We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Southernhay House Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$ 113
US$ 101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jurys Inn Exeter(Exeter)(Great Value!)
US$ 87
US$ 82
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 88
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Exeter(Exeter)(Great Value!)
US$ 108
US$ 105
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 128
US$ 105
Mercure
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 152
US$ 95
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 112
US$ 89
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 202
US$ 188
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Queens Court(Exeter)(Great Value!)
US$ 102
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (278)
Filter reviews
278 results
Traveller rating
161
69
21
17
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
161
69
21
17
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewselegant roomsbeautiful boutique hotelstand alone bathfresh milkgeorgian townhousexmas marketsmall hotelfull length mirrorfree standing bathlonger staybeautiful roomcomfortable bedcentral exetercathedral greenbreakfast was deliciouslimited parkingquiet at night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 278 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2017 via mobile

Went here for dinner tonight. I have often driven past this place and thought it looked lovely and I am pleased it matched my expectations, the staff were attentive, kind and polite, the food was absolutely amazing and the hotel is decorated to a very high standard

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Malc W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_SH, Owner at Southernhay House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

That's good to hear, and thank you. We don't often get posts from dinner guests so this is especially useful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017

The room was beautiful, spacious, the bed was comfortable. The area was quiet and
well located, close to the cathedral and town and train station. Excellent breakfast!! Staff was efficient and pleasant.

Room Tip: Any room would be lovely.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drmmg05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_SH, Owner at Southernhay House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Many thanks for your appreciation; and good to note your comment on breakfast and the bed. It was our pleasure to welcome you here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017

Very clean and comfortable hotel. We really enjoyed our four nights here. We only had one meal in the restaurant (the only clients on that evening) and although most of the meal was very good, my husband had a really tough inedible steak.

Breakfasts were generally good and I had porridge on two occasions - the first time it was excellent and the second time awful - stodgy and extremely sweet. The excuse was that there was a stand-in chef that day!

On the whole though we really enjoyed our stay here - excellent location.

Room Tip: As we are from London, it all seemed very quiet and peaceful to us!
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank KatieL517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_SH, Owner at Southernhay House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry the food disappointed; stand in chef is not an excuse and please accept our regrets. I'm pleased that the rest of the experience lived up to your expectations and we hope to welcome you back again when next in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017

Great hotel from A-Z with very helpful and experienced staff, a spectacular food experience and very elegant rooms with comfy beds. Even the smallest details have been arranged with great care. I will come back and will recommend this hotel to anyone who is in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ursula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_SH, Owner at Southernhay House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Many thanks Ursula, and please don't hold back on the recommends. I'm obsessed with sleep and so our beds, in particular, are very special and aim to please!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017

This hotel is great ... a little quirky, very relaxed, in a perfect location for a short walk to the town, very comfortable and welcoming ........ in fact, a little gem !

Breakfast was superb, freshly cooked and beautifully presented

The bar is like stepping back in time, with a range of mobile phones I remember being the 'latest thing'

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_SH, Owner at Southernhay House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Including the "brick" Jerry, do you remember these? I wish I could say I'd worked through the entire 'phone collection but alas, I start at Nokia Communicator.....any donations welcome! It's nice that you highlight the relaxed ambience; we all enjoy being here as much as our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews