came out together, and very good value

Thank magichaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018 via mobile

Got here about 14:30 on a Sunday for lunch to find the restaurant closes at 15:00. Ordered some drinks and chose the carvery which was the best I've had in a while. I had beef which was cooked to perfection, lovely and juicy. Would highly recommend a visit, but you might want to get there earlier than I did.

Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018 via mobile

We parked our car at the pub car park at 7pm took the dog for a walk across the bridge and along the river, then back to the pub for dinner. It was also perfect; the location, food and friendliness of staff.

Thank debstyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018

Lovely place with a great menu. Good quality reasonably priced pub food served by friendly staff. Parking close by or take a walk from Castle Drogo. Lots of inside and outside seating next to the river. Was a little disappointed with a couple who were sat in a prime position next to the river drinking water for an hour and a half whilst others were looking for a table to sit down for a meal. Great place to take dogs.

1  Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews