We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inedible and cold Food”
Review of On The Waterfront

On The Waterfront
Ranked #80 of 562 Restaurants in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 7 - US$ 21
Cuisines: Pizza, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We ordered some pizza and a few sides. The pizza base was raw, wasn't sliced properly and was almost impossible to cut with a knife because it was so tough and doughy. There was hardly any topping and the side dishes were soggy and stone cold. One of our party was starving so we didn't want to return the food and no staff asked if it was alright or commented on the fact that quite a lot was left when they cleared plates. Cooking pizza is as simple as it gets and to have sent this food out, the kitchen showed how little they care. The competition on the quay has raised standards in the other establishments but not here. The second mark is only because I didn't raise a complaint so don't feel comfortable giving only one. Maybe it was just a bad day in the kitchen but I won't be returning to find out.

Thank Lilla2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDInns, Public Relations Manager at On The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed on your recent visit. We do always ask that if there are any problems with your food that you let us know at the time so we can look to improve things for you, as it is, because we do not know what time or date you visited us it is difficult to investigate exactly what happened and where we went wrong, especially as we have not received any other complaints recently about the poor quality of pizza - but quite the opposite in fact! If you are able to give me some further details such as when you visited please email us on info@waterfrontexeter.co.uk. We hope that you are able to visit us again in the future to see that this was obviously a one-off mistake during a very busy week and it is certainly not our usual level of practice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 1,234 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Huge pizzas with a great range of toppings for vegetarians. Extensive wine list. Fantastic position to enjoy after a walk on the Quay.

Thank FaeryMoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDInns, Front Office Manager at On The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you! We hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I brought out Nephews to the waterfront. We had extravagant hot chocolates fully loaded with cream, marshmallows and biscuit plus a well topped 16 inch dustbin lid pizza. They offer 50-50 so you can have two toppings. This fed all four of us for a midday lunch. There is the option to sit outside on a nice day but beware you may have to avoid the smokers.

Thank VanessaandPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDInns, Front Office Manager at On The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you! I'm glad you and your nephews enjoyed your visit to us recently. We appreciate your feedback regarding smoking on our terrace and we are currently looking into solutions to make this suitable for everyone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Catered well for a large family with three small kids. Food is nice and service is efficient. Definitely recommend.

Thank Trimbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDInns, Public Relations Manager at On The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for this kind review! We hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very accommodating to a group of 8, fast and friendly service and lovely decor!
We had an array of food including; fish and chips, pizzas and tapas which were all lovely! They even gave me a box to take home the pizza I couldn’t eat.
Thank you, would definitely return!

Thank Rachael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDInns, Public Relations Manager at On The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed On The Waterfront also viewed

 

Been to On The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing