We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 84
US$ 81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 92/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Exeter Court Hotel(Kennford)(Great Value!)
US$ 76
US$ 74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 86/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn Express Exeter(Exeter)(Great Value!)
US$ 83
US$ 71
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 85/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 108
US$ 105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 90
US$ 86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 103/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Queens Court(Exeter)(Great Value!)
US$ 82
US$ 79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 98/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 125
US$ 112
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Globe(Topsham)
US$ 102
US$ 96
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 61
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (383)
Filter reviews
383 results
Traveller rating
121
125
76
36
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
125
76
36
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain staircaseprivilege roomcar parkcentral railway stationstained glassclose to shopslovely hotelfriendly efficient staffarriving by trainclean comfortable roomsno air conparking is limitedmulti storeya couple of minutes walkchecking outhotel staffdisabled room
Filter
Updating list...
187 - 192 of 383 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

Having left hotel in Exeter that was entirely unnaceptable I was pleased to find this hotel. The room was large clean and the bed was very comfortable. The staff were professional friendly and helpful. Breakfast was acceptable and again the staff were efficient and helpful. Parking is available and limited. The hotel is directly opposite the central station. I would definitely stay here again. The WiFi connection was good and useful as I was working and the room was quiet despite fronting onto the street. An excellent place whether staying for business or pleasure.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank 1Sussexgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RougemontExeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear 1Sussexgal

Thank you for your lovely feedback about your recent stay at the Hotel. It is great to see that you had a more enjoyable stay than one of our competitors and enjoyed our newly refurbished bedrooms.

I hope that we can become your preferred Hotel of choice in Exeter and we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Craig Findleton
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

We arrived yesterday after booking from booking .com 13/10/17 told breakfast was extra even though we booked breakfast so no fuss we paid it .We stayed in a standard room above the kitchen and boiler room .no air con so we opened the window we spent the night in a fume filled smoke filled room from the kitchens the room stinking of smoke and fish . Following morning went for breakfast .The pot of tea was Luke warm the breakfast not even warm the plate warmer turned off.A standard room you will need to walk side ways down the side of the bed it's that small .No sleep people running and shouting up and down the corridor until 2am.I am shocked we paid 174 pounds plus breakfast for this room the attitude and service very below what you would expect .We have come home a day early not recommended

Room Tip: Avoid very disappointing given the cost and location
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank markdeb0n0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RougemontExeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear markdeb0n0

I am sorry to see that you were disappointed with your stay and that you decided to leave early.

We are actually meeting booking.com next week and I will discuss your view that breakfast was included, when unfortunately it wasnt.

We do have a variety of bedrooms, of various sizes and outlooks and I am sorry that we not able to provide you with a room which was more suited. I will discuss your comments with the team to ensure that this is improved.

Kind regards
Craig Findleton
GENERAL MANAGER


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

The Rougemont is within arm's reach of Exeter's old Roman wall and, as such, is within very easy walking distance of the shops, restaurants, Cathedral, etc in the city centre. The hotel itself has recently undergone complete refurbishment and still offers that wonderful 'new carpet' smell. The refurbishment has been to a very high standard, making the hotel very comfortable and modern, albeit with some remaining traditional touches. The staff were very welcoming and helpful, the room and corridors were clean and quiet, all of which contributed to the whole hotel offering a calming atmosphere. For everything it offered, I thought the Rougement was rattling good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels
Thank FrenchJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RougemontExeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear FrenchJon
Thank you four your lovely feedback about your recent stay at the Hotel. We are delighted that you loved our newly refurbished rooms and I am pleased that you found the service to be very welcoming and helpful.

I hope that we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Craig Findleton
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

Had a night away with my husband in Exeter. Room lovely, staff polite but don’t bother with the breakfast, it’s terrible. Not enough staff to cope with the amount of guests. It took ages to receive our Tea/Coffee order after asking twice. My gluten free toast wasn’t toasted (see pic). The hot buffet was very slow in being topped up so I ended up with a meat free fry up. We did complain to reception, only to be joined by other unhappy guests. Very disappointing

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank clairewills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RougemontExeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear clairewills

Thank you for your constructive feedback. I am really sorry that you were disappointed with the service provided with breakfast. We have learnt from our mistake and action has been taken to ensure that we do have replacement staff immediately available to ensure that our guests are looked after.

I hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
Craig Findleton
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

We stayed here for 1 night as a family of 3 in June 2017.

Found the hotel easy to find and we were lucky to get a gap for parking in the hotel car park which is small, however there is a car park round the corner where public can also park their cars.

The lady on check in, Rachel, was very nice and efficient and we were checked in within a matter of minutes.

Our room was number 216 and had a side front view of the hotel over the main road / car parking. The room was huge with a super king size bed plus an enormous double sofa bed already pulled out and made with a lovely comfy mattress for our 2 1/2 yr old little girl to sleep along with a large cot on the other side of our bed should our little one choose to prefer to sleep in that instead. It was fantastic for her to have the choice and also brilliant for the 3 of us to have the space in the room. When you first walk in the room you walk in to what I could only describe as a small lobby area where 2 large built in wardrobes are to the left and then approx 6ft x 6ft area where you could leave push chair etc, and then you step down 3 steps into the beds area which then leads in to a large bathroom with a lovely huge shower.
It felt more like a suite than a bedroom so this was a nice treat to have the extra space. Nice to have plenty of towels.

The hotel was only a couple of minutes walk in to the city which was ideal for food & shopping & exploring. We found the city to be clean and have plenty of shops and places to eat at reasonable prices.

We didn't eat at the hotel and chose to eat out instead as it fitted in better with our toddler + meal and sleep times.

Would definitely stay at this hotel again and are already planning a other visit towards Devon again summer so will be likely to think about stopping at this hotel if we stay in or near Exeter again.

My only ever so slight annoyance was the noise of people shouting, cars etc at all times of night as we slept with windows open as weather was hot so room got stuffy with them shut- but this is no reflection on the hotel.

Can't fault the hotel, staff or anything at all and highly recommend.

Staying here felt like a well earned treat for a very reasonable price, which we got direct with Mercure and enjoyed their discount as became a club member at time of booking too.

Room Tip: Room 216- fantastic for space but a little noisy with Windows open at night
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BecGav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RougemontExeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear BecGav

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel and love the photo that you took of your bedroom.

It is lovely to see your comments about the team and our great new bedrooms. I hope that we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Craig Findleton
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews